We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #459 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is well located in the Kensington/Chelsea area of London. Nice comfortable room with excellent service by entire staff. I would stay there again as it was convenient to subway and bus transport.

Room Tip: Ask or room away from trains,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your feedback and I am very pleased to see you enjoyed the location of the hotel, your room was comfortable and our staff provided excellent customer services for a pleasant stay. Our Management Team and Staff welcomed your compliments. Such feedback motivates us all to continue maintaining our high standard that is expected and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Look forward to welcoming you when you next travel to London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    2,457
    1,637
    540
    331
See reviews for
1,064
2,231
311
1,337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,385)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Tara and had a very relaxed time, on arriving we were greeted with very pleasant recepionists who explained all the ammenities of the hotel. We stayed in a superior room which didn't disappoint us in any way, breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, one evening we ate in the hotel bistro which was very good value, the hotel is ideally sited in a quiet location and great for the Tube system and within walking distance to museums and parks etc

Room Tip: Slight train noise at the side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review and I am pleased to see you and your wife had a lovely break at the Copthorne Tara Hotel recently, especially noting our excellent staff services and facilities in and around the hotel all good value for money all adding to your memorable stay. Our Hotel Team received your comments with grateful thanks.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for just the one night on a bed only basis and the room was spacious and bed comfortable, all in all a nice hotel. We enquired about WIFI code so we could use the ipad but was told that this incurs a cost of £10.00 for 24 hours. That's a lot of money just to read a few emails and plan your stay in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendysam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

I am pleased to receive your review and glad you enjoyed the Hotel, its location and services. I have taken note of your mention of the WIFI and have referred to our Management Team to review for future improvements, and apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

I hope you will visit us again so we can assure you of our best attention to your needs, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portreath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights while visiting London. It is well placed close to the tube but in a quiet area of Kensington.
Wonderful helpful staff which extended from the reception through to the waiting and cleaning staff.
The twin room we had was good, clean and spacious.
Breakfast was good and plentiful although extra on the deal we had.
The only negatives were that wi fi was extra and the cost of drinks in the bar were expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_gregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent short city break at the Copthorne Tara Hotel which is important to us. Our Management and Hotel Team are very pleased to receive your positive comments with much appreciation and have taken note of the few concerns you mention to review for future improvements.

We wish to take the opportunity to welcome you back when you next visit London and assure you of our best attention to your needs.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

1 night business trip. Check-in was ok, but very busy. Furniture was dated but in a good condition! Located conveniently behind High Street Kensington station. Very busy throughout the evening with not enough staff on the front desk to deal with both the queues and guest queries. Left before breakfast and was provided with a breakfast box which was woefully bad, dried fruit, nuts and breakfast biscuit and juice. Fresh fruit could have been added!

Had a late meal when I returned in the evening which was pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nai_NaiY2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. Our Management Team have taken note of your comments and will take follow up action with the relevant departments and also to review each as you mention for future improvements. I apologise for the inconvenience caused with your breakfast box and our F&B Manager sends his apologies and has taken action to ensure this is not repeated in future.

I hope you will visit us again soon so we can assure you of our best attention to your needs so as to ensure you leave the hotel feeling satisfied.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Tucked away from the main street, the quiet was much appreciated. The hotel has a great location...you can find a wide variety of restaurants and stores within a 10-minute walk. The High Street Kensington Tube stop is just up the street (District and Circle Lines give you easy access to the center of London and the most popular tourist sites). I had great interactions with the staff (front desk, concierge, bell staff, restaurant staff) and the front desk is quite efficient, and this is made all the more remarkable due to the many groups that come in and out.

Drawbacks: the lobby can be a bit crowded at times...the same goes for the breakfast room. The rooms are a bit dated and tired (but they are comfortable and clean). And no free wi-fi!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHUMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review. I am pleased you had a good stay and your experience was a positive one in that you found your room clean and comfortable and our staff provided excellent services. Your feedback is valuable as it assists us to review and improve to ensure we continue maintaining our quality level of standard that is expected.

I am sure you will be visiting us again when you next travel to London and
we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for 4 nights and were not disappointed. From the outside it doesn't look much we actually both looked at each other whilst in the cab and said 'Oh my gosh.. not another one" (We'd been travelling Europe for 3 weeks so have stayed in a few hotels).... HOWEVER... being greeted at the front doors by very well dressed Concierges we knew we were in a good place. Beautiful reception area for starters. We had a few problems checking in though. We had booked a Twin or Double Room but specifically asked for a double room in the comments of the booking as we are a couple - newly Engaged at that ;) when we were told there are only Twin Rooms with 2 Single Beds left I was not happy. However the lovely lady that was checkin us in, SARAH, was so helpful. She could have just said, Sorry, that's all I can do but she went away and spoke to her manager, came back, went away again, came back and said that she can get us a double room especially. She even helped us out with other room enquiries we had and was very helpful. Her service was outstanding! Thanks Sarah :)
The room we had was on the 9th floor, big double room with massive window, a desk, 2 chairs and table, TV, room for 2 suitcases on a bench, wardrobe, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and a big bathroom.
The location is excellent too. About a 5 min walk to High Street Kensington Tube Station (Circle and District Lines) and the High Street where there are loads and loads of shops. We walked to Harrods from there too so it's a good location.
Checking out was easy too and the guys at the Service Desk are very, very professional and helpful when leaving your luggage there to come back for later.
We would stay here again when we come back to London next year!
Well Done Copthorne Tara Hotel!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was right along the tube line but because the windows are double glazed you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chrissy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review and for sharing your positive experiences you encountered throughout the hotel during your stay. I am very pleased you left the hotel feeling very satisfied and had a memorable stay. I have taken note and shared with our Hotel Team your feedback and special mention of Sarah going the extra mile to be helpful and to ensure you were well looked after and comfortable. It is always good to see what we strive for daily to ensure our guests comforts was evident and successful in your case. The Team received your feedback with grateful thanks and look forward to hosting you again when you next travel to London.

Your recommendation to all travellers is much appreciated and I am sure we will see you here again in the near future.

Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#371 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Property: Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing