We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #469 of 1,067 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tourist Hotel”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

1 night business trip. Check-in was ok, but very busy. Furniture was dated but in a good condition! Located conveniently behind High Street Kensington station. Very busy throughout the evening with not enough staff on the front desk to deal with both the queues and guest queries. Left before breakfast and was provided with a breakfast box which was woefully bad, dried fruit, nuts and breakfast biscuit and juice. Fresh fruit could have been added!

Had a late meal when I returned in the evening which was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nai_NaiY2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. Our Management Team have taken note of your comments and will take follow up action with the relevant departments and also to review each as you mention for future improvements. I apologise for the inconvenience caused with your breakfast box and our F&B Manager sends his apologies and has taken action to ensure this is not repeated in future.

I hope you will visit us again soon so we can assure you of our best attention to your needs so as to ensure you leave the hotel feeling satisfied.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    2,493
    1,667
    544
    336
See reviews for
1,085
2,263
317
1,361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Tucked away from the main street, the quiet was much appreciated. The hotel has a great location...you can find a wide variety of restaurants and stores within a 10-minute walk. The High Street Kensington Tube stop is just up the street (District and Circle Lines give you easy access to the center of London and the most popular tourist sites). I had great interactions with the staff (front desk, concierge, bell staff, restaurant staff) and the front desk is quite efficient, and this is made all the more remarkable due to the many groups that come in and out.

Drawbacks: the lobby can be a bit crowded at times...the same goes for the breakfast room. The rooms are a bit dated and tired (but they are comfortable and clean). And no free wi-fi!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHUMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review. I am pleased you had a good stay and your experience was a positive one in that you found your room clean and comfortable and our staff provided excellent services. Your feedback is valuable as it assists us to review and improve to ensure we continue maintaining our quality level of standard that is expected.

I am sure you will be visiting us again when you next travel to London and
we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for 4 nights and were not disappointed. From the outside it doesn't look much we actually both looked at each other whilst in the cab and said 'Oh my gosh.. not another one" (We'd been travelling Europe for 3 weeks so have stayed in a few hotels).... HOWEVER... being greeted at the front doors by very well dressed Concierges we knew we were in a good place. Beautiful reception area for starters. We had a few problems checking in though. We had booked a Twin or Double Room but specifically asked for a double room in the comments of the booking as we are a couple - newly Engaged at that ;) when we were told there are only Twin Rooms with 2 Single Beds left I was not happy. However the lovely lady that was checkin us in, SARAH, was so helpful. She could have just said, Sorry, that's all I can do but she went away and spoke to her manager, came back, went away again, came back and said that she can get us a double room especially. She even helped us out with other room enquiries we had and was very helpful. Her service was outstanding! Thanks Sarah :)
The room we had was on the 9th floor, big double room with massive window, a desk, 2 chairs and table, TV, room for 2 suitcases on a bench, wardrobe, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and a big bathroom.
The location is excellent too. About a 5 min walk to High Street Kensington Tube Station (Circle and District Lines) and the High Street where there are loads and loads of shops. We walked to Harrods from there too so it's a good location.
Checking out was easy too and the guys at the Service Desk are very, very professional and helpful when leaving your luggage there to come back for later.
We would stay here again when we come back to London next year!
Well Done Copthorne Tara Hotel!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was right along the tube line but because the windows are double glazed you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chrissy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review and for sharing your positive experiences you encountered throughout the hotel during your stay. I am very pleased you left the hotel feeling very satisfied and had a memorable stay. I have taken note and shared with our Hotel Team your feedback and special mention of Sarah going the extra mile to be helpful and to ensure you were well looked after and comfortable. It is always good to see what we strive for daily to ensure our guests comforts was evident and successful in your case. The Team received your feedback with grateful thanks and look forward to hosting you again when you next travel to London.

Your recommendation to all travellers is much appreciated and I am sure we will see you here again in the near future.

Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gruyere
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very convenient for Kensington station. Very good value as I booked it through Secret Escapes for 1 night for £80. Room was a good size and all the furnishings excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback which is very important for us to maintain our consistency of high level of standard that is expected. I am very pleased overall you had a pleasant stay and the hotel is in a great convenient location suitable for your needs around the Kensington area. Also we were successful if providing a friendly helpful guest service and the facilities in and around the hotel all to your comfort and satisfaction and as you mention good value for money. Our Team thank you for your positive comments.

I am sure you will choose Copthorne Tara Hotel for your next stay in London and we wish to extend a warm welcome for your return soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights in June (Thur-Sat). Friendly and efficient check-in staff. Stayed on 3rd floor at back of hotel which was quiet. Good shower and bathroom. Plenty of storage space with iron and ironing board. Phone-charging service available in lobby. Just three minutes walk from tube station. Lots of cafés nearby. Buffet breakfast @ £10 was average.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is quieter. Good breakfast/ lunch available at Bill's, High St. Kensington Tube st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in a review on your recent 3 night stay in June at the Copthorne Tara Hotel and thank you for sharing you positive experience with all travellers to London. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed our friendly efficient staff services, your room allocated was comfortable suitable to your needs and the location of the hotel convenient to travel around the London area and places of interest for you to visit.

I am sure after this memorable stay you will be visiting us again in the near future and we take the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsbury, nj
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel was a little dated looking from the outside but inside was immaculate. The rooms were adequately sized. However, the beds were a little smaller than expected (the double room seemed to have twin beds, not even the full or queen size). The staff was very friendly though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review. It is always pleasing to see our guests leave the hotel feeling satisfied with our services and facilities which is what we strive for daily to ensure our guests are well looked after leaving with good memories. Our management Team thank you and have taken note of your concerns and will take action for future improvements for our guest comforts.

I am sure we can expect you back when you next visit London and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belbroughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for a one night stay in June to see a show. We Always book a hotel based upon its location to a tube station so seeing it was 3mins to Kensington station result, only to find on trying to get there from Euston station a part of the underground was closed due to maintenance for the weekend we were there! This unfortunatley cost us over £100 more to take taxis everywhere. I know this is not the fault of the hotel however, it would have been good customer service to have been advised in advance. Regarding the hotel, had the tube been open it is a good location. Rooms are small but hey thats London, they are looking very tired, curtains are blackout but too short so still let a lot of light in early mornings (in summer of course!) there is a fridge in the room which is good but ours did keep me awake all night humming. Walls are thin, heard person next door coughing. Would stay here again but would only go if there was a promotion until they do an update.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the tube station closure during the time of your stay. May I mention, in regard to the services with the underground trains is out of our hands and unforeseen circumstances. As these irregularities occur every so now and then with the underground services, it would be advisable when travelling to London to check the unavailability with the stations concerned prior to travelling to London for your convenience and comfort. Your feedback is important and our Management Team have taken note of your comments and concerns and will take action to review for future improvements.

I am glad to see despite this inconvenience overall you had a pleasant stay and as you mention you will stay here again we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#353 of 1,067 in London
2,033 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Property: Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing