We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it says on the tin.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #473 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is ok. It is very tired and the rooms are shabby and need refurbishing. The 'superior' room I stayed in did not match it's name or it's cost at all! There was nothing superior about it. It's quite disappointing because the hotel is not as it is portrayed on its website. I did not eat in the restaurant but did order room service. The food was awful and very expensive too.

Something to bare in mind if you book through a third party website beware breakfast is charged separately and this is not very clear when you book.

The staff were friendly and I would say that that is this hotels only saving grace. It most definitely isn't at all what it says on the tin. I wouldn't put it at a four star hotel at all and would not use it again for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHZ6616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review. I am sorry your stay was not to your satisfaction. Our Management Team have taken note of your feedback and will review and take appropriate action for future improvements. We endeavour to provide the best services and facilities possible with every intention of pleasing our guests and I apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

I hope you will return to stay with us so we can take the opportunity to make amends and restore your confidence in our facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention to your needs as expected to ensure you leave the hotel feeling satisfied and happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,197 - 3,203 of 6,658 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Ideal location, could be issues with train noise but we were in a club room on a higher up floor so didn't have a problem with this. Was pleased with decor etc after fearing the worst after reading reviews on here. Some people I feel will find fault with anything to give them something to moan about. You get what you pay for, if you want better get a club room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AHB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for for taking the time to send in your review on your recent weekend break. And glad overall you had a pleasant stay. I hope you will be back again soon to visit us and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to London.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel was selected for its convenient location in London city. Meeting room was comfortable and adequate for the group attending; nothing special and nothing worth noting. The accommodations however were quite basic and in need of renovation. The rooms are a decent size and have most of the amenities you might expect but the hair dryer did not work well and there was no hair conditioner to use in the shower. The food was edible, again, nothing special. A very average hotel.

Room Tip: View was great from the 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LWCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. Your feedback is important as it assists our Management Team to review each of the points you raise for future improvements so we maintain our quality standard level of services provided to our guests as is expected for a comfortable stay. I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and overall you had a pleasant stay.

I hope when you travel again to London you will return so we can have the opportunity to host you again to assure you of our best attention to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Decent hotel located close to Hyde Park and Royal Albert hall. The room prices could have been cheaper due to the old fashion standard, but it was worth the stay anyway. We got room number 776 and it was calm and quiet during the hole night. A short walk and you will be in Kensington street were there are many bus stops as well as High Street Kensington tube station if you wanna take the underground (tube). From the hotel its also a 20minutes walk up to Nothing Hill were you find the famous Portobello Road Market. Breakfast ok, usual full English and continental options with a friendly and helpful hotel staff.

Room Tip: Chose a room high up (6,7,8 floor) and towards the hotel entrance (if you want a quiet room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balsam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. I am happy you had a good stay and you enjoyed the location and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.

I hope you will visit us again in the near future and we extend a warm welcome back soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was magnificent! THE hotel to stay at in London; its proximity to many things is great! Can walk to many great sites and shops and close to the metro, which was perfect for getting around town Hotel service was very hospitable! Great lounge and comfortable rooms!!
If/when I go back, this hotel is the top of my list!!!

Room Tip: Great location for sites, shops, and metro!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review with special note Copthorne Tara is a magnificent choice and the facilities and services in and around the hotel all added to your memorable recent stay. Your recommendations is much appreciated, thank you.

I trust you had an enjoyable Paris tour and hope to see you back in here when you next visit London, and look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

W stayed in this hotel for three nights. It was close to a metro tube station which made our trip much easier. The rooms were clean but the furniture a bit outdated and needs renovation. The breakfast buffet was great with many choices and amazing service. I would have given this hotel 5 stars if it weren't for a few things. Wifi isn't free. They also did not find our reservation (we booked through booking.com) so there was some delay while checking in. Overall it was reasonably priced for what we got.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layanmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback which is important as it assists us to maintain our quality standard of services and facilities provided as is expected for a comfortable stay. We have taken note of your concerns and will review and take action for future improvements. We are glad overall you had a pleasant stay and all is good value for money.

I hope you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I came down to spend the day at the Chelsea Flower Show, we travelled by train from Manchester and came to stay - for the second time - to the Copthorne. We were met by Tobias at Reception who's charm and good nature instantly relaxed us after a long journey. He knew how to meet and greet us, ensured we had a nice quiet room.
We talked about an early start the next day to get to Chelsea so he gave us complementary access to the breakfast club so we could have a quick breakfast and run. His knowledge of London (for a German) was excellent and he directed us well. He also arranged for our case to be looked after while we were at the Flower Show.
We had a lovely day, stayed in a lovely hotel and met a lovely guy,
Thanks Tobias.

Room Tip: Great location for access to most of London
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenTreacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review and with special note of the excellent services you received from Tobias our Front Office Manager to add to your enjoyable experiences here at the Copthorne Tara Hotel recently for the Chelsea Flower Show. It is so pleasing to see our guests leave the hotel feeling satisfied and content with the quality of services and facilities provided as was in your case for the second time around. Your feedback is shared with all our Hotel Team and received with grateful thanks.

We thank you for your support and we look forward to your next visit with us soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#636 of 1,077 in London
1,325 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,841 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,077 in London
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#309 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £85 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Olympia Exhibition Centre is only a 5-minute journey by car, and the Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Lastminute, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing