We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Cromwell
Ranked #605 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough and a great location”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here with my 7-yr-old son for a couple nights as wanted to show him some London sights. Great location for getting around London with it being very close to Gloucester Road tube station, but also within easy walking distance of places like the Natural History Museum and some ok, but quite pricy restaurants. Hotel staff were friendly and the only problem we had with our room (a stuck tv channel) was fixed very quickly. Room was up on the 5th floor, no problem for us to get to without a lift from the fourth floor. Room was fine, although a little warm at times even in February.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    541
    280
    142
    74
See reviews for
168
606
85
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel provides an average service offering! The breakfast room is small and often overheated. Rooms are a good size and comfortable. Hotel feels more like a travel lodge, but would stay there again if none of my regular hotels were available.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlosvandangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Apart from minor irritations like a tiny window that didn't open and noisy air con, the size of the room made it an unpleasant stay. The bathroom door hit the bed before it was fully open and to get around the far side of the bed one had to squeeze past a chair in the corner whilst bending over because the ceiling was sloped in. It made for a very claustrophobic experience and we just tried to avoid being in the room - not a very relaxing stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this nice victorian style hotel with friendly staff and 5 minutes away from the underground (Gloucester Road). The room was small, bad WIFI service on the 4th level and they don't provide adapter for plugs. English breakfast provided was ok. There are a couple of shops around and is 20 minutes away from Kensington Gardens & Palace.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
3 Thank Fio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The room we were given was room 830,it is awful, outside the window you have a view of sheet metal and a dreadful drone of aircon or what ever it is,every twenty minutes or so it would wind up like a jet engine and although not as loud it was still noisy and irritating.The room was quite small and very dark as you are practically under ground.we complained to reception but they were fully booked etc,etc. Tis was our first visit to a Best Western and probaly our last.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 830
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickhanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Hate to leave bad feedback - but I'll start with the GOOD first.
The room was clean.
It was decently spacious.
The price was affordable.
Free wifi.

The not-so-good:
Had an unpleasant run-in with a rude maid. She knocked on the door to clean our room, but we had not yet left the room - we were on the phone with family (hadn't spoken in a while, catching up happily etc) and I answered the door, apologised and asked if we could have five minutes. So, admittedly I should have asked for more time - five minutes later she came back, I profusely apologised and said we were about to head out just that moment. Her response? A loud sigh and an obnoxious (and very visible) eyeroll. I told her not to clean the room and just move on to the next one. She lifted her eyebrows and walked away. Really, I had no interest in letting someone so blatantly rude enter our room at that point. I politely left a complaint/comment at the front desk, which the employee wrote down, but I never got any sort of apology or follow-up. It certainly didn't make us feel welcome at the establishment. The hotel itself isn't so bad, but I will make a point of not staying here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Spencer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nichola R, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad that overall you found the hotel clean and of good value.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you experienced on your recent stay with us. We do take all complaints seriously and we use them as a tool to improve the service we provide and to prevent the problem re-occurring. I have noted the points you have raised with regards to the housekeeping service you received. I have forwarded these to our Head Housekeeper to investigate and she will take the necessary action so that these problems do not occur going forward.

I hope you will visit us again to give us the opportunity of restoring your confidence. I look forward to welcoming back.

Kind Regards,
Nicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#361 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#412 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#492 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#349 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Cromwell

Property: Best Western The Cromwell
Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #605 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing