We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dark temptation”
Review of Blakes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blakes Hotel
Ranked #407 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“dark temptation”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had a few times lunch and dinner as well in the hotel which is looks like a little old dark hospital from outside...but as you enter...it s like the whole new world coming to you....
the restaurant is excellent...great lunch set menus....salmon and cod is just to die for.....highly recommended...
rooms are spacious and very cool....with all the high ceiling....very discreet and very nice romantic vibe for lovers and couples

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skfmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Good Afternoon,
I love the Phraseology "Dark Temptation" Thank You.
I am glad that you enjoy Blakes for what it is. It has been vital during the recent refurbishment to build on the existing character of the building whilst improving it.
We look forward to welcoming you back Home.
Best regards
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    100
    49
    48
    23
See reviews for
39
256
44
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
1,308 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We visited London for two days, for a wedding actually, and Blakes proved to be an excellent option. The rooms were lovely, the food superb and the location just off the High Street in Kensington was simply perfect.
It wasn't cheap, in fact it was very pricey, but in fairness, when you stay in Kensington that is not unusual.
Personally, I don't think it's worth the money, but as I say we were there for the wedding. It's not that the service is in any way substandard, far from it, it was magnificent. It is just that it is very, very expensive and may well financially impinge on your holiday unless you're blessed with loads of money!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozeman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,
What a great weekend it was, We love being busy and the wedding certainly kept us busy!
An emotional time for us All, staff and guests alike.
We want to be consistent across the board, Value for money plays an important part to that. For example that is why the new Menu in the restaurant is certainly more affordable, as well as a greater variety on the winelist.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, let me know and I would gladly buy you a couple of drinks.
Best regards,
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

And that was the best thing about the lace, although the staff were pleasant too.
When we arrived we were given a very dark, well black decorated room with parchment documents on the walls. It really was depressing. The designers triumphed over practicality because you could not run the (beautiful) shower without getting the floor wet in the bathroom (See below). The roll top bath was so high that I had to help my wife into it. We asked to go to another room, and the very helpful duty manager showed me another room on a lower floor, which was more tastefully decorated. The next morning our belongings were duly moved to the new room. i counted over cushions in the room, but there was nowhere to sit apart from the bed. It had a big sunken table to one side, and even if you wanted to sit on the cushions leaning against the wall, there were piles of stones, yes stones everwhere so you couldnt sit!

Again the bathroom looked beautiful but the overhead enormous shower sprayed water into the main bathroom.
We did not breakfast because we had business meetings, but it was priced at over £30 per head.
I did have a double bourbon nightcap one night.........£29. Only £6.50 at the gastropub round the corner and £14 at the Olympia Hilton.
My wife said the hotel made her angry for being so impractical.

Still, the soap was nice

Room Tip: Ask for a not black one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chutneymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice comments with regards to the soap and the staff!
Every room is different, in colour, design and fabric and I am sure that there are some rooms which you would fall in love with and which are more practical.
It is important that upon rooming we show all our guests the whereabouts of the room, how the dimmer light switches work, television, etc.
I do hope that you would like to return, let me know and I will gladily meet you and alloctae you an alternative room.
Best regards
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

From the love birds in the lobby to the fabulous made to order mattress, the attention to detail in styling and unique design was second to none.
We loved Blakes; it was just the right measure of very special, but we still felt most at home and welcome.
Probably the most comfortable (and amazing) bed I have ever slept in!
Perfect quiet location in the heart of Knightsbridge.
We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJN1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Wow Thank you for the great review. We look forward to your return stay. Thank you for Spreading the Good Word.
We are All About the Guest
Best regards
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Had a meeting here the other day, second time I've been, staff were helpful and welcoming upon arrival. directed me to where I need to go. Great service, lovely atmosphere. One of London's hidden gems. Whilst I have not stayed myself from what I have heard the rooms are great. Its in a great location and really doesn't feel like you are in London once you walk up the steps.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Charles,
Thank you for the review and you have to come and stay with us next time. With all of the 47 rooms being different it certainly is a journey around the world.
The restaurant, Bar and Chinese room are perfect areas to hold meetings at anytime of the day. We also have the Birdcage in the courtyard which is totally unique.
Best regards,
Julian

Julian Payne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My daughter recently got married at Blakes Hotel and I can't praise the hotel enough for making this such a memorable day. From beginning to end everything went perfectly. The service was absolutely lovely and the registrar was charming. The staff at Blakes and the girls form Jamjar Flowers made the room beautiful. We were so lucky with the fine weather because we went on to the courtyard for a champagne reception whilst the photographs were being taken. Again Blakes staff were very attentive and kept everybody happy whether they wanted the champagne or a soft drink. Then we went to the Chinese Room for a superb meal and after this a fun evening of dancing was had. Many of the guests have said that this was the best wedding they had ever attended and this is in no small way down to Julien and his staff. After such a lovely day, those of us who had decided to stay at Blakes were certainly not disappointed by the beautiful rooms. All in all I can certainly say this was a very very special day. Thank you Blakes Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Janet,
And What a Great Day it was!!!
Thank you for choosing Blakes and we are so happy that everyone was delighted. It was a very emotional day for us all.
We especially loved the Speeches, wishing Daisy and Kim a very healthy and happy life together.
Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights in this hotel . It's a nice place with rooms decorated individually and high performance technology. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. I recomend this hotel for couples and familyes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianVoiculescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Adrian,
Thank you for the great review!
I have passed your comments on to all my colleagues and we will continue to strive to be better and better.
Looking forward to your return visit,
Best regards
Julian

Julian Payne
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#275 of 1,068 in London
428 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,068 in London
3,236 reviews
South Kensington
The Bentley London
The Bentley London
#264 of 1,068 in London
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,068 in London
2,774 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#140 of 1,068 in London
631 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
Sydney House Chelsea
#250 of 1,068 in London
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakes Hotel

Property: Blakes Hotel
Address: 33 Roland Gardens, London SW7 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in London
#231 Romantic Hotel in London
#282 Luxury Hotel in London
#384 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by Anouska Hempel, the London hotelier and internationally renowned designer, the hotel offers style, elegance and sensational service to the well-travelled connoisseur. Blakes is established as totally unique and has been the model for the "fashionable small hotel" in London and cities around the world.Respected for protecting the privacy of its clients against the paparazzi, it is the London base for film stars, musicians and all the top designers, earning its reputation as The "Couture" Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blakes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing