We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the tube, good sleep, pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #456 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on business. Arrived late afternoon and a quick and pleasant check in. Room rated as superior but nothing extra special although clean and of a reasonable size. At the back of the hotel so no traffic noise and quiet.
Breakfast ok, usual full English and continental options. Not that much around the immediate area but some restaurants and pubs within walking distance. Place seemed busy, would stay again if visiting that area of London.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrGrumpLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the Copthorne Tara Hotel and your stay was a comfortable and enjoyable one. Our Team thank you for sharing your positive feedback and we hope we can expect you back in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,479 - 3,485 of 6,951 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a AAA tour group. The outside of the hotel is rundown and a bit dingy, but the inside is very nice. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The hotel is in a lovely neighborhood and within walking distance to many restaurants as well as Kensington Park and Notting Hill. It is also close to an underground stop making it easy to travel around London.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

I am very happy to read you had an enjoyable stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel recently and to your expectation. Thank you for sharing your review with all travellers to London and hope you will be back again soon.

Look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed two nights in club room.
Upon check in was given an odd numbered room. I had read previous review on possible noise from trains and asked for an even numbered room. Receptionist pointed out that being 11 floors up we would not hear anything and also the view from that side was much better. Indeed the view was spectacular, the other side of the hotel faced another hotel, however, the noise from the trains were a disturbance.

Room description says dressing gown and slippers were provided, we did not have any. I asked at reception for slippers, was not bothered about dressing gowns. A single dressing gown with dirty belt arrived a couple of hours later but no slippers.

I need total darkness overnight, had to put towel at base of door as there was a large gap between door and floor.

Club lounge was very comfortable and a pleasure to spend time in. Staff very polite and attentive. Our breakfast was delicious.

The hotel was in a central position, easy to get to the tube and museums.

All in all, we enjoyed our time there and despite the couple of problems would go back again.

Room Tip: If you need absolute quiet whilst sleeping, forgo the view and have an even numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsHoliday55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review and for making us aware of your concerns, which will be followed up by our Management Team to review for future improvements. I am very pleased overall you had an enjoyable stay and your recommendation you would be back again is much appreciated by our Team with thanks.

We look forward to your next visit and hope it will be soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A great reasonably priced London hotel The Four star Tara Copthorne lives up to everything you’d want in every way but one ........... its a great location a reasonable price all the facilities you’d wish away from home but one the rooms are not as fashionable as some hotels But folks the service is excellent form José and Robert on reception to Tobias, the Duty Manager they make you feel like you’re at home, and more importantly, the most important of customers in this busy hotel. You are a glance away from all the major museums such as the V and A (free) a short stroll to the Albert Hall and Memorial and next to Kensington palace, Hyde Park and Kensington High Street for all the shops you would want.... But what wins hands down in this hotel is the staff, such a great experience we stayed longer than intended– Who needs flashy new wallpaper after all. Treat your feet and stay in this great location and let the staff do what they seem to do best ...help you enjoy your stay in a personal way .................in this massive city that is rare..

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CardiffBonviveur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. All staff very helpful. Breakfast really delicious everything was very fresh and replenished regularly, never ran out of anything. Very handy for tube and bus route. No 9 ran very frequently to Aldwych, stopping at good locations on route. Room ok and decent size for city hotel but agree it had an odour but after first time entering the room you didn't really notice it after that. Wifi seems overly complicated to connect to and then not very good signal but lady on reception did say it was a new system so maybe it'll get better. Over all a good place to stay especially with a Travelzoo deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

I am very pleased you had a pleasant stay recently at the Copthorne Tara Hotel and thank you for sharing with all travellers to London all our services and facilities were to your satisfaction and good value for money. Our Management Team have taken note of your concerns in regard to the WIFI and will review for future improvements.

I trust you will be visiting again in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

On the rare occasion I book a hotel without taking the time to read enough TA reviews it is always a mistake. Booked this for a very special occasion for my sister and I. I knew when turning the street corner and looked at the hotel this was not going to be a good experience. The exterior shot of the hotel on the website is taken in the dark - I understood why - it looks like Prisoner Cell Block H!

The reception area looks nice but the first room we were given was a superior twin room - there is nothing superior about these rooms. They are shabby, aircon from the dark ages, smelled damp and worn, shower that looked like it had been installed in the 70's, mould around the bath, .... etc. This hotel needs a serious make over.

I went immediately back to reception and complained and to be fair the staff tried to find us another room. They gave us a complementary upgrade to a club room on the 12th floor. When we got there it overlooked the underground lines. We turned off the noisy airconditioning and the noise of the trains going by even up on the 12th floor would have kept the most sound sleeper awake. The rooms smelled of cigar smoke and was only slightly less shabby furniture than the 'superior' room. If this was one of their best rooms then we were going to struggle so I tried to search on my phone for another hotel but due to the events in London that day the hotels were all full (read my other review on Mercure which was a bizarre experience).

Eventually asked to see the duty manager who showed us to another club room on the 10th floor. We had little choice but to accept. He refused to give us complementary breakfast as compensation but gave us a voucher for a free drink (which was subsequently disputed by the bar staff on the second night because it said for one person not for the room!).

The main problem with this hotel is that the staff are obviously instructed to go by the rules with no discretion and then have to deal with irate guests. For example, I asked for a latte at breakfast on the first day and was told there would be an extra charge despite the fact that I was eating just one bowl of cereal and a slice of toast. The waitress eventually agreed that this should not be charged but only after I complained.

There is no way I would recommend this hotel. It needs a significant cash injection and a serious look at its website because it is definitely misleading. The rates do not reflect the quality of this hotel and I feel sorry for the staff who have to deal with customers who are as disappointed as we were.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avidtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA toGeneral Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you sending in your detailed review following you recent stay at Copthorne Tara Hotel. Your feedback both negative and positive is very important for our Management Team to review each as you have specified to take follow up action with the relevant department heads to ensure we maintain our quality standard services throughout the hotel as is expected for the comfort of our guests. I apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the issues you mentioned and I hope you will return so we can make amends to restore your confidence in our services and assure you of our best attention to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed here two nights in early June. The hotel is a bit tired, but fairly good value provided you don't want to use the wi-fi, which is charged at an exorbitant 10 pounds a day which the hotels website doesn't point out, it's an absolute scam. The shower head over the bath is badly positioned, it's almost impossible to direct the water flow over you.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not on the side of the rail line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matteblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review which is important as it helps us to review and to take action to improve and to maintain our services as is expected for our guest comforts. We have noted the points you raised and our Management Team will follow up with the relevant department head to take action.

I hope you will be visiting us again in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#337 of 1,081 in London
2,295 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#302 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £94 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Olympia Exhibition Centre is only a 5-minute journey by car, and the Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing