We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worthy of Hilton name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton London Olympia
Ranked #643 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worthy of Hilton name”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I think this hotel was quite shabby and poor to be a Hilton hotel. The rooms smelled a bit funny and the beds were not that good. Also, they charged a lot more than you'd expect for internet and breakfast. The location was a bit off, because it always took a lot of time to get to the central lines and sights via tube or buses. The hotel was okay for one stay, but not staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Aksel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your feedback.

I have tasked the Executive Housekeeper to investigate your comments. I apologise that your stay did not meet with your expectations and that you did not find the location a favourable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    792
    718
    331
    200
See reviews for
319
672
136
908
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

After reading some unfavorable reviews online, I was pretty nervous about staying at the Hilton Olympia. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was a good size and very clean, the service was excellent, and the location was good. The tube stops are a little far (approx. 10 min walk), but the 9 and 10 buses stop right outside the hotel. My only complaint is that wifi is not complimentary in the rooms and all of my attempts to purchase in the room failed. Not a huge deal - just logged on to the free wifi in the lobby. Great pub (The Hand and Flower) and Persian restaurant (Yas) about a block away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManUtdSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we were able to allay your concerns.

We are pleased that the location the rooms and staff all surpassed your expectations and that you enjoyed the time with us.

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent all round service. Great breakfast. Smiling friendly staff. Asked for room change and response was fast efficient and friendly with a follow up telephone call to ensure that we were happy. Highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank PeterJ0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your experiences met with your expectations.

I am pleased that you were met with friendly and helpful staff and that we were able to rectify your reported problem swiftly

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had 3 Nights at the Hilton Olympia. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The hotel needs a little Upgrade i think for a 4 star hotel it is a little bit tired. But our room was clean with a good size. It is a little bit long to walk to nearest underground station wich is Kesington high street it takes about 15 min to walk. But its Close to Royal albert hall and Hyde park. Also the area around the hotel has lots of resaurants and shopping.The breakfast was very Nice With a large selection off Foods. There are also busses going right outside. All in all it was a Nice stay, and the price was very affordable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your comments. I am pleased that you found the team friendly and helpful and that they looked after you during your stay

I am delighted that you found the location favourable and access to central London and Hyde Park an easy commute.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Have just spent one night at the Hilton London Olympia on a hotwire last minute deal. The location of the hotel is ok but not so much if you plan on taking the tube to the hotel and you have luggage in tow. There is no convenient tube stop within walking distance if you are hauling a few suitcases. Kensington Olympia station does not have regular service, only on weekends and holidays.

The hotel itself is ok for a night but I would not wish to make this my base for exploring London. Kensington High Street is a short walk once you're settled in and there is a bus that runs from just outside the hotel. The rooms are very small, very dated, need lots of TLC and definitely not what you would expect from a Hilton. I would not be surprised if Hilton soon decides to offload the property altogether. Friendly staff and warm and cosy lobby but the quaintness ends there. I wouldn't rush to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyJayClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
It is always concerning to read that our guest did not enjoy the stay and that they felt we did not meet their expectations.

Thank you for your comments on the staff I am pleased the team looked after you during

I wanted to share some travel ideas for your next London visit with you that may make your commute an easier one

Knights Bridge tube Station
Walking: 25 Minutes
Bus: 14 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel

High Street Kensington Tube Station
Walking: 14 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel
Bus: 5/7 Minutes

Earls court Tube Station
Walking: 21 Minutes

Baron's Court Tube Station
Palliser Road, London, Hammersmith, W14 9EA
Walking 12 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel
Bus: 20 minutes

Kensington Olympia Railway Station
Olympia Way, London, Kensington, W14 0NE
3 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

On the whole was decent. I'm a gold honours member so we were upgraded to A suite which was great. Hotel not as good as other hiltons though. It is a bit tired. The rooms desperately need black out curtains. All other hiltons have them but I was awake early with the light coming through which spilt my relaxing lie in. The Service at breakfast wasn't great. We both asked for poached eggs which took 15mins and two lots of asking to come and they only brought one persons. Had to then wait another 10mins for the other. They were watery the plate was full of water which spoilt the rest of the bfast. They hadn't been drained properly of the water from the pan. Lacked things like an egg chef cooking omlettetes and things like smoked salmon that u usually find at other hiltons. Sounds negative but I would stay again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spagirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I have shared your feedback regarding breakfast with the Executive chef and his team to ensure that the standard is reiterated with the team.

Omelette are made on requests to ensure they are fresh and hot ,should you have any specific requirements we could assist with please do bring these to the attention of the Breakfast team

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Having last stayed here in 2012 and having found it vastly improved from the previous stay, we had no hesitation in booking it for a 1 night stay while we went to a gig at Hammersmith and then the Ideal Home Show at Earls court as it's perfectly placed for both venues (10/15 mins by bus to Hammersmith and a 20 min walk to Earls Court).

Sadly in the last 18 months it seems to have become a little tired again. The staff were excellent as always and the initial appearance of the hotel was nice enough. But it's the bedrooms where it starts to get let down. The bed was by far one of the most uncomfortable I've experienced in ages, and the air con unit seemed to either pump out freezing cold air or red hot heat. The bathroom was small and cramped but did the job well enough, nice powerful shower (would have been even better if they ripped the bath out and just had a nice big shower unit), but the plumbing for the toilet was dreadful as when ever it was flushed the sound of it refilling even drowned out the sound of the TV even with the bathroom door closed. Now I guess it could have been just this particular room (Room 506) that was affected.

But the worst part of the room is that there was just a massive amount of road noise, they really need to improve the double glazing as our room overlooked Kensington High Street and it appears that even at 2am there's still a fair amount of traffic and the emergency services seem to find it necessary to use sirens (which seem to be ultra loud in London) at all hours.

Breakfast wasn't bad, I've had better (previously in this hotel) and far worse and was probably just about worth the £12.50 they were asking especially when you consider there isn't many other places in the area where you could get breakfast.

Hotel does fall down on one big point, and many other's are also guilty of this. Why oh Why do hotels insist on only putting Whole Milk of the tea/coffee tray - the foreign guests may like it but it would be nice to get at least a choice.

So in summary, if you can get this for a half decent price (Under £100.00 (we paid £129.00, which was probably a bit high considering)) and get breakfast included and you need something in the Hammersmith / Olympia / Earls Court area. Then this hotel is still, at least for the time being, may be worth taking a chance on.

But it mustn't be allowed to decline any more

Room Tip: Avoid Room 506 and probably any at the front of the hotel due to the level of road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your thoughts and comments on your recent stay.

I apologise that your stay did not entirely meet with your expectations and I am pleased that our location is a favourable one and works for you

I have shared your feedback regarding the cistern and windows with the maintenance team to investigate.

I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast and that the staff you met was friendly and helpful

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Kensington
#475 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,993 reviews
Simply Rooms & Suites
#574 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Hand and Flower Hotel
#392 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St Paul's Hotel
#64 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Metropole
Hilton London Metropole
#581 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Olympia

Property: Hilton London Olympia
Address: 380 Kensington High Street, London W14 8NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#364 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Olympia 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton London Olympia hotel on bustling Kensington High Street, 2 minute' walk from Olympia Exhibition Centre, 10-15 minutes from Earl's Court Exhibition Centre and Westfield London Shopping Centre. Try our quintessentially British menu in our fabulous interior designed Society Restaurant inspired by the Victorian era or relex and enjoy our delicious cocktails and nibbles in Society Bar. Do business in one of our 10 newly refurbished meeting rooms, unwind in the fitness centre, or enjoy our COSTA coffee shop. Heathrow airport is 14 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton London Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Olympia Hotel London
Hilton Olympia London
London Hilton Olympia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing