We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value in Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #461 of 1,086 Hotels in London
San Diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Value in Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel is a very good choice for exploring central London. It is about a 5 minute walk to the High Street Kensington Tube station, which provides you with access to the very center of the city. Kensington is a very nice and safe neighborhood. The hotel is very clean and spacious and offers a great value for those looking to stay in central London. The rooms were a very good size. Only complaint is that one night the wind was very strong and was quite loud against the window, which made it difficult to get a good night sleep. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, especially Isabella who helped us check-in!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewVSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, Pa to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review and glad to see your stay was was positive and all to your satisfaction and our services and facilities we provided at the hotel is excellent value for money. I have passed your compliments to all Management and Staff with special mention Isabella, and was received with grateful thanks.

On this positive note, I trust you will be visiting us again in the near future and wish to extend a warm welcome back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,272
    2,424
    1,621
    534
    327
See reviews for
1,050
2,197
309
1,323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,366)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Excellent location of the hotel, it is literally a 5 min walk to High Street Kensington Station, making traveling on the tube very convenient and easy to access. Additionally the area seemed particularly quiet and safe. When arriving there the staff was very helpful and friendly which gave a positive vibe and a nice impression, notably a young lady there by the name of Kyounjin was very helpful with any query I had. The hotel room was very neat and fresh, the spreading of the furniture within the room was well designed. The television access was rather straightforward and simple with numerous free channels compared to other places I've been to. A minor unpleasant detail was the noise coming from the train station nearby, windows seemed to be doubled in order to block the noise but could do with some noise-cancelling improvements. The hotel had multiple services and upgrade opportunities which created a sort of pleasant customizable stay. The food at the restaurant was great and my stay as whole was a pleasant experience. I definitely recommend this hotel especially for it's location being very practical for business and leisure purposes (Found all sorts of shops in High Street Kensington!) and it's lobby staff for being competent and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay mentioning you were pleased with the excellent location of the hotel, our Staff was helpful and friendly, hotel clean and fresh, the room allocated to you all to your satisfaction adding to your memorable stay. Our Management Team have taken note of the points you raised and assure you they will be reviewed for future improvements and apologise for the inconvenience any of these may have caused during your stay.

Thank you for your recommendation to all TripAdvisor readers that Copthorne Tara Hotel is a good choice to stay when visiting London, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed here with my mum and (much) younger brother for one night away. She got this as a deal on Travel Zoo. £99 for one nights stay with breakfast for 2. We had to pay £36 extra when we got there for my 10 year old brother for his bed and breakfast but that wasn't a problem.
The bedroom was ok. Quite small. The single bed they had set up was absolutely battered and sunken in the middle. Our bathroom was another thing, it smelt of wee and was very, very unclean. (Photos attached). In terms of sleep quality if you're a light sleeper don't stay here as it's right next to a train line.
This is what annoyed me the most... We went for breakfast the next morning and came into contact with the rudest woman I think I've ever met. We gave her our room number and she told us it was an extra £10 for my brothers breakfast. We told her we had already paid £36 to which she looked at us blankly and just kept saying 'No... Receipt? £36? No you pay...' (I think she was Korean) After getting absolutely no where with her we went and spoke to reception (she didn't offer to ring through to them) who laughed it off (?) and said its Ok we will call her. They rang round and explained to her EXACTLY what we had told her.
When we went back round she was still on the phone. Whilst still on the phone she said to us 'Did I say you couldn't have breakfast? No! I told you to pay...' At this point I lost my temper and told her to do as she was told. She reluctantly let us in for breakfast without paying the extra £10, but continued to stalk past our table throwing us dirty looks - professional.
We got no apology from her or anyone else. The breakfast was ok but not worth £17.
Needless to say I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback and for making us aware of the incidents. My sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory services encountered during your stay. I have referred your concerns to our Food & Beverage Manager to investigate and take action to address this with the said staff as you mention. Our F&B Manager personally has apologised too for this lapse in our services and assures you this is not usual and assures staff retraining is conducted so that such incidents are not repeated in future so as to maintain our excellent customer service that is expected. May I mention, for future stays any services or facilities you are not happy with please contact our Duty Manager as immediate action will be taken to ensure your comforts during your stay so as not to leave the hotel feeling unsatisfied with the services, also a report will be registered on our system for our Management Team to review for follow up and future improvements.

We endeavour to provide the best services possible with every intention of pleasing all our guests so they leave the hotel feeling good and satisfied with all our services, and again I am sorry this was not evident in your case. With this in mind I hope you will reconsider and visit us again in the near future to give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our services and also for us to make amends so you have a memorable stay. Please contact our Front Office Manager directly and he will ensure you are well looked after with the best attention to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a long weekend there Friday to Monday.

They upgraded our booking to "Club" nice room with a fantastic VIEW.

We were on the 11th floor with a panoramic view of London. Sunday was sunny (yes no rain!) and the view was for miles...

Friendly staff, great breakfast – good service, good room service - tea/coffee making facilities, fridge. All the other usual items.

Clean and warm hotel.

Very near tube station (High Street Kensington)

If you were on a lower floor you might hear the trains going past.

We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Lower floors might be a bit noisy with the trains going past - we were on the 11th room 1129 - which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JNPHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank your for your review on your recent long weekend stay. I am pleased to see the upgraded room you were allocated to was comfortable with a fantastic view to your expectation and also you mention we provided excellent services and facilities all adding to your memorable experience.

It is pleasing and motivating for the Hotel Team to receive your valuable positive review as we continuously maintain consistency with our high standard that we strive to provide our guests daily and all our efforts are well worth it.

Thank you for your recommendations to all travellers to London you will stay here again and we look forward to you next visit with us.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Check in staff was rude even when trying to sell us the over priced WIFI. Asked me to write down my email after me saying it three times without even so much as a please

Room was outdated and becoming obviously so (paint chipped everywhere and wood looking stained with various things.

On the day of check out (check out time being 12pm) we were disturbed 4 times, 3 of these were after I put the do not disturb sign on the door. Once at 8AM! with a knock on the door. The Second at 8:30 with another knock (after I'd put the do not disturb sign on the door). at around 9:30am another knock and then tried to enter, luckily we had put the chain lock on otherwise god knows what would have happened. Then last but not least at 10:30 I had what appeared to be the duty manager knocking on our door so I answered it and she had the cheek to ask "Are you leaving today?"

I'm sorry but all of that is damn right rude. I don't have to check out until 12. I could understand if checkout was say 8am when the first knock came but it was not.

I will not be booking any hotels with the Millennium & Copthorne name on again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a firm 4-star carrier, excellently located near Kensigton Garrens and Hyde Park (5-6 minutes walking), near High Street Kensington tube station (approx. 3 minutes walking). All the London places of interest are easily reachable from here, would strongly recommend this hotel for everyone, and will definately stay there again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxim_Dm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel and glad that we were successful in providing excellent services and quality facilities in and around the hotel for your comfort and satisfaction. We all at the Hotel are pleased you had a really nice stay and are very motivated due to the fact you left the hotel feeling good about your stay.

Thank you for your strong recommendation to all TripAdvisor travellers to London you will definitely stay here again and we look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staindrop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our first visit to this hotel and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is ideally placed for sightseeing. The rooms are a good size, well furnished, clean and comfortable. We had lunch on Saturday in the Bugis Street Brasserie, a Chinese meal, and it was excellent - try the jasmine tea, it's wonderful. For lunch on Sunday we just had a snack, but it, too, was excellent. The service was top notch on both occasions. There is plenty of staff in the hotel; all are pleasant and ready to help with any query you may have (including how much a taxi might be to visit Fortnum & Mason!!)
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a central London location.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel face onto the railway line, which can be a bit noisy, but not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carnivalqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review. I am pleased our quality standard of services and facilities was all to your satisfaction and glad you had a comfortable enjoyable stay. Thank you for your recommendations of your positive experiences to TripAdvisor readers that Copthorne Tara Hotel is a good choice hotel when staying in London.

I am sure we can expect your visit soon and extend a warm welcome to you for your return.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,540 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#378 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Property: Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing