We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Ranked #623 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived, having booked a 1pm check in to know that our room wasn't ready. They changed the room, we were tokd to a better room as its obe of few that has a balcony! I can easily say the toilet, balcony and location are the only good things.
Yes rooms are small but that's expected in London.
Bed was terrible, me and my husband suffered for 4 nights on a lumpy mattress. Pillows were cheap and bed linen was hard and rough.

No bottled water in rooms, no toilet amenities apart from soap and shower cap!! AC vent was by the door so all the cold air head out while we slept in heat!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amineh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

The BW booking take your Money well ahead of your stay and let you pay for the interest. Against all comon practise. Leaving my luggage with the reception, but when receiving it against the recipts, one bag was forgotten by he hotel. And I missed it, this misstake costed me 400£, something I am expected to pay all by myself. Fair or not?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Leif L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked this hotel for birthday treat visit to London, we were very pleased with the reception we got on arrival, the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
The room we had was very clean and well presented, albeit a small room it had all we needed in it and everything worked, room was cleaned and restocked each day.
Hotel has a small lift and a breakfast room in the basement with an all you can eat buffet bar , you have to wait to be seated as it is quite small but that did not present a problem for us.
There is a bus stop at the door, Waitrose store and mall across the road and at the end of the mall is the tube station, all very convenient , the desk staff will also call a cab if needed.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate about returning.
Thank you to the staff for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a patio they are available and overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I found the hotel to be quite basic and therefore can only assume that it gets its rating due to location. Room was quite small and I would class this as a budget hotel rather than high end. We had to queue for around 15 minutes for breakfast as not enough tables. Fine for a basic hotel but dont expect to much

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

So excited to write this review. Everything you read about location of this hotel is true - absolutely perfect. So easy to get anywhere you want or need to go. Air con, WiFi, beds all great. Shower looked great but unfortunately rain shower head was clogged and too high up to fix so water spraying randomly. Luckily the held attachment was a good alternative.

Most important to our one week visit, though, were the staff. Every single person from room attendants to the maintenance men working in a crawl space were always friendly, smiling and helpful. Deserving of very special mention is AGNES on Reception. Due to an unfortunate error (not the Hotel's) when we checked in, we had to ask for her help. She stayed on the case, kept us informed and did not stop trying to fix things for us until she came up with an amazing alternative. This made all the difference between a joyful reunion between two old friends and what would otherwise have been a difficult and disappointing stay. Thank you!! We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms are small so worth asking for something larger if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

First and foremost, this hotel is centrally located in the best district in London. You are close to everything and can even take public transit quickly to anywhere else around the city. With that being said, it is also in one of the most expensive parts of the city. I clearly chose this for its location.

It is one of the cheaper hotels in its area, but that does not mean they skimp on anything. The breakfast is great for starting the day and the service is fantastic. Whenever I had to ask for directions or help, they always waited to make sure I had everything I needed and even took me outside to point at things that helped me find my way.

If you want the best location in London this is it. If you want something with ample room to move around in the bedroom, this is not it. Moving around with our luggage was a hassle, but when you are in London are you there to stay in your room or are you going to be out on the town? We through it on the bed, moved around it and placed it in the closet. Other hotels I would have just left it on the floor. Did I lose that much time or effort in doing this? Absolutely not. Just know to expect it when you stay here.

Ask for a balcony room on the first floor. The balcony is about the size of the room and is a great place to wake up to wrap up the nights events.

I would highly recommend this unless you are looking to spend nearly double at a more plush place.

Room Tip: Get the balcony, it truly helps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Tiny room with hardly any room to get around bed. Batroom has 12 inchec between sink and shower!!!!
Air con not working until last night - then leaking into ceiling lights and onto floor!

Smallest breakfast room ever with 20-30 mins wait to be seated (only two very harrassed staff members. Wifi good when it works but keeps dropping.

Dreadful.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel - it's not cheap and it's very cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London Kensington Forum
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#334 of 1,077 in London
2,268 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#432 of 1,077 in London
836 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#143 of 1,077 in London
936 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#665 of 1,077 in London
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Styles London Gloucester Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Styles London Gloucester Road

Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4ES, England (Formerly Best Western The Cromwell)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #623 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £76 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Styles London Gloucester Road 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Styles London Gloucester Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing