We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money.”
Review of Blakes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blakes Hotel
Ranked #400 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Cannot say how dissappointed we were with this hotel. The room was tiny, dark and shabby. Our shower was above the bath with a pull around shower curtain and the shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold, unacceptable for a room costing £300 +. The overall impact was a tired hotel cashing in on a brand and a location. Front of house was rude and abrupt and we overheard her having an arguement over the phone. The final straw was asking if they had any paracetamol, being given 2 and charged £5 on our room bill.
We stay at many London hotels and my advice would be, go to One Aldwych instead and get a cab!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank vicks072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience. We are terribly sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Anouska Hempel design aesthetic is very directional with a great deal of character sometimes it’s not everyone’s cup of tea we have many rooms which are individually themed so perhaps we can allocate another style on your next visit.

Concerning the size of the room we do apologize, but our singles are fundamentally designed for Single occupancy, our Luxury doubles would be more suitable for two people.
We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the shower given we are in a classical Georgian building the pipes are also from many years ago despite our refurbishment on rare occasions the systems act up. Since your complaint we have fixed the problem and can promise it will not happen again. Service is one of our priorities and is what Blakes prides itself on we cannot apologize enough to hear the Front office staff were rude in your opinion we have taken the necessary action to ensure the issue has been dealt with.

Lastly, concerning the medication, upon your request for Paracetamol, we immediately sent a member of our staff to buy a new box since due to regulations we are unable to keep medication at the hotel nor to distribute it freely to guests. The charge therefore represented more the service and amount it was sold by the pharmacy.

Considering all of this, we sincerely hope you will return so we can ensure you enjoy your next stay with us and prove to you that we can do better

Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

A decent enough hotel let down by service issues. Having been contacted the day before to confirm our arrival time it was disconcerting to arrive at check-in and be told they couldn't find the reservation. After much searching it was located and we were advised room available from 2pm (this was 1.30pm). We went for a stroll and returned at 2pm to be told the room would be ready at 3pm due to late check-outs. After complaining a room was made available. This just isn't the way to treat guests....it made us feel that we were imposing on the hotel to check in at the time we had told them we would. Also not sure why I was asked whether I'd like a newspaper as the subsequent request didn't materialise. The shower requires a PhD in plumbing and the B&O tv is great if you like a purple picture with no sound. Similarly the B&O phone was accurate in its diagnosis of no dial tone. The bar is nice but expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JonnersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience it is always helpful to learn from your feedback in order to improve other guest’s experiences.

We sincerely do apologize about the inconvenience you experienced during your check-in. We would also like to apologize about the technical problems of the TV and telephone, all our entertainment systems have been recently upgraded and we truly apologize the inconvenience it has caused. Since your stay we have had a technician fix the sky & Television. Unfortunately sometimes technology plays up even to the best of us.

Please do contact me directly and we will ensure that we prve to you that we can do better.
Best regards,
Julian

Julian Payne
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My family have been coming here for years. Every room is different and designed by the talented Anousaka Hemple..
It is the original boutique hotel. It is laid back and relaxed and gives you a taste for living in London.
The bar area is warm and cozy and the outside courtyard is a great place to sit out and have tea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trollydollySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Trolly Dolly,
Thank you for your positive review. A Home away from Home is our Ethos and what we strive to do.
We look forward to welcoming you back again. Please do let me know when and we will be ready for you.
Best regards,
Julian

Julian Payne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely hotel with a fantastic atmosphere. Small, cozy, so comfortable that makes us feel at home. Set in a charming neighborhood, is a bit far from the underground. But if you like to walk, it's the best!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria76Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Maria,
Thank you and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are only a four minute walk away from Gloucester Road tube station and 5 minutes from South Kensington tube station so not too far away.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nice friendly staff but the rooms where small and the shower impossible.
The lift only held two people and was very old and slow and would not be good fro someone who did not like to be confined as our friends wife would not go in it. All in all it seemed expensive.
Bar did not seems to have many variety of drink so could not make cocktails.

Room Tip: Only in one room so have no idea about the others but 305 was not take good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Andy,
I am sorry that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. It is true that the hotel is very dark, painted black on the outside sets the right mood. We do however have a few lighter rooms, more grey then black and would be happy to allocate one of these to you on your return stay.

The cocktails are on me next time, we have a great variety of drinks available and our cocktails are delicious. I will introduce you to our mixologist and am sure that we can convince you that we can make a mean cocktail.

It is true that the lift is small, we have just refitted it with softer lights and finished off the woodwork.

Glad to read that the staff were nice and friendly. A Hotel is a combination of Hardware and Software!

Please contact me directly and give us a second chance, my email is julian@blakeshotels.com.
Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

me and my partner stayed here and as soon as we arrived the staff were amazing, we were showed to our room, as soon as i saw it i didnt want to leave we only was there one night unfortunatly, it was a deep red room so romantic it was unusally decorated quite dark and i go for anything unusual, it seemed very italian to me, the room was a little cold and they brought us a heater straight away the food is tasty also, it was expensive to stay here we payed £300 for one night but it was a speical night for me and my partner, if was more affordable we could go more often, the rooms really get you in the mood for a good night of passion i would most definatly reccomend to anyone and i would go here again most definatly

Room Tip: if you want romance ask the staff for the red room its beautifully stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kally6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Kally,
Thanks for the great review and glad that you enjoyed the red room.

We have The Cardinal Suite, which is a Signature Suite and 108 which is a Directors double room which both have a similar design, four poster beds, velvet fabric, silk curtains.

Both very passionate and takes you into another world.

Look forward to your return visit and Thank you.
Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed at Blakes and were unfortunately underwhelmed.

Staff were nice however our room had some minor maintenance issues on arrival that we wouldn't expect at a hotel of this standard and price. We asked for these to be sorted while we were out of the room and explained that we planned to take our time getting ready to leave for an evening out, however the maintenance turned up while one of us was in the bath and the other still in a bathrobe! We also asked for some items such as a cooler & champagne flutes which took an age and a number of calls to reception to remind them of our requests.

At check out the reception asked if we enjoyed our stay & he expressed his disappointment at our feedback & took a couple of drinks off of our bill. A nice gesture for a less than perfect stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Pickle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Pickle,
I am sorry! The dominoes started falling in the wrong direction and we should have turned the situation around.
The rooms should be 100% well maintained, and your room service order must be delivered tout de suite and it was not which is not acceptable.
Please give us another try and contact me directly on julian@blakeshotels.com. I want to overwhelm you both!
Best regards,
Julian

Julian Payne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#240 of 1,076 in London
492 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#134 of 1,076 in London
759 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#45 of 1,076 in London
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#170 of 1,076 in London
557 reviews
South Kensington
The Bentley London
The Bentley London
#212 of 1,076 in London
812 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
#248 of 1,076 in London
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakes Hotel

Address: 33 Roland Gardens, London SW7 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in London
#231 Romantic Hotel in London
#276 Luxury Hotel in London
#384 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £243 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by Anouska Hempel, the London hotelier and internationally renowned designer, the hotel offers style, elegance and sensational service to the well-travelled connoisseur. Blakes is established as totally unique and has been the model for the "fashionable small hotel" in London and cities around the world.Respected for protecting the privacy of its clients against the paparazzi, it is the London base for film stars, musicians and all the top designers, earning its reputation as The "Couture" Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blakes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing