We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #463 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Ideal location, could be issues with train noise but we were in a club room on a higher up floor so didn't have a problem with this. Was pleased with decor etc after fearing the worst after reading reviews on here. Some people I feel will find fault with anything to give them something to moan about. You get what you pay for, if you want better get a club room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for for taking the time to send in your review on your recent weekend break. And glad overall you had a pleasant stay. I hope you will be back again soon to visit us and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    2,455
    1,637
    540
    330
See reviews for
1,062
2,229
311
1,336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel was selected for its convenient location in London city. Meeting room was comfortable and adequate for the group attending; nothing special and nothing worth noting. The accommodations however were quite basic and in need of renovation. The rooms are a decent size and have most of the amenities you might expect but the hair dryer did not work well and there was no hair conditioner to use in the shower. The food was edible, again, nothing special. A very average hotel.

Room Tip: View was great from the 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. Your feedback is important as it assists our Management Team to review each of the points you raise for future improvements so we maintain our quality standard level of services provided to our guests as is expected for a comfortable stay. I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and overall you had a pleasant stay.

I hope when you travel again to London you will return so we can have the opportunity to host you again to assure you of our best attention to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myre
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Decent hotel located close to Hyde Park and Royal Albert hall. The room prices could have been cheaper due to the old fashion standard, but it was worth the stay anyway. We got room number 776 and it was calm and quiet during the hole night. A short walk and you will be in Kensington street were there are many bus stops as well as High Street Kensington tube station if you wanna take the underground (tube). From the hotel its also a 20minutes walk up to Nothing Hill were you find the famous Portobello Road Market. Breakfast ok, usual full English and continental options with a friendly and helpful hotel staff.

Room Tip: Chose a room high up (6,7,8 floor) and towards the hotel entrance (if you want a quiet room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Balsam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. I am happy you had a good stay and you enjoyed the location and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future and we extend a warm welcome back soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was magnificent! THE hotel to stay at in London; its proximity to many things is great! Can walk to many great sites and shops and close to the metro, which was perfect for getting around town Hotel service was very hospitable! Great lounge and comfortable rooms!!
If/when I go back, this hotel is the top of my list!!!

Room Tip: Great location for sites, shops, and metro!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review with special note Copthorne Tara is a magnificent choice and the facilities and services in and around the hotel all added to your memorable recent stay. Your recommendations is much appreciated, thank you.

I trust you had an enjoyable Paris tour and hope to see you back in here when you next visit London, and look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

W stayed in this hotel for three nights. It was close to a metro tube station which made our trip much easier. The rooms were clean but the furniture a bit outdated and needs renovation. The breakfast buffet was great with many choices and amazing service. I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it weren't for a few things. Wifi isn't free. They also did not find our reservation (we booked through booking.com) so there was some delay while checking in. Overall it was reasonably priced for what we got.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layanmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback which is important as it assists us to maintain our quality standard of services and facilities provided as is expected for a comfortable stay. We have taken note of your concerns and will review and take action for future improvements. We are glad overall you had a pleasant stay and all is good value for money.

I hope you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I came down to spend the day at the Chelsea Flower Show, we travelled by train from Manchester and came to stay - for the second time - to the Copthorne. We were met by Tobias at Reception who's charm and good nature instantly relaxed us after a long journey. He knew how to meet and greet us, ensured we had a nice quiet room.
We talked about an early start the next day to get to Chelsea so he gave us complementary access to the breakfast club so we could have a quick breakfast and run. His knowledge of London (for a German) was excellent and he directed us well. He also arranged for our case to be looked after while we were at the Flower Show.
We had a lovely day, stayed in a lovely hotel and met a lovely guy,
Thanks Tobias.

Room Tip: Great location for access to most of London
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenTreacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review and with special note of the excellent services you received from Tobias our Front Office Manager to add to your enjoyable experiences here at the Copthorne Tara Hotel recently for the Chelsea Flower Show. It is so pleasing to see our guests leave the hotel feeling satisfied and content with the quality of services and facilities provided as was in your case for the second time around. Your feedback is shared with all our Hotel Team and received with grateful thanks.

We thank you for your support and we look forward to your next visit with us soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Attended conference and " club" room booked, unfortunately booking messed up so first night had a lower non club room, before being put back to 12th floor club room, to be truthful not a great difference. Both were tired and old fashioned in decor, and although clean had a tired and scruffy look, bathroom particularly dingy with old fashioned plastic mat, air con takes up all of wall with 70's style control and although effective was noisy. No free internet!!!, public spaces better, breakfast ok but not cheap, bugis street restaurant smelt good. Conference facilities ok, probably on a cost par with London especially in Kensington , however £180+ Per night for a tired room badly in need of updating seems expensive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodychester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review. Your feedback is important as it assists our Management Team especially as we are currently working in in-house redecoration and the concerns you mention will each be reviewed for future improvements.

We hope you will visit us again in the near future and take the opportunity to extend a warm welcome back soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#372 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Property: Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing