We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alternative to $$$ Hotels in Hyde Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton London Olympia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton London Olympia
Ranked #631 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Alternative to $$$ Hotels in Hyde Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Overall, not a bad property. Staff were all professional and attentative to needs. I would advise requesting room away from High Street Kensington/Warwick Road as the windows are thin. Walking distance from High Street Kensington is more like 10 mins, however, there is ample bus service across the street from property. Earl's Court Tube Station is approximately 12 minute walk as well. Property is on the west end of High Street Kensington--not too far away from shopping/sights. I would recommend at least lunch/dinner at Pizza Express--a short 5 minute walk down the street from hotel (heading west)....awesome thin crust pizza!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed the stay and that the team looked after you during your stay.

I was happy to read that you found the location a favourable one and that the travelling to and from central London was easy and met your needs

Thank you for taking the time to write to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    779
    705
    319
    191
See reviews for
308
656
132
894
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The lobby and bar area were great, very smart and contemporary and the staff were very friendly and attentive. The rooms though were very dated, tatty, musty, noisy & depressing.

I saw 3 rooms in total - the first was fetid, the second was very noisy (from the road) - exacerbated by the windows not closing properly - the third was at the back (the noise from the extractor fans was preferable to the road noise at the front). One of my other colleagues independently had to do the same. I was also really surprised that the Hilton allows these standards - on top of it all there were charges for Wi-Fi - very backward in this day & age!

To make it worse - I did not even fit in the shower. I am only 6'2" - I really had to stoop to fit under the ceiling (designed for people @ 5'10") - and crouch to fit under the shower!!!!

Fine if you are short and like dated decor.....

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel or make sure you get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fami11y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback which certainly helps us to monitor and improve our facilities.

I am genuinely sorry that the hotel did not match your expectations on this occasion. The hotel completed a full refurbishment including all bedrooms at the end of 2012.

Free Wifi is available in all our public areas, including the restaurant and bar area and not just the lobby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I think this hotel was quite shabby and poor to be a Hilton hotel. The rooms smelled a bit funny and the beds were not that good. Also, they charged a lot more than you'd expect for internet and breakfast. The location was a bit off, because it always took a lot of time to get to the central lines and sights via tube or buses. The hotel was okay for one stay, but not staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Aksel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your feedback.

I have tasked the Executive Housekeeper to investigate your comments. I apologise that your stay did not meet with your expectations and that you did not find the location a favourable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

After reading some unfavorable reviews online, I was pretty nervous about staying at the Hilton Olympia. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was a good size and very clean, the service was excellent, and the location was good. The tube stops are a little far (approx. 10 min walk), but the 9 and 10 buses stop right outside the hotel. My only complaint is that wifi is not complimentary in the rooms and all of my attempts to purchase in the room failed. Not a huge deal - just logged on to the free wifi in the lobby. Great pub (The Hand and Flower) and Persian restaurant (Yas) about a block away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManUtdSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we were able to allay your concerns.

We are pleased that the location the rooms and staff all surpassed your expectations and that you enjoyed the time with us.

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent all round service. Great breakfast. Smiling friendly staff. Asked for room change and response was fast efficient and friendly with a follow up telephone call to ensure that we were happy. Highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank PeterJ0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that your experiences met with your expectations.

I am pleased that you were met with friendly and helpful staff and that we were able to rectify your reported problem swiftly

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had 3 Nights at the Hilton Olympia. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The hotel needs a little Upgrade i think for a 4 star hotel it is a little bit tired. But our room was clean with a good size. It is a little bit long to walk to nearest underground station wich is Kesington high street it takes about 15 min to walk. But its Close to Royal albert hall and Hyde park. Also the area around the hotel has lots of resaurants and shopping.The breakfast was very Nice With a large selection off Foods. There are also busses going right outside. All in all it was a Nice stay, and the price was very affordable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethhelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and share your comments. I am pleased that you found the team friendly and helpful and that they looked after you during your stay

I am delighted that you found the location favourable and access to central London and Hyde Park an easy commute.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Have just spent one night at the Hilton London Olympia on a hotwire last minute deal. The location of the hotel is ok but not so much if you plan on taking the tube to the hotel and you have luggage in tow. There is no convenient tube stop within walking distance if you are hauling a few suitcases. Kensington Olympia station does not have regular service, only on weekends and holidays.

The hotel itself is ok for a night but I would not wish to make this my base for exploring London. Kensington High Street is a short walk once you're settled in and there is a bus that runs from just outside the hotel. The rooms are very small, very dated, need lots of TLC and definitely not what you would expect from a Hilton. I would not be surprised if Hilton soon decides to offload the property altogether. Friendly staff and warm and cosy lobby but the quaintness ends there. I wouldn't rush to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyJayClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiaanStiglingh, Director of Operations at Hilton London Olympia, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
It is always concerning to read that our guest did not enjoy the stay and that they felt we did not meet their expectations.

Thank you for your comments on the staff I am pleased the team looked after you during

I wanted to share some travel ideas for your next London visit with you that may make your commute an easier one

Knights Bridge tube Station
Walking: 25 Minutes
Bus: 14 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel

High Street Kensington Tube Station
Walking: 14 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel
Bus: 5/7 Minutes

Earls court Tube Station
Walking: 21 Minutes

Baron's Court Tube Station
Palliser Road, London, Hammersmith, W14 9EA
Walking 12 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel
Bus: 20 minutes

Kensington Olympia Railway Station
Olympia Way, London, Kensington, W14 0NE
3 minutes from Hilton London Olympia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Kensington
#472 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,896 reviews
Simply Rooms & Suites
#554 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Hand and Flower Hotel
#421 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#396 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,458 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Metropole
Hilton London Metropole
#585 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,252 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#64 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Olympia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Olympia

Property: Hilton London Olympia
Address: 380 Kensington High Street, London W14 8NL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#362 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Olympia 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hilton London Olympia hotel on bustling Kensington High Street, 2 minute' walk from Olympia Exhibition Centre, 10-15 minutes from Earl's Court Exhibition Centre and Westfield London Shopping Centre. Try our quintessentially British menu in our fabulous interior designed Society Restaurant inspired by the Victorian era or relex and enjoy our delicious cocktails and nibbles in Society Bar. Do business in one of our 10 newly refurbished meeting rooms, unwind in the fitness centre, or enjoy our COSTA coffee shop. Heathrow airport is 14 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hilton London Olympia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Olympia Hotel London
Hilton Olympia London
London Hilton Olympia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing