We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location and classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Ranked #463 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Location location and classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is in the BEST location! You are walking distance to shopping areas, restaurants, and they tube. everything you need is available. My only complaint is paying for internet for such a classy location. Very traditional bell hops elegance is there for sure.

Room Tip: 519 side will give you the view of the railroad tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cmp1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experiences with travellers to London on your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. I am pleased to see as yoyu mention the 'classy' location of the hotel is convenient to all places of interest suitable for your needs adding to a memorable stay. I have noted your concern in terms of the internet and referred this to our Management to review for future improvements.

I am sure we can expect you back to stay when you next travel to London and we look forward to hosting you again.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    2,455
    1,637
    540
    330
See reviews for
1,062
2,229
311
1,336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is the second time I've stayed at the Tara this year and I have also stayed at the Copthorne at Chelsea FC. All three stays were very good. The Tara is well located close to High Street Kensington tube and the many shops and restaurants around it. Getting a cab is easy and you can be on the Mall in 15 minutes. The hotel is well appointed, the staff are very good and the rooms well cared for. Breakfast is great and the bar service is good, although it's cheaper to drink outside in one of the many pubs nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and recommendations with all travellers to London on your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. I am very pleased to see you are regular guest and we have maintain consistency with our level of standard on all occasions that is expected, our excellent services and facilities in and around the hotel are to your satisfaction and you always have a memorable stay. Our Hotel Team thank you for your positive feedback and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Thank you for your continued support.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel is classed as a 4 star but would def say it was more like 3 star but with London this is the norm. Location is fantastic 2 mins from Kensington high street and Kensington gardens!
Staff are nice and helpful also.
If I was looking a nice hotel for a romantic weekend in London I wouldn't pick this hotel as rooms are in need of updating but if it is location you are after this is the one and rooms are ok but don't be expecting four star rooms.
There is also a tube station a few minutes away from here also.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback with regards to your recent stay and for bringing to our attention to the points you mentioned which is valuable as it assists our Management Team to review for future improvements whilst we are currently working on our in-house redecoration. I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. On a positive note, I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our excellent staff services.

I hope you will return to visit us again soon so we can take the opportunity to make amends to assure you of our best attention to your specific needs.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
458 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here three nights at the end of our tour of the British Isles. First, the positive things: Location, location, location. The hotel is near the High Street Kensington tube station and reasonably close to Kensington Palace. The High Street Kensington Arcade is nearby. Also, we found the Concierges helpful, there's a nice gift shop in the hotel, and the breakfast spread was excellent. Now for the negatives: It's very expensive. We stayed one extra night after our tour ended, and it cost $350, with breakfast included. The hotel is old and in need of refurbishing. For example, in our room there were crude patches on the wall, the chrome was worn off the door handles, our sink was slow draining, and the heated towel rack didn't work. There's no free WiFi, and it cost me 10 pounds for 24-hour service! Fortunately, we had only one dinner at the hotel, as it was our worst meal of a 17-day trip. There was no choice of dishes, and the main dish was duck, which, as semi-vegetarians we refused to eat. The salad had little dressing, the mashed potatoes were pitiful, and the skinny green beans were the worst I've ever eaten. The dessert was dry chocolate cake. At one point, we had to get the key cards redone, as they stopped working on our door. Finally, on the day we stayed extra after our tour ended, we told a young woman at the front desk the night before that we didn't want to get the 6 a.m. wake-up call for the tour group, as we were staying, not checking out. Would you believe that we then got not 1, not 2, but 3 wake-up calls! Needless to say, I was unable to get back to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychprofessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your feedback via Tripadvisor. Your feedback both negative and positive is important and taken seriously as these assist us to continuously improve our level standard of services and facilities going forward.

With regards to the points you raised our Management Team will take follow up action for each appropriately to ensure we maintain consistency with our excellent services that is expected to ensure our guests a comfortable stay. I apologise for the shortcomings you experienced and for the inconvenience caused. On the positive side I am pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and I hope the incidents you encountered will not deter you from returning to visit us when you next travel to London.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you of our best attention to your needs to have a memorable stay.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

There was a problem with my reservation at check in I'd cancelled one room but both had been cancelled and it took a few mins to be resolved, it was resolved though and receptionist apologised.

Food in this hotel is great - breakfast, bar food and fab room service.

Great location and perfect especially if travelling alone.

All staff were helpful, well mannered and made an effort to say hello.

I've stayed at this hotel several times in recent years and I really am a fan of the place but was disappointed with room 725 thought it had seen better days. Mysterious stain on chair and bed, mould/ stain above 3 wall lights, dirty / discoloured plug hole in sink & bath, mould around bath, funny stain running down bathroom wall, dirty & mouldy shower curtain, furniture scraped, chewing gum stuck on floor beside bed and needs replacing and door of cupboard where fridge lives was broken.

Bed itself was comfy and bedding very clean. Unlike in previous stays AC worked very well.

Good stay but room needed a deep clean and furnishings updated.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexish78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review on your recent stay at the Copthorne Tara Hotel. Your feedback is important as this assists our Management Team to review and take action for future improvements especially whilst we are currently working on in-house redecoration. We will also follow up on the points you raised with the relevant departments heads so we continue to maintain the standard that is expected. I am pleased our services and the convenient location of the hotel added to your overall good stay.

I trust you will be visiting again when you next travel to London and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed at hotel for a conference in June. Nice but basic room. Breakfast in club area was lovely.
Staff very helpful. Quite expensive but you are paying Kensington prices. Would probably go elsewhere and try somewhere different the next time but it was not a bad experience on the whole.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k8escotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your review. It is a pleasure to read you had a positive experience and overall you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope you will return in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St helens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived and was welcomed by the lovely concierge and checked in quickly by a real friendly and happy fellow, was £50 to upgrade for breakfast and wifi which was fine but then could not believe we had to pay £30 to park after paying nearly £300 already for two nights.
Room was clean and all staff really helpful apart from one evening when we needed a taxi and I found Jose extremely rude and ignorant! We were dressed for a concert so not our normal clothes! Not that this should matter and I felt this was why! As a manager of a trauma unit in Liverpool I deal with the public daily and found this extremely upsetting to say the least and he let the whole team down, I'm sorry to have to say it but it's a shame when one person let's everyone down, his name was Jose! Overall found the area amazing. And one member of staff that stood out for his kindness was tamas thank you x

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahida S, PA to General Manager at Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am really sorry to read about the negative experience you encountered with our staff member Jose and the inconvenience this has caused you during your stay. I assure you our Management Team will take appropriate action to ensure such incident is not repeated in future.

I am pleased to receive your positive feedback on your overall stay especially noting you found the location amazing, room clean and staff helpful with special mention of the kindness provided by Tamas to ensure you well taken care of to have a pleasant stay. We have shared your feedback with all Staff so we can review for future improvements.

I hope this incident will not deter you from choosing our hotel when you next visit London so we can take the opportunity to make amends and assure you of our best attention to your needs.

We all are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#372 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington

Property: Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Address: Scarsdale Place, Kensington, London W8 5SR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#308 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 833
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copthorne Tara Hotel offers the ideal location to stay in London whether you are travelling on business or leisure. Whilst it is easily accessible from the M4 with Heathrow Airport only 30 minutes drive, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are only a 5-minute journey by car, and the newly opened Westfield Shopping centre just 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Tara Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing