We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend to forget!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #477 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Myself and my girlfriend had booked to stay from the 27th-29th of June. I am writing to advise others that the service we received upon arrival and the room condition were both appalling.

Upon arrival at approximately 11.30pm we went to reception to check in. The girl on the desk was very difficult to understand, however, it shortly became clear that the hotel had ran out of double rooms and couldn't give us a double room for the night even though that is what we paid for. So she alternatively offered us a twin room and asked us if that was OK, now I asked did we have any other choice and she said no not really so it was either a twin room or nothing. During this time the receptionist was quite abrupt and was not apologetic about the situation whatsoever, it was as if she didn't even care.

Once we got our room key we headed upstairs to our room and it only got worse from here on in. As soon as we opened the door to the room there was a horrible smell of stale air. It was as if someone had been smoking in the room and the hotel had never tried to get rid of the smell. Upon walking into the room I noticed there was a socket hanging off of the wall with the wires behind exposed. Upon entering the room further I noticed what seemed to be two patches of mold on the ceiling which were both quite large. There was a large gap underneath the window where the facing had come off and you again could see all the wires running to the other rooms in the hotel. Further to this there was a hole behind the bed with yet more bare wires exposed and a crack in the casing next to the bed. Once at the bed I also noticed what could have either been blood or coffee stains up the wall next to the bed. Additionally one of the sets of bedding had black stains on the pillows and part of the duvet. Then came the bathroom, there was black mold all around the bath and there were pubic hairs all over the floor and in the bath.

After noticing all of this I decided the room was far too dirty and unsafe on health grounds to spend the night in so myself and my girlfriend went down to reception and explained the situation to them and requested that they move us. Now the receptionist at first seemed to think we were lying about it and it wasn't until I started listing off the problems with it all that she kind of realized that we needed to be moved, even at this point she still didn't seem bothered by the whole thing and still remained unapologetic.

Once we had been reassigned rooms we went to check our new room to see if it was any better. The first thing we noticed upon coming to the door of our new room is that it was unlocked, whoever had been in the room last had not closed the door. Once we entered the room we checked this one for cleanliness. It didn't have a stale smell and most of the health and safety issues didn't exist in this room. However, the room still wasn't clean. There were pubic hairs all over the bathroom, the bath was stained with black marks all along the base and the plug had mold round it. The room itself was also very dusty, surfaces looked like they hadn't been wiped in a while and one of the pillows again had black marks on it.

Now by this stage we were shattered as we had been up for work at 6am the previous day it it was now 1:30am so we didn't want to have to go through the hassle of moving and complaining again as we really didn't have any energy left by this stage. Additionally we were worried that even if we kept complaining we would just get moved from unclean to unclean and unsafe twin rooms, so although this room was still filthy we figured it was the best we were going to get.

Now the one thing I would expect from a hotel above all else is that the room I am staying in is clean and a safe place to be and that should be the case no matter what price it is, never mind the fact that this was supposed to be a luxury hotel that we paid a premium for as a treat for our anniversary. It was a horrible way to start what was supposed to be a romantic break away for the two of us, once which we had worked hard for and saved up for months to go on.

It just left such a bad impression that somewhere so apparently prestigious could fall so short in every aspect and in particular the bad service, us not receiving the room that we paid for and the fact that first room we were booked in to was down right dangerous.

I do hope that this hotel doesn't ruin anybody else's anniversary as it certainly has been an anniversary to remember for us but for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed review following your recent stay and for making us aware of the issues you encountered during your stay and especially for your Anniversary. Our Management Team have taken note of all in detail and will take appropriate action on each as you have listed to ensure we maintain our quality standard that is expected for our guests to enjoy and have a comfortable stay. I apologise your Anniversary was not celebrated as you expected to and for the inconvenience caused.

I hope you will return in the near future to give us the opportunity to make amends and to restore your confidence in our services again as we strive daily to ensure our customers leave the hotel feeling satisfied.

I hope you will reconsider to choose our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back so we can also assure you of our best attention to your needs.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,019 - 3,025 of 6,500 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

As others have said, the location is excellent.
The outside of the hotel has a seventies feel.
Inside, reception was slow and cumbersome.
The room was clean, but dated and could do with an update.
Bar prices expensive, so we went out to a pub. Breakfast had a wide choice and was good quality.

Great location, but expensive for an average hotel.

Room Tip: Higher is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ro8erts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the breakfast was of good quality. We endeavour to provide good services and facilities with every intention of pleasing all our guests.

I hope you will visit us again so we can assure you of our best attention to your specific needs and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location - really nice shops and restaurants in the area.
The hotel is quite dated though, and definitely needs some work.
Rooms are quite small and a lot of noise can be heard from the hallways. The fridge in the room is also very noisy if you're a light sleeper.
Definitely ask for a room that isn't facing the tube station, particularly now that the tube will be running 24 hours.
Wifi at £10 a day is extremely expensive.
All in all, given the price we paid and the location, I would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest

I am pleased to see from your review you enjoyed the location of the hotel. Our Management Team have taken note of the points you listed to follow up and address each of your concerns for future improvements to ensure our guests are well looked after and comfortable. I apologise for the inconvenience caused and am glad to see these will not deter you from visiting us again and we can expect you back in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back and to assure you of our best attention to your needs.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The outside of the hotel is old and looks awful, inside is ok clean, high volume of people going through, reception always busy. Wi fi is not free, have to pay 10 pounds 24 hrs, signal weak was disaster, computers in foyer area out of the ark. Location is ok.

Room Tip: No I would not stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your valuable feedback and I apologise for the inconvenience caused due to the concerns you mention. Our Management Team have taken note and will address each of your concerns with the relevant department heads to ensure we maintain our excellent services and facilities expected by our guests.

I hope you will choose our hotel when you next travel to London so we can take the opportunity to make amends and to ensure you are well looked after so you leave the hotel feeling satisfied which is what we strive for daily.

We look forward to your next visit and hope it will be soon

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel for one night, we booked room only but when we checked in we were offered an upgrade for £12.50 each which included, room on higher floor, free water, free cocktail and full English breakfast - so exceptional value
The room was of a good size, very clean and on the 9th floor, although it overlooked the railway there was very little noise, All of the staff were extremely polite and efficient.
The hotel is very close to High Street Kensington and the tube so good central location

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay and we are pleased you and your friend had a pleasant stay and our services and facilities was all to your satisfaction.

We trust you both will be visiting us again in the near future and wish to take the opportunity of extending a warm welcome back.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel in April and thankfully we got a good deal on the room price (one night) via Secret Escapes.
I had done my homework to find us a nice place to eat (Whits Restaurant http://www.whits.co.uk/) so this totally made up for the disappointment of:

Outdated decor in the room
Vastly overpriced food (something like £14.95 for breakfast.....we headed to The Parcel Yard on Kings Cross station instead)

Our thoughts were that because the hotel was in Kensington then they could charge the earth for breakfast. Also, maybe because we had a discount on our stay then they stuffed us in an old room.

In a nutshell, visit Kensington by all means but don't stay here. Go to Whits Restaurant...you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Mr and Mrs L, West Yorkshire

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andyjl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Mr & Mrs West

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. Your feedback both positive and negative is valuable as this assists us to maintain consistency with our standard of services and facilities that is expected. Our Management Team have taken note of the points you raised to review for future improvements and thank you for your time. We apologise for any inconveniences caused during your stay and we hope you will return so we can assure you of our best attention to your needs.

We hope you will choose our hotel in the future and we look forward to welcoming you both back on your next trip to London.

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

the location is good,close by tube. Room cleanliness is excellent but furnitures in room is draw back. Reception people cant handle the queue,need more training. The Lobby was fully packed. reception people were not welcoming with smile. First impression was worst but then the service from housekeeping and service guys in morning breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maria a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. Our Management Team value your review as this assists with our ongoing in-house redecoration. We have taken note of lapse in our staff services you encountered and I apologise for the inconvenience cause due to this and assure you this is not the norm. We will take action to address and conduct staff retraining to ensure this is not repeated in future.

I hope you will return in the near future so we can make amends and for you to see the what we strive daily to maintain our quality services to ensure our guests are well looked after.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next travel to London.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#348 of 1,076 in London
2,173 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#374 of 1,076 in London
1,007 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,076 in London
3,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#309 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £92 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Olympia Exhibition Centre is only a 5-minute journey by car, and the Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing