We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good business class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #477 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Rooms are a fine size and are clean and well maintained. However they are very dated and could do with a furniture and curtains upgrade. There are no mini-bar facilities, though there is a fridge. Tea/Coffee making facilities are provided and replenished daily. The selection for breakfast is excellent. Breakfast area is very busy, but attentive and helpful staff show you to your table. Lobby area is attractive and some papers provided. Internet on a pay as you go basis is available close to the Lobby. The reception staff are helpful and attentive and are a very good advertisement for the hotel. South Kensington is a very nice and safe area of London, but is slightly awkward from a tube perspective. Many journeys begin with a short trip to High St. Kensington, and then changes to other lines.

Room Tip: THe hotel is very near the tube line. Our room was at the fron of the hotel and we did not experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RexMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experiences and recommendations with TripAdvisor travellers. You will be happy to know we are currently working on in-house redecoration and your recommendations assist our Management Team to review for future improvements. I am happy to see we provided excellent staff services and our facilities in and around the hotel were to the standard for you to have a comfortable safe stay in London.

We hope you will be visiting us again when you next travel to London so we can show you the progress we are making with our current project and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,133 - 3,139 of 6,500 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

A 3 night stay at the Copthorne Tara completed our 14 day Great Britain whirlwind tour. The Copthorne Tara was an oasis of elegance that we enjoyed immensely. The hotel (our room, the restaurant, the bar, the store, the concierge, the doormen) itself was totally wonderful. The location is not entirely ideal, but it is close to the tube station and a short taxi ride to many of London's wonderful attractions.
If one did not look out your room's window the Copthorne Tara would rate 5 stars, but the crowding of the hotel by timeworn buildings and the tube station detract a little from the overall charm.

Room Tip: We were in a 'club' room so the extras that go with that are a very nice perk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tikitorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA toGeneral Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your good experiences and even more pleasing to see you enjoyed the hotel immensely, with special note the location of the hotel, our excellent services and quality facilities we provided were up to the high standard that is expected all adding to the totally wonderful time you had. I am happy you left with good memories.

I am sure on this positive note we can expect you back to stay with us again very soon, and we look forward to hosting and welcoming you.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

In its day the decor would have been smart and a la vogue.
Beds comfy, bathroom functional, clean, staff very lovely and very helpful.
No mini bar and meagre supplies of milk (more available if you ask)
Luggage storage facility after check out very convenient.
Worth looking at for reasonably priced hotel in Kensington.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Dickenslodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review and glad your room was clean and comfortable and good value for money and our excellent services all added to your pleasant stay. I hope you will be visiting in the near future and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Second time in this hotel and we've come back as per service is all over the standards. Special mention to Sonia at the reception that with her usual simpathy, smile and attention she welcomed us at the check in and made that moment really enjoylable.
Room again nice and confortable, breakfast super, location the best.
We will recommend this hotel to all our friends and relatives and of course we'll come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tonypuch30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your compliments and positive feedback following your recent stay, which was shared and welcomed by our Hotel Team with special mention and thanks from Sonia. I am glad you had a comfortable enjoyable stay and all was to your expectation to leave the hotel feeling good.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends and relatives when next travelling to London.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I was a bit apprehensive at first because the exterior is in need of an upgrade. The front desk was helpful and well staffed during checkin. Wi-fi was free with enrollment in their loyalty club. Location was convenient to the tube High Street Kensington stop. Drug store very close, restaurants and pubs as well. Room needed to be updated and windows thin for sound reduction. The price we paid was half of what we thought we were going to spend so it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sir_Lobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review. I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our services and facilities we provided were to the standard as expected to add to your positive experience and well worth the value for money.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A 4 star hotel in Kensington conjures up images of elegance and style.
This is not the reality of the Copthorne Tara
Where it does excel though is its location ....close to the Albert Hall (we went to see Rick Wakeman ...superb), Olympia, V&A etc
We were travelling by car to Kent afterwards so the ample parking at £15 per day was also a big plus.and the price we paid (via Secret Escapes) for a clubroom was very reasonable for London (not the rest of the world though)
We enjoyed a meal in the in house Bugis Street Brassierie. Again nothing amazing but a nice meal at a nice price
If you are going to the Albert Hall etc then it certainly should be on your shortlist especially if you are driving
The clubrooms are worth the extra in our view and although it was not a problem for us, do avoid the back rooms if you are a light sleeper (train noise)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GromitNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Copthorne Tara Hotel with all travellers to London. I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel which was suitable to your needs; the Club room was to your satisfaction and with special mention the nice meal you had at our Bugis Street Restaurant, overall good value for money and a memorable stay. Thank you too for your recommendations.

I hope you will visit us again when you next travel to London and we look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

After a long journey went to check in but the receptionist couldn't find our booking, after showing her proof it still took 15 mins to check in as someone with a similar name had been checked into our room. Was offered a voucher for breakfast for £10pp. This is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. Service on reception was pretty poor. They found us another room and we went in and it looked a little dated. Checked the bed and sheets were marked and dirty and also found another thing which shocked us. Manager quickly came and was very helpful and swapped our room up to club level (level 11) and also offered us a bottle of wine and a free continental breakfast. It was our first wedding anniversary so a bit of a shambles but eventually we settled into the room. The noise from the trains was really noticeable but we thought it would be quiet in the night. My goodness, the noise from the fridge was so much worse than the train, it buzzed and clanked continuously all night so no sleep and complete exhaustion. Shower was fine but tried to dry my hair and hairdryer was horrendous. Breakfast was very basic, pretty glad to leave the hotel. Too be honest would never stay again. Plus side near the tube.

Room Tip: Choose one that doesn't look out to the train station and doesn't have a fridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your valuable review. I am sorry your stay was a disappointing one as you encountered some incidents. I have noted and referred your concerns to our Management Team to take action with the relevant departments to ensure such are not repeated. I am pleased our Manager reacted immediately to settle you in and ensure your comforts to enjoy your first anniversary celebration.

We endeavour to provide the best services possible with every intention of pleasing all our guests, and I hope you will return to stay with us on your next travel to Londonso we can take the opportunity to make amends.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#348 of 1,076 in London
2,172 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#374 of 1,076 in London
1,007 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,076 in London
3,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#309 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £92 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Olympia Exhibition Centre is only a 5-minute journey by car, and the Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing