We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Grand London Kensington
Ranked #107 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stay in London one night each week on business and try to find the best hotel I can in the range £100 to £150 per night. My first stay in a new hotel I write a Tripadvisor review which I try to make balanced and helpful. Often I stay at the same hotels again and again. This one I will not!

The only positive is that the room was newly decorated. All other parts of the experience were universally negative. Room up and down stairs next to kitchen on ground floor. No chair in room. No visible bar area or lounge other than the breakfast room. Seedy location in the nasty part of Earls Court. Not really the 4 star hotel it claims to be.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank medocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASehgal, Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed to hear about your experience with regards to your stay at Park Grand London Kensington.

May i kindly request you to please contact me on deepak@shaftesburyhotels.com in order to resolve the issue you experienced & provide you with an amicable solution in all aspects.

Kindly be assured that we always aim to ensure that all our valued clients are well looked after & we wish to see off all our guests with a smile on their face.

Thank you for your time & we look forward to hear from you.

Warm Regards
Deepak Panicker
House Manager
Park Grand London Kensington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,101 - 2,107 of 2,657 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst in London. The hotel was adequate but nothing special. The postives were: the room was spacious, air con worked, was quiet, big tv, clean. The main negative was that the service was sub-standard. Particularly during the check-in process, the person I was dealing with was rather unpleasant and really not at all welcoming. Check-out was a bit better. Overall, the hotel is decent value for money and I would stay there again if I didn't have a better option. The area is ok, and if you are going to events in the area, would probably make it ideal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASehgal, Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed to hear about your experience with regards to your stay at Park Grand London Kensington.

May i kindly request you to please contact me on deepak@shaftesburyhotels.com in order to find the root cause of the inconvenience caused to you & we shall aim to resolve the issue & provide you with an amicable solution in all aspects.

Kindly be assured that we always aim to ensure that all our valued clients are well looked after & we wish to see off all our guests with a smile on their face.

Thank you for your time & we look forward to hear from you.

Warm Regards
Deepak Panicker
House Manager
Park Grand London Kensington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Fantastic! - I have stayed in hotels in many different countries and dozens in the UK alone and The Park Grand is certainly much more than most - OK, as you walk from Earls Court you could think umm, this doesn't look 4* but past the renovations of the building next door you are greeted with the hotel and inviting marble steps - two steps up and already the concierge is opening the door and offering you a welcome hand with your luggage - once inside the friendly multi-lingual and nationalities make speedy work of making your reservation into reality - paperwork done keycard in hand and its in the lift with a friendly staff member who I have to say knew his onions! inside the room he showed how everything worked where everything was and left you to put your feet up on the very large comfortable bed and watch the flat screen HD TV - just Fantastic - ohh final day we checked out and walked to Kensington Palace past the Natural History Museum and The Albert Hall - this is all while The Park Grand looked after our luggage in their safe storage areas - simple and brilliant - back to collect much later and nip on the underground or overground to an exit point from the Capital - Thank you Park Grand and all staff you're a credit to the Shaftsbury Hotel Group

Room Tip: Our room was on 1st floor and at front ........... slept like a log - in fact slept in on day two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASehgal, Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are pleased to read your review and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Park Grand London Kensington.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.

Please let me know whenever you decide to visit London next time in the near future in order to ensure that your stay is comfortable & satisfactory in all respects.

We will be eagerly looking forward to welcome you soon in the near future.

Warm Regards
Deepak Panicker
House Manager
Park Grand London Kensington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent service with all staff pleasant and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable and very pleasing decor. We visited Hammersmith Appollo and Ideal Home Exibition and hotel in very good location for both venues will definitely use again when next we visit London.

Room Tip: We stayed on second floor only noise we heard were other guests slamming doors which is no fault of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASehgal, Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are pleased to read your review and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Park Grand London Kensington.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.

Please let me know whenever you decide to visit London next time in the near future in order to ensure that your stay is comfortable & satisfactory in all respects.

We will be eagerly looking forward to welcome you soon in the near future.

Warm Regards
Deepak Panicker
House Manager
Park Grand London Kensington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

On arrival I was given free upgrade to their club room. Had everything you need including a microwave! The room was very big, tv good and bathroom amazing -walk in shower. The room was very quiet, no street noise. Would definitely recommend. Hope to visit again if I can get a decent rate but probably spoiled by free upgrade!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASehgal, Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are pleased to read your review and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Park Grand London Kensington.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.

Please let me know whenever you decide to visit London next time in the near future in order to ensure that your stay is comfortable & satisfactory in all respects.

We will be eagerly looking forward to welcome you soon in the near future.

Warm Regards
Deepak Panicker
House Manager
Park Grand London Kensington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We wanted to spend a week in London to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary. After trawling through endless London Hotels for one that ticked all the boxes we eventually found the Park Grand, we were not disappointed, a lovely welcome greeted us, friendly and obliging doormen, and very helpful girls on the reception desk, we were shown to a lovely room, with complimentary chocolates, a bottle of wine and a bowl of fruit. Throughout our 7nights stay the room was kept beautifully clean and all the complimentary toiletries were replenished each day. The breakfast was a real gourmet treat, something for everyone, hot food, cold food, fruit, smoked salmon, ham, cheeses, wonderful selection of bread, and an array of different fruit juices, the dining room was lovely as were all the waitresses, nothing was ever too much trouble. We had a memorable Anniversary, we shall certainly look forward to a return visit in the near future.

Room Tip: we always go by the reviews of other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASehgal, Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are pleased to read your review and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Park Grand London Kensington.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.

We are grateful to have you with us at Park Grand London Kensington so that we could get a chance to serve you & spoil you on your Golden Wedding Anniversary celebrations.

Please let me know whenever you decide to visit London next time in the near future in order to ensure that your stay is comfortable & satisfactory in all respects.

We will be eagerly looking forward to welcome you soon in the near future.

Warm Regards
Deepak Panicker
House Manager
Park Grand London Kensington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have been staying at this hotel over several years, and have always found it to be comfortable, pleasant and convenient. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are well-provided, and the location close to a major central underground station with direct line to Heathrow Airport makes it a good choice as a base to visit London both on business and for pleasure.

Room Tip: I am sorry, I do not want to reveal tis information as it might impact my getting one of my favourit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASehgal, Manager at Park Grand London Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are pleased to read your review and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Park Grand London Kensington.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.

Please let me know whenever you decide to visit London next time in the near future in order to ensure that your stay is comfortable & satisfactory in all respects.

We will be eagerly looking forward to welcome you soon in the near future.

Warm Regards
Deepak Panicker
House Manager
Park Grand London Kensington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,848 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,077 in London
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Grand London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Kensington

Address: 33-37 Hogarth Road | Kensington, London SW5 0QQ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Grand London Kensington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in London
#110 Business Hotel in London
#158 Romantic Hotel in London
#228 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £93 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Park Grand London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Shaftsbury London Kensington Hotel London
Shaftesbury Kensington Hotel London
Shaftesbury Kensington London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing