We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton London Olympia
Ranked #692 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 31 March 2014

After reading some unfavorable reviews online, I was pretty nervous about staying at the Hilton Olympia. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was a good size and very clean, the service was excellent, and the location was good. The tube stops are a little far (approx. 10 min walk), but the 9 and 10 buses stop right outside the hotel. My only complaint is that wifi is not complimentary in the rooms and all of my attempts to purchase in the room failed. Not a huge deal - just logged on to the free wifi in the lobby. Great pub (The Hand and Flower) and Persian restaurant (Yas) about a block away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManUtdSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we were able to allay your concerns.

We are pleased that the location the rooms and staff all surpassed your expectations and that you enjoyed the time with us.

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,671 - 1,677 of 2,642 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent all round service. Great breakfast. Smiling friendly staff. Asked for room change and response was fast efficient and friendly with a follow up telephone call to ensure that we were happy. Highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank PeterJ0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your experiences met with your expectations.

I am pleased that you were met with friendly and helpful staff and that we were able to rectify your reported problem swiftly

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had 3 Nights at the Hilton Olympia. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The hotel needs a little Upgrade i think for a 4 star hotel it is a little bit tired. But our room was clean with a good size. It is a little bit long to walk to nearest underground station wich is Kesington high street it takes about 15 min to walk. But its Close to Royal albert hall and Hyde park. Also the area around the hotel has lots of resaurants and shopping.The breakfast was very Nice With a large selection off Foods. There are also busses going right outside. All in all it was a Nice stay, and the price was very affordable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your comments. I am pleased that you found the team friendly and helpful and that they looked after you during your stay

I am delighted that you found the location favourable and access to central London and Hyde Park an easy commute.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Have just spent one night at the Hilton London Olympia on a hotwire last minute deal. The location of the hotel is ok but not so much if you plan on taking the tube to the hotel and you have luggage in tow. There is no convenient tube stop within walking distance if you are hauling a few suitcases. Kensington Olympia station does not have regular service, only on weekends and holidays.

The hotel itself is ok for a night but I would not wish to make this my base for exploring London. Kensington High Street is a short walk once you're settled in and there is a bus that runs from just outside the hotel. The rooms are very small, very dated, need lots of TLC and definitely not what you would expect from a Hilton. I would not be surprised if Hilton soon decides to offload the property altogether. Friendly staff and warm and cosy lobby but the quaintness ends there. I wouldn't rush to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyJayClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

It is always concerning to read that our guest did not enjoy the stay and that they felt we did not meet their expectations.

Thank you for your comments on the staff I am pleased the team looked after you during

I wanted to share some travel ideas for your next London visit with you that may make your commute an easier one

Knights Bridge tube Station
Walking: 25 Minutes
Bus: 14 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel

High Street Kensington Tube Station
Walking: 14 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel
Bus: 5/7 Minutes

Earls court Tube Station
Walking: 21 Minutes

Baron's Court Tube Station
Palliser Road, London, Hammersmith, W14 9EA
Walking 12 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel
Bus: 20 minutes

Kensington Olympia Railway Station
Olympia Way, London, Kensington, W14 0NE
3 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

On the whole was decent. I'm a gold honours member so we were upgraded to A suite which was great. Hotel not as good as other hiltons though. It is a bit tired. The rooms desperately need black out curtains. All other hiltons have them but I was awake early with the light coming through which spilt my relaxing lie in. The Service at breakfast wasn't great. We both asked for poached eggs which took 15mins and two lots of asking to come and they only brought one persons. Had to then wait another 10mins for the other. They were watery the plate was full of water which spoilt the rest of the bfast. They hadn't been drained properly of the water from the pan. Lacked things like an egg chef cooking omlettetes and things like smoked salmon that u usually find at other hiltons. Sounds negative but I would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Spagirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

I have shared your feedback regarding breakfast with the Executive chef and his team to ensure that the standard is reiterated with the team.

Omelette are made on requests to ensure they are fresh and hot ,should you have any specific requirements we could assist with please do bring these to the attention of the Breakfast team

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Having last stayed here in 2012 and having found it vastly improved from the previous stay, we had no hesitation in booking it for a 1 night stay while we went to a gig at Hammersmith and then the Ideal Home Show at Earls court as it's perfectly placed for both venues (10/15 mins by bus to Hammersmith and a 20 min walk to Earls Court).

Sadly in the last 18 months it seems to have become a little tired again. The staff were excellent as always and the initial appearance of the hotel was nice enough. But it's the bedrooms where it starts to get let down. The bed was by far one of the most uncomfortable I've experienced in ages, and the air con unit seemed to either pump out freezing cold air or red hot heat. The bathroom was small and cramped but did the job well enough, nice powerful shower (would have been even better if they ripped the bath out and just had a nice big shower unit), but the plumbing for the toilet was dreadful as when ever it was flushed the sound of it refilling even drowned out the sound of the TV even with the bathroom door closed. Now I guess it could have been just this particular room (Room 506) that was affected.

But the worst part of the room is that there was just a massive amount of road noise, they really need to improve the double glazing as our room overlooked Kensington High Street and it appears that even at 2am there's still a fair amount of traffic and the emergency services seem to find it necessary to use sirens (which seem to be ultra loud in London) at all hours.

Breakfast wasn't bad, I've had better (previously in this hotel) and far worse and was probably just about worth the £12.50 they were asking especially when you consider there isn't many other places in the area where you could get breakfast.

Hotel does fall down on one big point, and many other's are also guilty of this. Why oh Why do hotels insist on only putting Whole Milk of the tea/coffee tray - the foreign guests may like it but it would be nice to get at least a choice.

So in summary, if you can get this for a half decent price (Under £100.00 (we paid £129.00, which was probably a bit high considering)) and get breakfast included and you need something in the Hammersmith / Olympia / Earls Court area. Then this hotel is still, at least for the time being, may be worth taking a chance on.

But it mustn't be allowed to decline any more

Room Tip: Avoid Room 506 and probably any at the front of the hotel due to the level of road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisFarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your thoughts and comments on your recent stay.

I apologise that your stay did not entirely meet with your expectations and I am pleased that our location is a favourable one and works for you

I have shared your feedback regarding the cistern and windows with the maintenance team to investigate.

I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and that the staff you met was friendly and helpful

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Without doubt the best thing about this hotel is the location - very convenient for Olympia.

The communal areas are good, although a bit crowded due to the free wifi.

The breakfast was very good, well cooked and everything fresh. If you ask for a cappuccino, latte or similar they even go down to Costas below and get you one (no extra charge).

The 'Society bar' is quite good and for a London hotel the prices were reasonable - a haddock and chips and mushy peas was £12 as was a dish of 3 mini burgers and chips. Not a huge choice of hot food but enough to keep you happy on a short stay without breaking the bank.
Drink prices were about average for a London Hotel.

Service was a little slow at times and it was often quicker to order at the bar rather than wait for a friendly but clearly overworked waiter/waitress.

The staff were all friendly and chatty and were always smiling.

The downside is the state of the rooms. They weren't dirty - just tired. Paintwork that was badly chipped then overpainted rather than properly refurbished, varnish wearing thin on the doors, grouting needing refreshing etc. If you are staying for business then it is fine - everything works how it should - but if you were coming for a weekend away it would be disappointing.

Unlike previous reviews my room was well cleaned every day as were the corridors.

I'm rating this as good - I've paid a lot more for a lot worse in London and rarely paid less for anything better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the centre of the hotel - they are situated near the Aircon vents which are noisy all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nav-Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

The Society Bar & Restaurant provides a warm and inviting dining experience serving a quintessentially British menu with an emphasis on sustainable, locally sourced ingredients and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience of both the Bar and Restaurant. I have shared your feedback on service with the team to action and correct.

I have tasked the maintenance team to investigate the room care issues you mentioned.

I am pleased that the communal areas met with your approval and we appreciate your detailed comments.

Thank you for taking the time to write to us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Kensington
#518 of 1,076 in London
4,310 reviews
Hand and Flower Hotel
#497 of 1,076 in London
379 reviews
Simply Rooms & Suites
#613 of 1,076 in London
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St Paul's Hotel
#69 of 1,076 in London
526 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#425 of 1,076 in London
3,814 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#746 of 1,076 in London
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Olympia

Address: 380 Kensington High Street, London W14 8NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#380 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £99 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Olympia 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton London Olympia hotel on bustling Kensington High Street, 2 minute' walk from Olympia Exhibition Centre, 10-15 minutes from Earl's Court Exhibition Centre and Westfield London Shopping Centre. Try our quintessentially British menu in our fabulous interior designed Society Restaurant inspired by the Victorian era or relex and enjoy our delicious cocktails and nibbles in Society Bar. Do business in one of our 10 newly refurbished meeting rooms, unwind in the fitness centre, or enjoy our COSTA coffee shop. Heathrow airport is 14 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Olympia Hotel London
Hilton Olympia London
London Hilton Olympia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing