We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What else could you ask for?”
Review of Blakes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blakes Hotel
Ranked #414 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What else could you ask for?”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

There has been a lot said about this hidden away gem of a hotel already so what to add is really the question? That there is no other hotel in London offering an experience so totally in line with what a weekend away really is suppose to be is without a doubt true. That the hotel is so totally seductively dark and sexy in every way is another given. What may not always come across in the reviews we have read is the fact that the service is beyond what you'd expect as far as what seems to be the staff's genuine interest in making sure that you have everything you wish for to make that special 48hrs truly special ... Truly, Blakes, what else would you really need ?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Travellons,
Wow, thank you!
Consistency is the name of the game and we need to ensure that All Our Guests feel exactly like you did on your stay with us.
Every room is different and we all have preferences, it is our job to ensure that we know what those are and match the right room to the right guest.
We are All Here to ensure that we try our upmost best.
A bientot and Thank you
Julian

Julian Payne
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    100
    49
    48
    23
See reviews for
38
256
44
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I'm fortunate to have stayed in top hotels all over the world, there are many that are great. But if you are looking for something unique as well as luxurious then look no further than Blakes. Its decadent styling combined with top class service and fabulous restaurant make for a terrific stay. And the rooms are a cut above, individually stylised and richly indulgent. The service was attentive without being intrusive and the staff always wanting to please. Honestly couldn't have enjoyed it more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveIngres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Steve,
Thank you for your great review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are All about the Guests and being small and boutiquey we try our absolute hardest.
The Hotel is different, it is quirky, it is fun and illicit.
Look forward to welcoming you back sooner rather than later
Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Cannot say how dissappointed we were with this hotel. The room was tiny, dark and shabby. Our shower was above the bath with a pull around shower curtain and the shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold, unacceptable for a room costing £300 +. The overall impact was a tired hotel cashing in on a brand and a location. Front of house was rude and abrupt and we overheard her having an arguement over the phone. The final straw was asking if they had any paracetamol, being given 2 and charged £5 on our room bill.
We stay at many London hotels and my advice would be, go to One Aldwych instead and get a cab!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank vicks072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience. We are terribly sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Anouska Hempel design aesthetic is very directional with a great deal of character sometimes it’s not everyone’s cup of tea we have many rooms which are individually themed so perhaps we can allocate another style on your next visit.

Concerning the size of the room we do apologize, but our singles are fundamentally designed for Single occupancy, our Luxury doubles would be more suitable for two people.
We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the shower given we are in a classical Georgian building the pipes are also from many years ago despite our refurbishment on rare occasions the systems act up. Since your complaint we have fixed the problem and can promise it will not happen again. Service is one of our priorities and is what Blakes prides itself on we cannot apologize enough to hear the Front office staff were rude in your opinion we have taken the necessary action to ensure the issue has been dealt with.

Lastly, concerning the medication, upon your request for Paracetamol, we immediately sent a member of our staff to buy a new box since due to regulations we are unable to keep medication at the hotel nor to distribute it freely to guests. The charge therefore represented more the service and amount it was sold by the pharmacy.

Considering all of this, we sincerely hope you will return so we can ensure you enjoy your next stay with us and prove to you that we can do better

Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

A decent enough hotel let down by service issues. Having been contacted the day before to confirm our arrival time it was disconcerting to arrive at check-in and be told they couldn't find the reservation. After much searching it was located and we were advised room available from 2pm (this was 1.30pm). We went for a stroll and returned at 2pm to be told the room would be ready at 3pm due to late check-outs. After complaining a room was made available. This just isn't the way to treat guests....it made us feel that we were imposing on the hotel to check in at the time we had told them we would. Also not sure why I was asked whether I'd like a newspaper as the subsequent request didn't materialise. The shower requires a PhD in plumbing and the B&O tv is great if you like a purple picture with no sound. Similarly the B&O phone was accurate in its diagnosis of no dial tone. The bar is nice but expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank JonnersB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience it is always helpful to learn from your feedback in order to improve other guest’s experiences.

We sincerely do apologize about the inconvenience you experienced during your check-in. We would also like to apologize about the technical problems of the TV and telephone, all our entertainment systems have been recently upgraded and we truly apologize the inconvenience it has caused. Since your stay we have had a technician fix the sky & Television. Unfortunately sometimes technology plays up even to the best of us.

Please do contact me directly and we will ensure that we prve to you that we can do better.
Best regards,
Julian

Julian Payne
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My family have been coming here for years. Every room is different and designed by the talented Anousaka Hemple..
It is the original boutique hotel. It is laid back and relaxed and gives you a taste for living in London.
The bar area is warm and cozy and the outside courtyard is a great place to sit out and have tea.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trollydollySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Trolly Dolly,
Thank you for your positive review. A Home away from Home is our Ethos and what we strive to do.
We look forward to welcoming you back again. Please do let me know when and we will be ready for you.
Best regards,
Julian

Julian Payne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely hotel with a fantastic atmosphere. Small, cozy, so comfortable that makes us feel at home. Set in a charming neighborhood, is a bit far from the underground. But if you like to walk, it's the best!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria76Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Maria,
Thank you and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are only a four minute walk away from Gloucester Road tube station and 5 minutes from South Kensington tube station so not too far away.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nice friendly staff but the rooms where small and the shower impossible.
The lift only held two people and was very old and slow and would not be good fro someone who did not like to be confined as our friends wife would not go in it. All in all it seemed expensive.
Bar did not seems to have many variety of drink so could not make cocktails.

Room Tip: Only in one room so have no idea about the others but 305 was not take good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Andy,
I am sorry that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. It is true that the hotel is very dark, painted black on the outside sets the right mood. We do however have a few lighter rooms, more grey then black and would be happy to allocate one of these to you on your return stay.

The cocktails are on me next time, we have a great variety of drinks available and our cocktails are delicious. I will introduce you to our mixologist and am sure that we can convince you that we can make a mean cocktail.

It is true that the lift is small, we have just refitted it with softer lights and finished off the woodwork.

Glad to read that the staff were nice and friendly. A Hotel is a combination of Hardware and Software!

Please contact me directly and give us a second chance, my email is julian@blakeshotels.com.
Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#277 of 1,069 in London
427 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,069 in London
3,235 reviews
South Kensington
The Bentley London
The Bentley London
#266 of 1,069 in London
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,069 in London
2,774 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#143 of 1,069 in London
631 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
#222 of 1,069 in London
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakes Hotel

Property: Blakes Hotel
Address: 33 Roland Gardens, London SW7 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in London
#231 Romantic Hotel in London
#286 Luxury Hotel in London
#384 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by Anouska Hempel, the London hotelier and internationally renowned designer, the hotel offers style, elegance and sensational service to the well-travelled connoisseur. Blakes is established as totally unique and has been the model for the "fashionable small hotel" in London and cities around the world.Respected for protecting the privacy of its clients against the paparazzi, it is the London base for film stars, musicians and all the top designers, earning its reputation as The "Couture" Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blakes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing