We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #466 of 1,063 Hotels in London
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I booked this for a two night stay, my colleague having stayed an extra night ahead of me. Upon arriving here i though i was at the wrong place (see photo for outside of hotel) the outside needs a facelift immediately. My initial opinion from seeing the outside was one of sheer terror! A complete contrast i found after going inside, the reception area is excellent and looks like a different hotel!
I didn't experience the check in process but the check out process was fast.
The room itself, very tired and dated. Our room had what looked like a superb view, providing you can see past the dirty windows.
Unfortunately we had a terrible night's sleep. It was absolutely sweltering in the middle of the night, we had to have the noisy air con on in order to get the room at a bearable temperature. The windows were literally nailed shut as we were on the tenth floor. The noisy fridge would turn on and off regularly, there was no way to power this off as it was hard wired into the wall.
Being close to the tube there were regular trains back and forth until around 1am. Needless to say we were massively tired the following day.

To summarise, this hotel needs a major facelift, both inside and out. It's in a great location (understandably you can't get away from the underground system) but i would not stay again or recommend to anyone in it's current state.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemPepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your valuable feedback which helps us to ensure we maintain our excellent services and facilities expected by our guests and I apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the concerns you mention. Our Management Team have taken note and will address each of your concerns with the relevant department heads to ensure this is not repeated in future.

I hope you will choose our hotel when you next travel to London so we can take the opportunity to make amends and to ensure you are well looked after so you leave the hotel feeling satisfied which is what we strive for daily.

We look forward to your next visit and hope it will be soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,313
    2,479
    1,658
    542
    335
See reviews for
1,076
2,254
315
1,355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Reception is incredibly busy - packed and noisy when I arrived and I have to queue to check in (a pet hate). My "greeting" could best be described as "curt". Most hotels will say things like "welcome" instead of "name?!". Room was a reasonable size but the double bed was very small. Overall the decor is dated and tired - wallpaper starting to come away, carpets held down with duct tape etc.

My room was very hot, and I didn't find the controls until the morning. They were noisy and didn't seem to make much difference.

Curtains were not long enough to cover the window so the room was full of light from 4.30am. The curtain rail fell down when the curtains were touched.

I was better off than a colleague who was on the other side of the hotel and was kept awake by the noise of trains all night.

My bed was too soft - going by other reviews on here, they seem to have a range of firmness!

Breakfast was adequate, but not a great range of choice. Again there were long queues to be seated, which massively annoys me. Why do hotels not provide adequate breakfast facilities for their capacity?

No free wifi.

You would be much better off staying in a premier inn. My company must have had 80 nights worth of rooms booked and was a repeat visit for us, but I don't think we will be back.

Room Tip: Apart from trying another hotel, then request a quiet room and maybe specify mattress firmness
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahburton30260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review. Your feedback is important as this assists us to maintain consistency with our quality standard level of services that is expected. Our Management Team have noted your concerns to review and to take follow up action for future improvements.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and hope you will return to stay to give us the opportunity to restore you confidence in our services and assure you of our best attention to your needs to have a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is an average hotel with tired furnishings in average sized rooms. The beds were too hard. Breakfast was very nice and good value. The staff were really friendly and helpful especially the concierge. It is located just a couple of blocks off Kensington high street tube station which was very handy for us. Unfortunately the Wi Fi was not free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngamoenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to see overall you had a good stay. We have taken note of your concerns which will be reviewed for future improvements and I apologise for the inconvenience caused. However, I am glad these concerns you mention did not deter you from having an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel which we booked without reading trip advisor! But the day before our stay I did read some reviews which alarmed me but I needn't have worried. Check in was efficient and friendly my request for a quiet room was granted and later my request for another pillow was dealt with immediately. Yes the rooms are a little worn but they were spotless and all the staff we dealt with during our stay we're friendly and helpful.
Car parking very reasonable at £15 per day cheaper than 2 drinks at the bar in fact !
Ideal location for the tube nice restaurants/bars nearby and shopping.
Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelaScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback and I am very pleased you had a pleasant stay and all worked out to your expectation. We hope you will return soon so we can have the opportunity to host you again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I actually stayed at this hotel twice during a family vacation and both times I wasn't very impressed. The hotel is on a cul-de-sac and could use a power washing. It seemed to be covered in the same grime as the subway tracks it neighbored. The lobby was proper but the rooms were another story.

As for the room, the furniture was very worn (at the least needing new varnish and at the worst total replacement. The table in the first room was missing a leg. The light switches in one of the rooms were a little confusing as well. The beds were comfortable but that might be because I had spent 9 of the last 12 hours flying and had been up close to 24 hours. I later discovered that one of the pillowcases had some mucus on it. The rooms were quiet and the only time I heard other guests was when walking down the hallways. Wi-Fi was 10 Pounds per day which is inexcusable considering the age we live in. My first room only had one accessible power outlet (that wasn't in the bathroom) and it was under a desk. And considering that when I travel I have chargers for my phone, tablet, camera and battery pack, it's a little irritating. The second room I stayed in had two so that wasn't so bad. The bathroom gets very fogged up as the exhaust fans don't work very well and for a big guy like me the shower was quite small (the shower curtain kept sucking onto me).

There were computers in the lobby that offered internet for a Pound per 20 minutes and were quite old. The business center was a joke. They did let me in for free so I could print my boarding pass for my return trip so I was thankful for that. One computer had a very locked-down interface and the computer that wasn't locked down had a broken printer. Both appeared to be running Windows XP. If you didn't know, XP no longer receives security updates and should never be used for any banking or shopping (but I wouldn't do that on a hotel computer anyway).

Now for the good. Breakfast was pretty delicious. I believe they were charging 17.50 Pounds but my tour group had it included. They offered "The Full English" as well as other cereals, fruit, yogurt and juices. As this hotel is heavily travelled by Asian tour groups, they also offered congee (rice porridge) and vegetable noodles. The staff there were friendly and your coffee (or in my case tea) cup was always filled promptly. The tour guide's advice was to get there before 7:30 AM as it gets busy and she was not wrong. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the High Street Kensington Underground Station and several bus lines (we took the #9 quite often) as well as several shops including a pharmacy and grocery store.

This hotel deals with a large number of tour groups (which I was part of). If your travel agent ever suggests this hotel, I would strongly advise them to find a different hotel, even if it costs a few Pounds more per night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerNotTourist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed review . As a regular guest it is always good to get a view and to be made aware of the different concerns you encountered during your stays. All feedback both positive and negative is very important as this assists our Management Team to take note take follow up action on each of your concerns and also to review for future improvements. I apologise for the inconvenience caused and I hope you will return for us to make amends and also to assure you of our best attention to your needs so your stay is an enjoyable one.

I hope you will continue to support us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is well located in the Kensington/Chelsea area of London. Nice comfortable room with excellent service by entire staff. I would stay there again as it was convenient to subway and bus transport.

Room Tip: Ask or room away from trains,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your feedback and I am very pleased to see you enjoyed the location of the hotel, your room was comfortable and our staff provided excellent customer services for a pleasant stay. Our Management Team and Staff welcomed your compliments. Such feedback motivates us all to continue maintaining our high standard that is expected and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Look forward to welcoming you when you next travel to London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Tara and had a very relaxed time, on arriving we were greeted with very pleasant recepionists who explained all the ammenities of the hotel. We stayed in a superior room which didn't disappoint us in any way, breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, one evening we ate in the hotel bistro which was very good value, the hotel is ideally sited in a quiet location and great for the Tube system and within walking distance to museums and parks etc

Room Tip: Slight train noise at the side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive review and I am pleased to see you and your wife had a lovely break at the Copthorne Tara Hotel recently, especially noting our excellent staff services and facilities in and around the hotel all good value for money all adding to your memorable stay. Our Hotel Team received your comments with grateful thanks.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,625 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#361 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Property: Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#305 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing