We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not honest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Cromwell
Ranked #623 of 1,068 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not honest”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The BW booking take your Money well ahead of your stay and let you pay for the interest. Against all comon practise. Leaving my luggage with the reception, but when receiving it against the recipts, one bag was forgotten by he hotel. And I missed it, this misstake costed me 400£, something I am expected to pay all by myself. Fair or not?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Leif L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    548
    285
    145
    78
See reviews for
170
614
86
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked this hotel for birthday treat visit to London, we were very pleased with the reception we got on arrival, the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
The room we had was very clean and well presented, albeit a small room it had all we needed in it and everything worked, room was cleaned and restocked each day.
Hotel has a small lift and a breakfast room in the basement with an all you can eat buffet bar , you have to wait to be seated as it is quite small but that did not present a problem for us.
There is a bus stop at the door, Waitrose store and mall across the road and at the end of the mall is the tube station, all very convenient , the desk staff will also call a cab if needed.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate about returning.
Thank you to the staff for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a patio they are available and overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I found the hotel to be quite basic and therefore can only assume that it gets its rating due to location. Room was quite small and I would class this as a budget hotel rather than high end. We had to queue for around 15 minutes for breakfast as not enough tables. Fine for a basic hotel but dont expect to much

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

So excited to write this review. Everything you read about location of this hotel is true - absolutely perfect. So easy to get anywhere you want or need to go. Air con, WiFi, beds all great. Shower looked great but unfortunately rain shower head was clogged and too high up to fix so water spraying randomly. Luckily the held attachment was a good alternative.

Most important to our one week visit, though, were the staff. Every single person from room attendants to the maintenance men working in a crawl space were always friendly, smiling and helpful. Deserving of very special mention is AGNES on Reception. Due to an unfortunate error (not the Hotel's) when we checked in, we had to ask for her help. She stayed on the case, kept us informed and did not stop trying to fix things for us until she came up with an amazing alternative. This made all the difference between a joyful reunion between two old friends and what would otherwise have been a difficult and disappointing stay. Thank you!! We'll be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms are small so worth asking for something larger if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

First and foremost, this hotel is centrally located in the best district in London. You are close to everything and can even take public transit quickly to anywhere else around the city. With that being said, it is also in one of the most expensive parts of the city. I clearly chose this for its location.

It is one of the cheaper hotels in its area, but that does not mean they skimp on anything. The breakfast is great for starting the day and the service is fantastic. Whenever I had to ask for directions or help, they always waited to make sure I had everything I needed and even took me outside to point at things that helped me find my way.

If you want the best location in London this is it. If you want something with ample room to move around in the bedroom, this is not it. Moving around with our luggage was a hassle, but when you are in London are you there to stay in your room or are you going to be out on the town? We through it on the bed, moved around it and placed it in the closet. Other hotels I would have just left it on the floor. Did I lose that much time or effort in doing this? Absolutely not. Just know to expect it when you stay here.

Ask for a balcony room on the first floor. The balcony is about the size of the room and is a great place to wake up to wrap up the nights events.

I would highly recommend this unless you are looking to spend nearly double at a more plush place.

Room Tip: Get the balcony, it truly helps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Tiny room with hardly any room to get around bed. Batroom has 12 inchec between sink and shower!!!!
Air con not working until last night - then leaking into ceiling lights and onto floor!

Smallest breakfast room ever with 20-30 mins wait to be seated (only two very harrassed staff members. Wifi good when it works but keeps dropping.

Dreadful.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel - it's not cheap and it's very cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Whether you are happy with your stay will depend very much on which room you have.

We had a twin room on the top floor facing the busy Cromwell Road.

The location of the hotel is superb, directly opposite Gloucester Road tube station, a short walk away from Hyde Park and the museums and opposite supermarkets and many places to eat.

The lift only goes up to the fourth floor so beware of the fifth floor if you struggle with the stairs. This wasn't an issue for us.

Reception was friendly if a little chaotic as they were training new staff.

The room size was fine and the bathroom newly refurbished therefore modern in style but five things let it down:
1. the noise from the traffic was very loud and there is no let up at night time.
2. on seeing that our curtain was flapping, I decided to check if the window was closed. I found that the handle of the window wasn't actually attached to the window at all - just sitting there - so this probably contributed to the noise as the window wasn't fully shut
3. being under the eaves, my daughter hit her head every time she got out of bed because the slope of the roof was immediately alongside the bed. There was a "please mind your head" sign but this is useless in the dark.
4. the mattresses, pillows and duvets were hard and not comfortable
5. the aircon was efficient, for which we were grateful, but there wasn't a setting to adjust fan speed so it was very noisy. On the plus side, you could use the aircon noise to drown out the traffic noise; it's just a choice as to which is worse!

We didn't have the breakfast as £12.50 for continental that we were offered (strange because we see cooked breakfasts in the photos) because that seems very expensive but there are many cafes nearby.

It comes down to location and price in the end. We paid £140 for two people and the location, near the Albert Hall, suited us well. Had we had a quieter room at the back of the building we would have been much more satisfied.

I would probably stay here again for the location v price alone.

Wifi incidentally was free but slow.

Room Tip: Please try and get the quieter back of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehzoyzdcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#350 of 1,068 in London
2,064 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Best Western The Boltons
Best Western The Boltons
#511 of 1,068 in London
1,016 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#395 of 1,068 in London
778 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#660 of 1,068 in London
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Cromwell

Property: Best Western The Cromwell
Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, London SW7 4ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #623 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing