We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In high need for refurbishment, tranquil spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #462 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
234 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“In high need for refurbishment, tranquil spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Based just off high street Kensington the hotel is prefectly based for a higher end shopping spree.
We were disappointed at check-in with the extremely slow and inefficiënt service of the assistant. Even though we booked the hotel through an agency and had paid upfront, it took her 15 minutes to check both of us in... And to make it even better, later on we found out that she hadn't even done it properly as part of my details seemed to be missing.

The airco in THE room takes a while to cool the room but once it has cooled it, its nice! The furniture besides the bed is in very high need of refurbishment, it really looks too used and doesnt give you a stylish 4 star feeling.

Location of the hotel is in à perfect tranquil spot, 2 minutes from THE tube.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Moramare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Dear Guest

Further to your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Copthorne Tara hotel, I am very sorry to read the you were disappointed with your stay.

I have noted your points of concern and communicated same to our Management Team for their follow up and action to be taken to rectify these problem areas that you have brought to our attention, so that these issues do not reoccur. Our staff attend ongoing training and your feedback helps us to ensure we are continuously improving our customer services and hotel facilities going forward.

We thank you for your time and trust you will revisit the Copthorne Tara in the near future to enable us to take the opportunity of restoring your confidence in our services and facilities.

We welcome you back soon.

Your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    2,454
    1,637
    540
    330
See reviews for
1,061
2,229
311
1,336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here due to a football match ticket tie in.Staff very nice ,fantastic doorman,who actually hunted for a taxi for us in the snow!Rooms badly in need of renovation,but still clean and warm,very important during -8 weather conditions.location was great ,5 mins walk to the tube and Kensington High St,Marks and Spencer just at the corner too.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank clareanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank your for your positive feedback. I am glad that we were able to provide clean, comfortable rooms, excellent staff services and that location of the hotel provided easy access to most areas of interest for you to have an enjoyable stay.

I am sure with this positive memorable stay you will be back soon and we look forward to welcoming you to the Copthorne Tara.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful 3night stay here in August. The staff was kind, friendly and helpful. the free wifi that came with our room was strong and worked like a charm. The onsite restaurants served great food at a great price. The location was central and made a great launching point to explore London. The hop on-hop off original bus tour has a stop just 5min walk from the hotel on kensington high street. The other tour bus company has a stop on the same street too. There are places to eat and shop just around the corner from the hotel. The hotel room was large, clean and the bed was comfy. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to London.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank smc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel.

I am pleased that we were able to make your stay comfortable, and that the excellent services and facilities we provided in the hotel and the convenient location of the hotel for exploring London, all added to your memorable experience.

We trust you will be visiting the Copthorne Tara soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The location and price ( 200.00 $) is one of the best deals you can get near high street Kensington . The underground is 5 min walk , Albert Hall , Victoria Museum , notting hill , famous pub Churchill Arms , Hyde park , Kensington place which was home to princess Diana .
It's on the circle and district line which has good connectivity for Victoria and Picadilly lines . If you like to walk you are heart of central London .
Right in front of the high street kensington underground is vibrant bar call Piano which is good place to unwind near the hotel .
They charge you for wifi , charging phone, but in London I guess nothing is free .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aashieshpounj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for positive review on your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. I am delighted to hear that overall our services and facilities were to your expectation and you had a most enjoyable stay . Its also good to know that the location of the hotel added to your memorable experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle - UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have stayed at the Tara twice a year for the last few years on business. The standard rooms are extremely tired and are put to shame by a Premier Inn! God help you if you don't get an upgrade.

Breakfast, unless you get a discount voucher, is overpriced and resembles a scrum although the quality is OK.

As a previous reviewer has pointed out, unless some money is spent upgrading the rooms soon, guests will start looking to stay elsewhere....I know I will.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade before arrival or don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eatmyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. I note that you are a regular guest at the Copthorne Tara and I do apologise if you felt that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. Your feedback is valuable to enable us to rectify any problematic areas as we always strive to provide a high standard of service and facilities we possibly can for our guests.

I am aware that some of the rooms seem to be dated, but we do monitor feedback from our guests as we continuously progress with our in-house redecoration. However this is a slow process ongoing due to the high level of occupancies we have at the hotel.

I hope that you will continue supporting Copthorne Tara for your future visits to London, and should you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly so we can ensure we facilitate your arrangements specific to your needs and that you have a pleasant stay.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

It is an excellent location, very close to Kensington High Street underground station. The breakfasts are very good, the staff are very attentive. It is self service, but has a good selection of food. Though it would have been nice to have more of a choice for the hot food. The bar is good with a fair selection of meals. Needless to say, the drinks are hotel prices. The bedroom was to a good standard and was properly cleaned every day. Our friends stayed on the Mezzanine floor, where they room was in dire need of an update. The wardrobe did not even have a door and the windows were filthy. All of the rooms need renovating at the same time. Overall it is a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deceangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to Director at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. I have taken note of the points you raised to ensure that we take action to improve the services and facilities we provide to our guests.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for a trade fair. The location is very central (a 3 min walk to Kensington High Street tube), making it easy to get around central London.

Brilliant car-parking facilities for 10GBP per day - an unbeatable rate for central London private parking.

The rooms are fairly dated and we had to move after our first night as the original room did not have opening windows and the air-conditioning was set at about 25 degrees - making it feel as though you were sleeping in a sauna! Staff were helpful and moved us to another room for the remaining nights.

Club Rooms provide free internet, however if you are in a basic room you are charged 10GBP per day for access. Large selection of channels on the large screen digital TV. Comfortable beds but only queen size. Functional bathroom. The rooms are in need of a renovation but serve their purpose. Breakfast buffet provides standard selection of cereals, scrambled eggs, pastries, tea and coffee.

Overall a good, affordable base in Central London - if you want all the trimmings, you'll have to pay the 5 star rates. For the price, this is a good option.

Room Tip: Book a room with windows that open
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay with us. It is extremely helpful to get feedback and the points you raised will certainly help us to improve the services we provide to our guests going forward.

I am also very pleased to read that during your stay we provided a good service to you, the hotel is of good value, conveniently located and that overall you had a pleasant stay.

Once again we thank you and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#373 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Property: Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#307 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing