We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel experience I have ever had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Cromwell
Ranked #636 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Tiny room with hardly any room to get around bed. Batroom has 12 inchec between sink and shower!!!!
Air con not working until last night - then leaking into ceiling lights and onto floor!

Smallest breakfast room ever with 20-30 mins wait to be seated (only two very harrassed staff members. Wifi good when it works but keeps dropping.

Dreadful.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel - it's not cheap and it's very cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Whether you are happy with your stay will depend very much on which room you have.

We had a twin room on the top floor facing the busy Cromwell Road.

The location of the hotel is superb, directly opposite Gloucester Road tube station, a short walk away from Hyde Park and the museums and opposite supermarkets and many places to eat.

The lift only goes up to the fourth floor so beware of the fifth floor if you struggle with the stairs. This wasn't an issue for us.

Reception was friendly if a little chaotic as they were training new staff.

The room size was fine and the bathroom newly refurbished therefore modern in style but five things let it down:
1. the noise from the traffic was very loud and there is no let up at night time.
2. on seeing that our curtain was flapping, I decided to check if the window was closed. I found that the handle of the window wasn't actually attached to the window at all - just sitting there - so this probably contributed to the noise as the window wasn't fully shut
3. being under the eaves, my daughter hit her head every time she got out of bed because the slope of the roof was immediately alongside the bed. There was a "please mind your head" sign but this is useless in the dark.
4. the mattresses, pillows and duvets were hard and not comfortable
5. the aircon was efficient, for which we were grateful, but there wasn't a setting to adjust fan speed so it was very noisy. On the plus side, you could use the aircon noise to drown out the traffic noise; it's just a choice as to which is worse!

We didn't have the breakfast as £12.50 for continental that we were offered (strange because we see cooked breakfasts in the photos) because that seems very expensive but there are many cafes nearby.

It comes down to location and price in the end. We paid £140 for two people and the location, near the Albert Hall, suited us well. Had we had a quieter room at the back of the building we would have been much more satisfied.

I would probably stay here again for the location v price alone.

Wifi incidentally was free but slow.

Room Tip: Please try and get the quieter back of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ehzoyzdcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this hotel quite a bit in advance for a 4 night stay. We had assumed that as the information showed a room with a bathtub and shower over that this what we would have been provided with. Instead we were given a room adapted for disabled people, which was not that convenient for able bodied people, with a shower only. Naturally, we have no issue with a hotel providing facilities for the disabled, but they should ask able bodied guests if they are willing to accept such a room. The room was poorly planned, with the double bed against a wall, making it difficult for one person to get out of the bed. The staff on reception and the bar were pleasant, but not always to be readily found, and there was no bell to summon them with .As we had this problem, we decided not to try the breakfast offered, at a high price, and breakfasts are readily available in the surrounding area at a much lower price. The air conditioning in the bedroom did not cool the room sufficiently for a good night's sleep, and we were unable to open any of the windows.The room was clean and pleasant, but the room cleaning service was somewhat erratic, and depends on who attends to your room. Some basic things are missing such as drinking glasses, face flannels, lighting over the mirror in the bathroom and a shaver socket (this is meant to be a good hotel!). In London we would have expected there to be a fridge in the room, and a mini bar on request. Pricing was reasonable for South Kensington, but would be considered expensive elsewhere in the UK.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not specifically for the disabled, unless you are disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staff was friendly. Breakfast was reasonable. Area is great, tube across the street, many good restaurants, short walk to V&A museum and Hyde Park. Get a garden view room with a balcony for the best experience. Basement rooms are smaller and have no view.

Room Tip: Garden view room with balcony for the win.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveMcqueen777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online after your recent stay with us here at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service which you received from our team here and our breakfast!

Once again I would like to thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN The Cromwell again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Thomson-McLean
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Just arrived home from a great break in London.....made all the better by the stay at this delightful hotel.
The room was spotless and modern bathroom facilities with a nice warm shower and a daily linen change.
The staff I found very friendly and helpful....breakfast was very nice with a good variety to choose from.
The location was perfect,a short walk from tube station and a bus stop right at the front door.
The Cromwell Road and Gloucester Road had a great variety of bars and restaurants and a 10 minute walk took you onto the Kensington Road area which was much the same.
All in all a great break and we'll be returning to the Best Western Cromwell on our next London trip.

Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was my third stay at the Cromwell and I continue to be pleased with the value and quality offered here. As mentioned in previous reviews, the rooms tend to be on the small side with just the basics - two twin beds, one small desk, tiny closet, tea kit, functional bathroom. As usual, our room was clean and kept rather tidy during our stay which is of paramount importance. Additionally, the hotel staff is helpful when needed - I don't expect 5 star service here but everyone is polite and friendly addressing our requests.

The location is the prime reason for selecting this spot - just a block from the tube station on the Piccadilly and Circle lines leading to most of the popular shopping and tourist attractions in London in about fifteen to twenty minutes. Also an easy commute to and from Heathrow Airport from here. Is it perfect? No, but for the price it would be difficult to find a hotel in central London of similar quality. I'll continue to patronize this location mainly for it's convenience to everything I want to see and do.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are larger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Good Afternoon,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review online after your recent stay with us at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell. I am very pleased to read that you have continually chosen to return and stay with us!

I am very pleased that you always enjoy your time with us. We do like to pride ourselves on the high levels of housekeeping that we demand here and it is with pleasure to see that you are aware of this.

It is also wonderful to see that my team are helpful and that they are always able to assist you during your time with us.

Once again I would like to thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN The Cromwell again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Thomson-McLean
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The front desk staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to help us have a comfortable stay. The room was very tiny with two single beds but clean and comfortable. The location was excellent - right near the Gloucester tube station, Kensington gardens, restaurants, about 20 minute walk to Harrods and near a beautiful neighborhood we walked through. The included breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dragonfly1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander T, General Manager at Best Western The Cromwell, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Good Afternoon,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review online after your recent stay with us here at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. I am also very happy to see that my team have been able to assist you during your time with us.

I am also very happy that you enjoyed your breakfast! We certainly do try to make sure all our guests have a good breakfast to start their day in London.

Once again I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN The Cromwell again soon.

Kind Regards

Alexander Thomson-McLean
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#350 of 1,076 in London
2,175 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#427 of 1,076 in London
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#508 of 1,076 in London
1,052 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Cromwell

Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #636 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £88 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing