We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city break”
Review of Blakes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blakes Hotel
Ranked #404 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Good location and very good service (as expected!) so thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Found front desk very helpful and sorted all transport and meals without fuss. Recommended and hope to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theswarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the very nice review. Am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations with regards to Service.
We are All Here At Your Service!
We look foward to your return and Thank you it means a lot to us
Best regards
Julian



Good location and very good service (as expected!) so thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Found front desk very helpful and sorted all transport and meals without fuss. Recommended and hope to stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at Blakes for a romantic night away from the kids and it was a perfect location. The staff were friendly and helpful without being overly attentive. We were upgraded to a Signature suite and stayed in the Library - which was absolutely gorgeous.

Bar staff were also very knowledgeable and friendly, making us an array of different martinis to try before dinner (making the most of not being woken up by children at some unearthly hour the next morning!)

We usually stay in Claridge's when we're in town but after this lovely experience we may have to think hard about where to stay next time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burnsy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review, to win you back from Claridges gives me a huge amount of satisfaction.
I am delighted that we proved to be the Perfect romantic destination and that our barman was able to mix up the perfect Martini.
Looking forward to welcoming you back Home,
Best regards
Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Tucked away on a tree lined South Kensington street is truly a hidden treasure!
From the moment you arrive you just know it's going to be fabulous!
It was a romantic weekend filled with delights. The staff are there when you want them and when you want to be left alone they sense this and you have all the privacy you want ... ahhh ... Loved our time in the china room - afternoon tea that was flawless, we are most grateful for the perfection motto at the Blake!

Room Tip: Experience the Blake - it's a Must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YumEee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

YumEee,
Thank you and at your service!
Blakes will always be discreet and romantic. Perfect HideAway during these autumnal nights.
Best regards
Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I booked Afternoon tea here to celebrate my parents' anniversary.It was in the Chinese room which has a lovely calm atmosphere. The tea was somewhat limited in choice but the Asian fusion cakes (green tea tiramisu for example) were marvellous as were the sandwiches and the scones. The staff were helpful and accommodating. They usually serve afternoon tea between 3 and 5 but were happy to do 2:30 for me which I very much appreciated. If you looking for somewhere tranquil and elegant for afternoon tea I would strongly recommend the Blakes

Stayed: October 2013
Thank phoebejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Guest,
I am so glad that you enjoyed our Afternoon Tea. At £19 per head it must be the best value for money Afternoon tea in London.
Live Music on Tuesday nights is also a well ept secret!
Best regards
Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The service here is friendly and they are efficient.The executive room is well appointed with everything you need for a relaxed break The executive lounge is excellent for breakfast and pre-dinner drinks.The reception manager and his team deserve special mention. This is a good hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slyvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Sylvia,
Thank you for your very nice comments. With every room being completely different, every day is challenging and we do try. We just need to try even harder!
None of us will rest until everything is perfect.
We look forward to your return stay, please let me know and I would be happy to make your booking personally.
Best regards,
Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A very chic and cosy boutique hotel. A bit far from the city center . 5 min with Taxi to Harrods.
Very friendly staff . The hotel feels a little bit small specially the bar and breakfast area. But the service and the food compensate alot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your great review, we do try our best, very lucky to be surrounded by Anoushka Hempels great designs and have to get it right every single time.
Consistency has to be our Aim and we will not stop until every guest enjoys their stay.
Best regards,
Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We recently not only stayed at Blakes but we also decided to hold our wedding here - mainly due to the style, character and ambience of the hotel.

I have to say that both the stay and the management of our wedding was absolutely exemplary. The food was exceptional and widely complimented on, the support and attitude of all of the substantial staff provided was outstanding and special mention should be made to Daniele for his organisation and exceptionally hard work before the wedding but more particularly on the night, and to Julian, for his personal management and support throughout the process. The suite was outstanding and I've no doubt we will be back.

I can't recommend Blakes highly enough. Amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, General Manager at Blakes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Liam and Jane,
Wow Thank you, it was an epic weekend and you make a great couple! Wishing you a healthy, happy life together.
We look forward to your return visit soon.
Best regards
Julian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#58 of 1,077 in London
837 reviews
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#11 of 1,077 in London
980 reviews
South Kensington
The Bentley London
The Bentley London
#171 of 1,077 in London
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Number Sixteen
Number Sixteen
#242 of 1,077 in London
446 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#30 of 1,077 in London
3,046 reviews
South Kensington
130 Queen's Gate
130 Queen's Gate
#473 of 1,077 in London
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakes Hotel

Address: 33 Roland Gardens, London SW7 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in London
#231 Romantic Hotel in London
#280 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £229 - £1,290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by Anouska Hempel, the London hotelier and internationally renowned designer, the hotel offers style, elegance and sensational service to the well-travelled connoisseur. Blakes is established as totally unique and has been the model for the "fashionable small hotel" in London and cities around the world.Respected for protecting the privacy of its clients against the paparazzi, it is the London base for film stars, musicians and all the top designers, earning its reputation as The "Couture" Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blakes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing