We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chain of hotels if you can get a good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #470 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Chain of hotels if you can get a good deal”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My sister and I stayed early June for three nights. We had a very quiet room at the side of the hotel. Staff were very helpful and the food, both at breakfast and in the Asian restaurant were very good, just avoid the rush at 830am if possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maggiehides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest

I am pleased to see from your review overall you and your sister had a pleasant 3 night stay recently at the Copthorne Tara Hotel and thank you for sharing your positive experiences with all traveller to London.

I hope you will be visiting us again in the near future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    2,507
    1,680
    548
    338
See reviews for
1,093
2,274
321
1,369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

train noise is a problem and the hotel is tired.. It is advertised to be located near Hyde Park, it doesn't seem to be true. But the most important point it is located right besides a railway. On Friday night at 3am there were still trains passing by, definitely not recommended for anyone who needs a sleep in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jiayiwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review and for making us aware your stay was not to your expectation and not in the location suitable to your needs. I am sorry this trip did not work for you and I hope you will visit us when the location of Copthorne Tara Hotel in Kensington is more suitable to your needs. I wish to mention the London Buses from the high street are very convenient to the hotel to take to Hyde Park and about a 30min bus ride, which for London distances is regarded as close proximity to Hyde Park.

I hope you visit us again and we look forward to welcoming you.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have stayed at the Tara a couple of times now as the location is excellent for some local industry events and it is not extortionate, which is useful in London. Reception looks lovely and some of the staff are very good. The rooms are basic, which to be honest for the price (remember it is London!!) is fine, but really lets itself down with the horrendous quality of the sheets and pillows, making your nights sleep really not that pleasant....
Breakfast staff are efficient, fresh fruit very good, very fresh. The hotel caters very well for Chinese, even specifically to breakfast food choices and a lot of Chinese people stay there.

Room Tip: Sorry - there isnt a swimming pool but once I had ticked that box by mistake I couldnt untick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback, especially noting you are a regular guest its always good to see and be made aware of how we compare and the difference issues you encounter. This feedback of yours is valuable as it assists our Management Team to review and to take follow up action with the relevant departments heads to ensure such incidents are not repeated in future and also to help us maintain consistency with our quality level of standard that is expected for our guest comforts. I hope you will visit us again so we can make amends to ensure you have an enjoyable stay and thank you for your support.

We look forward to welcoming you back and for your continued support.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We only stated one night, and had a good offer for a club room. We were unable to travel there by tube due to engineering works so walked part way however was still easy to find.

We were able to check in early, the room had a great view and was functional but very tired and dated. The decor looks straight out of the 70s.

We used the club lounge briefly for drinks- complimentary wine and beer ( and soft drink) however this also needs a rethink really compared to lounges in other chains which usually have a nice view, canapés etc.

Didn't bother with breakfast.

Slept well despite an irritating clicking all night from the enormous air con system.

Great location, we were going to earls court which is walkable however we opted for a cab. Not much in the way of nightlife nearby, but there are shops and restaurants around, would definitely recommend wholefoods for somewhere to grab lunch.

There are also short walks to Kensington palace and gardens, RAH, Knightsbridge not far away either.

Would I stay again? Well it wouldn't be my first choice unless they seriously update the rooms!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review and I am pleased to see overall you had an enjoyable stay. Our Management Team have taken note of your feedbackand concerns you encountered during your stay to review and take action for future improvements. Your recommendation you would stay here again is much appreciated and our Team look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is ok. It is very tired and the rooms are shabby and need refurbishing. The 'superior' room I stayed in did not match it's name or it's cost at all! There was nothing superior about it. It's quite disappointing because the hotel is not as it is portrayed on its website. I did not eat in the restaurant but did order room service. The food was awful and very expensive too.

Something to bare in mind if you book through a third party website beware breakfast is charged separately and this is not very clear when you book.

The staff were friendly and I would say that that is this hotels only saving grace. It most definitely isn't at all what it says on the tin. I wouldn't put it at a four star hotel at all and would not use it again for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHZ6616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review. I am sorry your stay was not to your satisfaction. Our Management Team have taken note of your feedback and will review and take appropriate action for future improvements. We endeavour to provide the best services and facilities possible with every intention of pleasing our guests and I apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

I hope you will return to stay with us so we can take the opportunity to make amends and restore your confidence in our facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention to your needs as expected to ensure you leave the hotel feeling satisfied and happy.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Ideal location, could be issues with train noise but we were in a club room on a higher up floor so didn't have a problem with this. Was pleased with decor etc after fearing the worst after reading reviews on here. Some people I feel will find fault with anything to give them something to moan about. You get what you pay for, if you want better get a club room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for for taking the time to send in your review on your recent weekend break. And glad overall you had a pleasant stay. I hope you will be back again soon to visit us and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel was selected for its convenient location in London city. Meeting room was comfortable and adequate for the group attending; nothing special and nothing worth noting. The accommodations however were quite basic and in need of renovation. The rooms are a decent size and have most of the amenities you might expect but the hair dryer did not work well and there was no hair conditioner to use in the shower. The food was edible, again, nothing special. A very average hotel.

Room Tip: View was great from the 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. Your feedback is important as it assists our Management Team to review each of the points you raise for future improvements so we maintain our quality standard level of services provided to our guests as is expected for a comfortable stay. I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and overall you had a pleasant stay.

I hope when you travel again to London you will return so we can have the opportunity to host you again to assure you of our best attention to your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#350 of 1,068 in London
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Property: Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#306 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Olympia Exhibition Centre is only a 5-minute journey by car, and the Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing