We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice area, small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Cromwell
Ranked #636 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just back from staying in the hotel and enjoyed it. 1) Very easy to get to it on the tube ; its a 2 min walk from Gloucester Road station. 2) Excellent location ; tube can bring you anywhere and nice to be away from the madness! Good shops, restaurants and other hotels within walking distance so can stay in Kensington for a night if you want to. 3) Room was small but had everything we needed ; comfy bed, flat screen tv and bathroom very modern with excellent shower. 4) Breakfast room is not fancy but it has everything you need in the morning 5) Found staff helpful, pleasant and will return.

PS Room had air con ; very important as can get very warm & stuffy in London, especially in small hotel rooms !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colm4157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent a week here and were very pleased. Rooms smallish, but who stays in the room? Good bed; modern bath. Staff helpful. No restaurant, but every kind of choice, some excellent, within a five minute walk. Tube station across the street on Piccadilly, District and Circle lines. About 45 minutes from Heathrow for 5 pounds. How can it get ant better. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if traffic noise would be a problem. Cromwell Red. is very busy. Wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I just got back from London on May 24th. We stayed at the Best Western Cromwell. It was the most convenient hotel we ever encountered. On premises there is breakfast room and a bar. Within a block of the hotel there is a subway station, grocery/liquor store, drug store, great restaurants and bars, dry cleaning, post office, and a bus stop right out front. We had a room with a deck which was is a quiet garden. The hotel staff was impeccable, especially Francisco and Agnes. They helped us retain a cab for an early morning ride to the train station, printed out our boarding passes for the flight home, made sure we had a first floor room because my husband had trouble walking, and many other things to make our stay even more special. I would definitely stay there again and will refer this hotel to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms can be small because the hotel is in the city, so reserve a room with a balcony. The bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The perfect hotel for a sightseeing trip if you arrive from Heathrow since its nearly opposite the tube station.

The hotel is located over a few buildings so it can be confusing if you have to take a lift up only to take the stairs down. Rooms are new refurbished, nice but pretty small.

Breakfast in the morning is free and offers a good choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper level and to the south
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lunchforone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent our anniversary here on 7 June 2014 and was rather disappointed. Although the rooms were tastefully decorated and clean the room (303) was so small we barely had enough room to stand and get dressed. Thank god for the air conditioning as I would have felt so claustrophobic as the window barely opened. The night before we had spent the night at 'County Hall Premier Inn' which was absolutely brilliant, much better and much more enjoyable, and this is where I will be returning to if I ever visit London again. Sorry Cromwell but the room you gave us should have contained a single bed not a double, wont be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel photos had clearly not been taken in our room which was dark and poky with a window which was too high up to see out of. The lighting didn't improve in the bathroom either,with no light on the mirror, unlike the hotel photos! Hopeless for applying makeup. Very little elbow room in the dining room and had to wait for milk, fruit and bowls to be replenished at breakfast. A very average experience and in my opinion and experience, 2 star at best. My advice check into a premier inn and save yourself some money.Its wasted here! Our room was depressing and just didn't want to spend any time in there.

Room Tip: Avoid 351 at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We took our travel agents advise and booked at The Cromwell. Yes, the rooms are on the small size. But for the price and location I guess that would be right. The hotel was very well run. Great reception staff, very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the bathroom facilities excellent. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
Bus stops just right in front and Gloucester Rd tube station is 2 min walk. Also handy to good restaurants.
Breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1AWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us here at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time with us.

I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience with our Reception team and breakfast.

Once again I would like to thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon to BEST WESTERN The Cromwell.

Kind Regards

Laird Alexander Thomson-McLean
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#350 of 1,076 in London
2,175 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#427 of 1,076 in London
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#508 of 1,076 in London
1,052 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Cromwell

Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #636 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £88 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing