We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quirky but quiet haven in the Metropolis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blakes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blakes Hotel
Ranked #440 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A quirky but quiet haven in the Metropolis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was our first stay at Blakes Hotel.
We loved the entrance hall
& our room had an old fashioned bath in the corner of the bedroom!
Just great.
Very good service.
Huge breakfasts!
Very quiet neighbourhood which we loved.
Do go to Leighton House if you have a chance.
We would have given them 5 stars, but while we were staying,
there was noisy building work a few doors up, so it was not very peaceful when sitting out in their garden. Not their fault, but not great for us.
Hated the tiny lift, but that was no problem, I used the stairs.
Well Done Blakes.
Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a bedroom with a Victorian bath within the room. The carved wooden bed was beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E2015P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Celia,
Thank you the great review and am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Apologies for the noisy builders 2 doors down who have almost finished working and we have been trying to manage during their work!

We look forward to your return visit,
Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    97
    47
    47
    23
See reviews for
34
242
44
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had heard a lot about the Blakes hotel and seen it in several guides... so we stayed for a couple of nights - but unfortunately felt disappointed. Although it feels cozy and I understand some rooms have been redone, ours was feeling worn down... and there was clearly a lack of personnel in general but the most annoying was a queue at reception and only one receptionnist so quite a long wait (no drinks offered in the meanwhile). Breakfast was ok but beans totally undercooked and crunchy... won't be coming back, what a shame after such a long wait to come here!

Room Tip: asked for a recently decorated one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Will,
I am sorry that you did not enoy your stay, no excuses.
Please contact me diectly on julian@blakeshotels.com and hopefully we can prove to you that we can do better.
I am sorry for the long wait at reception, this was due to someone calling in sick not a general lack of staff, although we are all truly multiskilled.
Breakfast is the most important meal of the day ao has to be scrumptous!

I hope that we can welcome you back for a second chance.
Best regards,
Julian

Julian Payne
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here maybe 20 years ago and it was great, romantic, sexy, everything worked. However, having spent another night there recently the rooms are falling apart and don't seem to have been refurbished at all. The lighting system would not work which meant the only way to turn them off was by the entrance door - difficult if you need to get up in the middle of the night as the rooms are pitch black. One switch fell off in my hand! The curtains would not open, so, combined with the lighting not working we were fumbling in the dark in the morning too. One strange thing, there was not handle on the inside of the loo door ........ Air co was useless

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScarlettSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Scarlett,
Thank you for the review and I am sorry that we let you down. Please contact me directly and hopefully we can turn things around!
We have just finished a 3 year refurbishment of the bathrooms, electrics, airconditioning, etc. The last phase is the expensive fabrics of Anoushka Hempel.
It was vital to keep the character of Blakes and at the same time bring the hotel into the 21st century.
The staff are of course vital in this and I am very very proud of them.
Please contact me directly and we would love to have you back,
Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of Blakes Hotel and our stay there. I always take all things into consideration when rating a hotel and this was worth every penny. There were a few things that I needed to arrange before arrival and the assistance was as good as anything I have experienced. They were accommodating and quick in their responses. I needed to take a work conference call on arrival before the room was ready and they could not do more for me.

The hotel is fabulous, truly delightful decor. The rooms are amazing and the fact that each is different really adds character to the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and the food was excellent.

I will undoubtedly be back to Blakes for both drinks in the bar and to stay again in the future. Best hotel I've stayed at in London - Don't miss out!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeclanK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Declan,
Thank you very much for the great review and am glad that you enjoyed your stay.
"Mi casa es su casa"
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

First night was a disaster, the room was shabby,old,tired and in desperate need of a refurb, the room was so noisy, felt like we placed under the stairs and this was supposed to be a Directors double, we compalined upon seeing the room only to be told that there were no alternatives. The next morning we complained again and were moved to quiter room which was more pleasant but certainly not what is advertised on their website so be aware and be warned. It's certainly not worth the money

Room Tip: Avoid room 104 at any cost, you might as well sleep outdoors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhodes555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that we had to move you during your stay. The first night you were in the Mews and the Second night you were moved to 004 which is at the front of the building.
You did not like either room which is not good. With every room it is paramount that we try to allocate the right room to the right guest, we were unable to offer you an alternative as the hotel was full, I am sorry.

Please contact me directly and we can see if we can turn the situation around for next time. We will make sure that you stay in the Hotel Building.

Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

There has been a lot said about this hidden away gem of a hotel already so what to add is really the question? That there is no other hotel in London offering an experience so totally in line with what a weekend away really is suppose to be is without a doubt true. That the hotel is so totally seductively dark and sexy in every way is another given. What may not always come across in the reviews we have read is the fact that the service is beyond what you'd expect as far as what seems to be the staff's genuine interest in making sure that you have everything you wish for to make that special 48hrs truly special ... Truly, Blakes, what else would you really need ?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Travellons,
Wow, thank you!
Consistency is the name of the game and we need to ensure that All Our Guests feel exactly like you did on your stay with us.
Every room is different and we all have preferences, it is our job to ensure that we know what those are and match the right room to the right guest.
We are All Here to ensure that we try our upmost best.
A bientot and Thank you
Julian

Julian Payne
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I'm fortunate to have stayed in top hotels all over the world, there are many that are great. But if you are looking for something unique as well as luxurious then look no further than Blakes. Its decadent styling combined with top class service and fabulous restaurant make for a terrific stay. And the rooms are a cut above, individually stylised and richly indulgent. The service was attentive without being intrusive and the staff always wanting to please. Honestly couldn't have enjoyed it more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveIngres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Steve,
Thank you for your great review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are All about the Guests and being small and boutiquey we try our absolute hardest.
The Hotel is different, it is quirky, it is fun and illicit.
Look forward to welcoming you back sooner rather than later
Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#355 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
South Kensington
Number Sixteen
Number Sixteen
#175 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#230 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
Shoreditch
Boundary Rooms & Suites
Boundary Rooms & Suites
#616 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakes Hotel

Property: Blakes Hotel
Address: 33 Roland Gardens, London SW7 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in London
#231 Romantic Hotel in London
#301 Luxury Hotel in London
#384 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by Anouska Hempel, the London hotelier and internationally renowned designer, the hotel offers style, elegance and sensational service to the well-travelled connoisseur. Blakes is established as totally unique and has been the model for the "fashionable small hotel" in London and cities around the world.Respected for protecting the privacy of its clients against the paparazzi, it is the London base for film stars, musicians and all the top designers, earning its reputation as The "Couture" Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Blakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blakes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing