We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit cramped.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blakes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blakes Hotel
Ranked #448 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A little bit cramped.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel was situated some what a distance from city centre in a calm area of London. Friendly staff. Dimly lit hotel – also the rooms, created a nice mood but also became inconvenient. The lobby area was quite compact with a rather small elevator. Nice breakfast with tasty scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannes O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Owner at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Hannes O,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am pleased you were satisfied with the service and breakfast.

We are quite a unique property in terms of design, service and general offering. Blakes hotel offers a unique experience which uses design and atmosphere to create an incomparable experience. In reference to the lighting of the hotel, the light is purposely dimmed to bring that extra romance and a special ambience. In case that this does not suit you, many rooms have light features with dimmers, which you can use to increase the brightness of the light to your liking. Each room is individually designed, if you prefer to stay in a bright, well lit room with light furnishings, kindly add this to your reservation request for future and we will certainly do our utmost to accommodate your request. Our priority is for you to enjoy your stay.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Meir Abutbul
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    97
    47
    47
    23
See reviews for
34
243
44
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I spent a night at Blakes in early July and were blown away by the location and service. The staff went above and beyond our expectations, not only arranging for our luggage to be shipped Internationally, but also ensuring that an item we had left behind was immediately forwarded. Zak, the Resident Manager, is phenomenal. The hotel is nestled in a hip neighborhood and is overall a really special place to stay. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVonderheide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Owner at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear MVonderheide,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at Blakes. I was delighted to hear we have exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased that you were well looked after during your stay and after. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Blakes soon!

Kind Regards,

Meir Abutbul
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Blakes has lots to recommend it-in particular, the service and location. It can be very pricey if you call direct to the hotel to book, so next time I would use one of the booking sites. It is uniquely located in a series of townhouses combined for a beautiful boutique feel. Very quiet neighborhood, with many shops and restaurants in close walking distance. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Corner room had great light and good ventilation when the windows were opened. Upstairs rooms could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADVISOR72201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Owner at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Advisor72201,

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations by providing excellent service during your stay. I would like to assure you that our rates are the same whether you book online or directly with us, we are contracted to offer rate parity across all booking engines. What may have happened is the online engine could have advertised the rates without the VAT. Please be confident that the final rate will work out the same or more competitive when booking on our website directly due to special promotions. Generally speaking, rates fluctuate based on London events and availability. In order to get the best price and deals we encourage you to book early as we offer special promotions such as our 20% Early Birds rate when booked in advance.

I would like to thank you for your review again and look forward to welcoming you to Blakes soon.

Kind Regards,

Meir Abutbul
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recently stayed at Blakes for 3 nights . I was really impressed with the kind and friendly service I received from the reception team. The room was spacious and equipped with all the modern high tech gadgets one could wish for.WIFI was complimentary which was a greatly appreciated perk. I loved the decor of the hotel, really unique. I will definitely be returning to Blakes on my next visit to London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nam0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Owner at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Nam0804,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us at Blakes. I am pleased to hear we were able to exceed your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to Blakes soon.

Kind Regards,

Meir Abutbul
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Best 48 hours ever....I have very fond memories of the Blakes Hotel, which was one of the highlights of my recent trip to London. This elegant hotel has a certain something, rare to find in hotels. Gorgeously furnished with excellent service, Blakes Hotel is a decadent escape from the real world. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northtraveller-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Owner at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Northtraveller-DK,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear we have exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves on our individuality and personalized service and do our utmost to make our guests’ stays memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Meir Abutbul
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed at Blakes one night during a business stay in May. It is a lovely hotel in beautiful Kensington, only my room was quite small. All in all I had a good stay, service is excellent and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Owner at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Anna O,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us at Blakes. I am pleased that your expectations were met and you received an excellent customer service from our staff. It is our aim to ensure all of our guests’ requests are fulfilled.

We have many different room categories varying in sizes, starting from Parisian Singles to our beautifully designed Top Suites. The Parisian Single you stayed in is our entry level room category and therefore is the smallest, 18-22sqm, ideal for a single occupancy for a short trip. I would recommend the next category, which is the Luxury Double for your next stay. These rooms are more spacious, approximately between 22-25sqm.

I hope you will return to Blakes soon and perhaps give a different room category a try, I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Kind Regards,

Meir Abutbul
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Location is great, but as I live up the road not worth it for me. Stayed here as I was getting married but honestly the room was dirty, smelt awful like old musty ash trays and no loo roll! I wouldn't stay again which is a shame as concept good but the attention to detail very much lacking

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlakesHotel, Owner at Blakes Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Helen H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Blakes. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations.

We are also very upset to hear that the freshness of your room was compromised, please note we have housekeeping procedures in place to ensure the rooms are fully cleaned, inspected and smell fresh with Blakes signature grapefruit scent. I can assure you that this issue will be resolved with housekeeping. What you have experienced should not have happened in the first place. I can only send my sincere apologies and can assure you that a full investigation will be done. Each room is individually designed and we truly wish we had known prior to your arrival that you were celebrating your wedding night. The reason behind this is, we have very romantic rooms which could have been more suitable. The team always tries to offer a personalised surprise/service to create a memorable stay.

We take your comments very seriously, therefore I would like to thank you for your remarks.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would be willing to give us another try, I will ensure that you are taken care of.

Kind Regards,

Meir Abutbul
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#283 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,070 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#225 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#140 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
South Kensington
Number Sixteen
Number Sixteen
#182 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakes Hotel

Property: Blakes Hotel
Address: 33 Roland Gardens, London SW7 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#221 Business Hotel in London
#231 Romantic Hotel in London
#302 Luxury Hotel in London
#384 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blakes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created by Anouska Hempel, the London hotelier and internationally renowned designer, the hotel offers style, elegance and sensational service to the well-travelled connoisseur. Blakes is established as totally unique and has been the model for the "fashionable small hotel" in London and cities around the world.Respected for protecting the privacy of its clients against the paparazzi, it is the London base for film stars, musicians and all the top designers, earning its reputation as The "Couture" Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blakes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing