We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #477 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a good location and the price is reasonable.
Check in and check out was very slow and also long queue for breakfast but food was good.
The rooms are adequate if a little dated.
Room service food was good but took an hour plus to arrive.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank rsb2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our facilities are good value for money. Thank you for bringing the matters of concern you encountered to our attention. I have taken note of the for our Management Team to review the shortfall in services in regard to your mention of the queues on checking in and breakfast and also the delay in room service. We will review and take necessary action for future improvements. I apologise for the inconvenience and I am sure you can understand we sometimes do get unforeseen "splurges" of busy moments in the hotel which are unexpected, however we do try to cope with these situations as best we can with every intention and efforts of pleasing all our guests.

I am happy that overall you had a pleasant stay and I hope you will be returning in the near future, and in saying this I wish to extend a warm welcome to you for when you next visit London.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,372 - 3,378 of 6,505 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

Chose this hotel based on its location. Online photos of rooms are misleading. Rooms are shabby, dated and in need of a refurb. Lobby area is very tasteful. On check in staff were pleasant but did not point out ANY of hotel facilities. We had no idea of restauants or gym etc. Room was a disappointment and overlooked tube track, but this could hardly be heard in the room to be fair. I asked for a low floor, as I dont do lifts. Our room was up one flight....but was unbearably hot with no a/c controls. Had to ring down for an engineer to turn it on. After a night out came back to a slightly cooler room but the a/c was SO noisy...kept us awake all night. Did not use any of the other facilities so cant comment. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 53,362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review to TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. I am sorry to see your disappointment on the various issues you noted, with special note of the non communication of information of the facilities provided by the hotel to guests on arrival and I apologise for the inconvenience this caused. I have taken note to refer all these issues you mention to our Management Team to follow up on each so as to take appropriate action to maintain our high quality standard of services and facilities that is expected and also to review for future improvements.

I hope you will reconsider to stay here again so we can take the opportunity to restore your confidence and to assure you of our best attention to your specific needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit London.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Situated just off Kensington High Street this is a great location to use as a base in London. The superior rooms are spacious, bathrooms well supplied, and the bed was comfortable. The hospitality tray is a bit mean on its provisions, 2 tea bags and 4 sachets of coffee for each 24 hours. WiFi is charged at £10 per day which is nothing short of scandalous. I can travel all around the world and obtain free WiFi in hotels, but in the UK we still charge for it. What a nonsense

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CumbriaChevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your feedback. I am very happy to read you were happy with your room allocation all to your comfort, with special note you enjoyed the location of the hotel as a base suitable to your needs. Our Management Team have taken note of the points you raised and will take follow up action to address each as you mention to review for future improvements, and I apologise for the inconvenience these concerns you have may have caused you during your stay.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future so we can take the opportunity of assuring you of our best attention to your needs and we look forward to welcoming you back

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed 4 nights, offered reduced upgrade which was well worth it. Breakfast enough until evening Room excellent, staff so friendly and efficient. Good location on Kensington High Street and Kensington Palace, Albert Hall, British Museums, Victoria and Albert Museum and walk across beautiful Hyde Park to the centre of the city. All in all a very relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a Club Room which gave breakfast and evening drinks free, try to get a deal on these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Diddums M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your 4 night stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. I am very pleased to see our excellent services and facilities in and around the hotel was to your expectation to have a relaxing stay and as you call it “TOP COP”. Management and Staff received your positive comments with much appreciation.

I trust you will be returning to stay with us on your next travels to London and we wish to take the opportunity to welcome you back to the Copthorne Tara Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Excellent hotel for people with disabilities. Very close to Royal Albert Hotel, Kensington gardens and palace. Just 500 yards from all the shops including Barkers etc Have had many short breaks here especially when going to concerts.

Room Tip: Book adapted hotels thru Tourism for All
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Speedydize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback following your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel, in particular you mention of our excellent facilities we provide to accommodate people with disability needs. I have shared your review with our Management and Staff Teams and your compliments are well received. Your review motivates us as it makes us aware that we are successful maintaining the level of standard that is expected for our guests comfort, and well worth all the efforts we strive for daily.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay especially with the convenient location of the hotel to visit all the interesting places you enjoy going out to.

I am sure you will be visiting us again in the near future and wish to take the opportunity of welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention to your needs.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in London, it's just around the corner from Kensington High Street Station and proved to be an amazing base!
We shared a room which was very clean, well equipped and comfortable.
All staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed our services, in particular the great location of the hotel as this is a good base to visit interesting places in the London area and the excellent services and quality standard of facilities we provided in the room and hotel area, as you mention well equipped and comfortable all to your satisfaction. Our Hotel Team are very motivated by your compliments to continue maintaining the high quality standard of services and facilities for our guests comfort to enjoy and leave the hotel feeling good as is in your case.

On this positive note I am sure you will be visiting us again soon, and we wish to extend a warm welcome for you to stay here again when you next visit London.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from a superior room to a Club room and as I used to stay at this hotel in the 80's, I was well impressed!
Got to the room to find that it still looked 1980's and nothing had changed but for thirty years wear and tear.
I comlpained that there was mould and yeuk all around the single glazed aluminium window.
Paint scuffed off and furniture with venners peeling and in some places, chipboard showing through!
We were moved to another Club room which was slightly better by a Duty Manager who was very apologetic and later sent a compimentary bowl of fruit. The room was slightly better with double glazing that had a big gap at the top of the original outside aluminium glazing and a lot of dirt and muck had penetrated.
Most of the fruit was going rotten and when we pointed this out to another Duty Manager he offered us a free drink! As we do not drink alcohol he simply shrugged his shoulders and gave up on us.
Garbage management. We will not be going back to the Tara ever again.

Room Tip: Don;t go in the first place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stansyerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansyerman, PA to Cluster General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your feedback following your recent stay. I apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay with the incidents you mention. I am pleased to see once reported our Duty Manager took immediate action to assist and ensure your comforts as best he could at the time, but you were disappointed with the outcome.

Your feedback is valuable and taken seriously as it assists our Our Management Team to review for future improvements of our services and facilities we provide as we continue with our in-house redecoration project that is currently ongoing and we apologise if this project caused inconveniences during your stay. I am sure you can understand the dilemma we have due to the high demand for rooms the project does slow down. We do try to ensure all the rooms are well maintained, clean and comfortable with every intention to please all our guests as best we can whilst we continue with this project.

I hope you will reconsider to stay with us again in the near future to give us the opportunity to share with you the progress we are making and to assure you our best attention to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you when you next travel to London.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#350 of 1,076 in London
2,175 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#374 of 1,076 in London
1,009 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,076 in London
3,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#309 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £91 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Olympia Exhibition Centre is only a 5-minute journey by car, and the Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing