We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reception area is the best part of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #466 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having spent four nights, the hotel is pretty decent. the breakfast is good, the service is good and all round good experience. Let me just say that they filled expectations.

Good part is that the High Street Kensington Underground (yellow line) is around the corner.

The area is quite posh and having been there in the height of one of the hottest summers in a long time, walking around at night was fun.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAMISH-ZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review following your four night stay. I am glad you had a good time and our services were all to your expectation. I am sure you will be back hopefully now in the summer as I notice you enjoy the walks around the area.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,441 - 3,447 of 6,788 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

As a gift for my 21st birthday we had a weekend away in London staying in the Copthorne Tara Hotel. We had a lovely time where staff were very helpful and friendly. Both restaurants served good quality food and the oriental restaurant was excellent. Our room was very clean and well maintained as well as spacious with a view overlooking the Albert Hall. Overall, we had a wonderful time at the Copthorne Tara!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sophie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

I am very glad you chose our Hotel to celebrate your special 21st birthday and even more so that we were able to provide excellent services and facilities to ensure your birthday was a success for a memorable one. Our Hotel Team are very happy that what we strive for daily was evident in your case and all in all you had a wonderful time. We hope you will be back to stay with us again soon so we can take the opportunity to host you again and assure you of our best attention to your needs.

We look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Have stayed here 5 times in 2014, I travelled alone and with children. i travel regularly to London and this hotel has become my home away from home. Absolutely love it! Its not fancy, but very comfortable, staff very friendly, super clean, breakfast always great, rooms are very good size for London but can do with a refurbishment, location is fantastic 2 min walk from High street kensington tube, everything within your reach. Will bpdefinitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the tube station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sending in your positive review. As a regular guest either alone or with your children, I happy to see we have been successful in providing consistency with our excellent staff services and high quality facilities to your expectation for an enjoyable stay “home away from home” each time and you “love it.” Your recommendations to all travellers to London is much appreciated and well received by our Management Team and Staff.

As you say you will definitely be back to stay, we take the opportunity of extending a warm welcome to you and your family to your “home in London” and hope to see here again soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I booked two weeks in advance and got a standard twin for my nine year old daughter and I for £197 two nights with full breakfast. I was pleased. We got to the hotel at noon. Our room had been allocated but wasn't ready. I checked our light baggage and we headed off to Kensington High St tube. Under 20 mins to the West End with just one change. On your return, when you exit the ticket turnstiles, turn left and immediate left before Boots and there is an exit that leads to the service alley. There is a footpath that leads directly to the hotel without going all the way around the station building. Locally, Bill Wyman's Sticky Fingers is a 5 minute walk as is Kensington Palace. There is a Tesco Metro in the High St nearby in case you run out of tonic for your gin.
The hotel is dated from the outside but huge, modern and stylish in the lobby. All marble and brass. Very "chain" but well maintained. There are five lifts which are fast. Corridors are tasteful.
Our room (823) was newly renovated. Here are the pluses; comfy beds, good bedding, spare blankets and pillows, iron and board, mirrors, 40 inch flat Samsung tv, sockets near the bed to charge your phone (hooray! At last!). Loads of storage. Great shower, big towels, free bath stuff.
The minuses; loo flush temperamental, tap temperature can stick on hot (how???!!!), no safe (deposit boxes at Guest Services), air-con overly complicated, noisy and not that effective, minor noise on the back of the property from trains at the back even on the eighth floor,very poor room to room soundproofing. I could hear the neighbour's entire conversation one morning! Luckily it wasn't in English!
Breakfast was good. All the usual options plus sticky rice and noodles. Tables for two are FAR TOO CLOSE TOGETHER to the point of being uncomfortable. An older lady in a suit seated us in the Buggis St Chinese restaurant opposite the main room as it was busy. The table was awful. I asked to move and she muttered something about being busy. I said I wanted at least a modicum of privacy. She tried to shove us into the darkest depths of the main dining room where you needed to be a size six contortionist to reach the table. Eventually we were sat by the bar and still virtually on the laps of the people next to us. Coffee was plentiful but of average quality. Food was good, hot and well replenished except for the scrambled eggs which were e-number hell and appeared very artificial and sloppy.
I'm probably sounding a bit negative by now so let me re-assure you; if you can get this hotel for under £100 a night with breakfast then it is spotlessly clean, quite pleasing inside, comfortable and close to the tube. There are some minor issues.
When we checked out and checked our bags in for free to be collected that night. This was a big bonus. However, when we returned the Guest Services was unmanned. We stood in line as one if the doormen in a bowler hat served someone else then afterwards he just blanked us and went back outside. Just not good enough. Another manager served us but we had to stop him in passing and confusion reigned for a few minutes.
Please stay here. It is good but it is a chain and as such, some staff are excellent, others were having a bad day.
Would I go back? Yes. Definitely but only for under £100.

Room Tip: Get an even number. They face the forecourt and the hotel next door. The odds are at the back and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FiveStarVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your detailed review. Your feedback is important as the points you raise both positive and negative is taken seriously and assists our Management Team to review each for appropriate action either by thanking and motivating our staff on good services provided or take action on the unsatisfactory services to review for future improvements. I also apologise for any inconveniences caused due to the minor lapse in our services as you mention during your stay and can assure you we will take action to rectify the situation so such incidents are not repeated in future.

We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences and recommendations with other travellers to London that Copthorne Tara Hotel is a good choice hotel.

We trust you will be returning to us when you next travel to London and we look forward to hosting you again to make amends and restore your confidence on the concerns you have.

We extend a warm welcome to you to return soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed one night in a double club room.
Booked this hotel through Secret Escapes and feel that we received good value for money.
The hotel is situated just around the corner from High Street Kensington tube (about a 5 min walk). Its not the most attractive building from the outside, but once inside we were pleasantly surprised. Check-in was effortless and we were quickly directed to our room on the 10th floor. Our room, 1039 was spacious, for London, and clean as is the entire hotel. Room includes iron and board, hair dryer, desk, tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries in the bathroom.
As we had a club room we were entitled to a few extra perks - entry to the club lounge which allows you 24hr unlimited tea and coffee, and wine, beer and soft drinks between 6.30pm and 8.00pm and continental breakfast in the morning all free of charge. We found the staff to be very friendly, housekeeping said 'good morning', reception staff polite and efficient and the gentleman in the club lounge was very attentive.
The location was great for us as we were attnding the Royal Albert Hall, which is about a 15/20 min walk away, just along Kensington High Street, which houses many shops including a large M&S, very handy for grabbing a few picnic items for lunch in Kensington Gardens, which is just over the road.
All in all, a nice stay with a perfect location at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Higher the better and facing the front of the hotel to avoid noise from tube, although we were rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

I am happy to see from your review the room allocated to you was satisfying to your needs, spacious, clean and comfortable. Thank you also for sharing your experiences in our Club lounge, especially your mention our staff provided excellent customer services and the location of the hotel suitable to your requirements to visit the Royal Albert Hall, good value for money all adding to a memorable experience for you to talk about positively. Your feedback is welcomed by all our Staff at the hotel with grateful thanks and they all look forward to hosting you here again soon.

We wish to welcome you back to assure you of our best attention to your needs for future stays.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This place was named after the architect who designed this 70's looking monstrosity, Baroness Tara Pinkleton - Newtshizt back in the late 18th century, probably. And although the place does offend ones eyes at first glance, should you actually venture into the hostelry, a world of magical, wondrous and sensual treats will cascade apon your person like sweets being poured from the hands of the Gods, (Zeus, Hercules, Conan and that). By that I quite obviously mean it's in a great location (round Ken High St, ok ya?), staff well drilled and polite, room alright - clean unt komfortabel and expensive booze down in t'bar, like. Well done Baron von Tara (first fighter 'ace' in Crowells army), your missus done good, she didn't half design an alright hotel down London town way.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieTheStoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review with all TripAdvisor readers travelling to London on your perceptions of the Copthorne Tara Hotel following your recent stay.. I am pleased you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay and it seems you were happy with our services and facilities to make this a memorable one.

I so hope you will be visiting us again in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The interior photographs online look lovely but in reality our room was small and basic. Location is good and compared to most hotels in London it was affordable (though still bloody expensive for what it is.) Worst thing: the pillows are like bricks. The air con is also quite noisy but it was sweltering with it off - in April! Upshot: didn't sleep a wink.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest

I am sorry to see your stay was not to your expectation. Our Management Team have taken note of the points you raised that you were not satisfied with and will review and take action for future improvements and apologise for the inconvenience caused. I wish to mention we endeavour to provide the best services possible with every intention of pleasing all our guests and it seems we failed you in this instance.

I hope you will return so we can take the opportunity to make amends and assure you of our best attention to your needs so you leave the hotel feeling satisfied and happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to London.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,077 in London
3,869 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#629 of 1,077 in London
1,336 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#338 of 1,077 in London
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#306 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £82 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Olympia Exhibition Centre is only a 5-minute journey by car, and the Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing