We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Shame About The Noise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sydney House Chelsea
Ranked #163 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Shame About The Noise!”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Stayed in this hotel recently for 2 nights and really loved the hotel - lovely friendly staff, beautiful deisign/interior/furnishings, amazingly comfortable beds with great linen, exceptional cleanliness, free internet, fantastic location.

Was allocated a room on the 3rd floor facing the back area therefore no street noise at all. Room was small but have stayed in smaller rooms in London hotels. Very clean room and bathroom.

However, the only down side which I am very sorry to have to comment on is the noise between the rooms - could hear ALL activities going on in the room above, as well as talking/sneezing/coughing, etc of guests in rooms next door. When people are in the corridor talking it seems as though the room door is open. This is a real shame as other than this the hotel is perfect!

If the possible interuptions at night are not a concern to you then I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    139
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
57
186
50
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Pros: The location is great. 5 minutes from South Kensington Tube station. Lovely area in Kensington-Chelsea. Friendly, helpful but non-intrusive staff. No teamaking facilities but they offered to put a kettle in my room for hot water. Very clean. Very comfortable bed and linen. Home-like sitting room at lobby, with travel books and restuarant guides. Really feels at home. Free Wi-fi.
Room very small but for a solo traveler who likes to feel cosy, it is just fine.
It is a bit overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, not facing Sydney St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

My friend and I stayed here for a quick 2 nights, left to Paris and then came back for 3 nights. The staff was very helpful throughout, and kept our bags while we were away. The room was comfortable, albeit a touch tight for 2 girls and all of their "stuff". the bathroom was clean and the shower was heavenly after a full day out and about. Would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_heart_Paris_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We use to come on this lovely hotel.it is close to everything:tube station,Weitrose ,Waitrose,Patara My beloved Butler&Wilson.Chelsea is the most beautiful aerea of London.amazing breakfast and friendly staff.kids are welcome.the white company toiletries.wooden floor....go there you will be satisfied!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyvalery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

The service was outstanding and very friendly. No request was ever too much trouble. The room was small but very comfortable. My wife and I visited London for the first time and Chelsea House was an excellent base to explore London from, centrally located and easy access to all the major tourist attractions. Many good quality restaurants within walking distance. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirkEksteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The hotel's location was perfect for our plans and really enhanced the short time we were able to spend in London. We really appreciated the upgrade, - and the quality of room, food and service was memorable. The atmosphere is very special and the warmth, friendliness and personal approach we experienced without exception is a real credit to everyone at the hotel and very unusual to experience in a London hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

It was one of those rooms you have to step outside to change your mind but it was comfortable and well appointed. The location was fairly close to Kings Road which we were looking for.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#514 of 1,068 in London
604 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#92 of 1,068 in London
786 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#29 of 1,068 in London
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#547 of 1,068 in London
163 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#147 of 1,068 in London
849 reviews
Chelsea
The Franklin
The Franklin
#559 of 1,068 in London
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House Chelsea

Property: Sydney House Chelsea
Address: 9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#131 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Luxury Hotel in London
#168 Business Hotel in London
#298 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney House Chelsea 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A discreet, Georgian townhouse located just off the Kings Road, Sydney House Chelsea offers understated, contemporary style in a vibrant neighbourhood. Its intimate atmosphere, typical of a bijou Chelsea pied-à-terre, is finished with a fresh, bright and modern aesthetic, and the hotel is favoured by many as an invaluable London bolt hole. Built in 1829 as two townhouses, the Grade II listed buildings were converted from private residences into a hotel in the 1980’s. As the tallest building on the street, taking prominence over its neighbours, it was named Sydney House. Andrew and Christina Brownsword bought Sydney House Chelsea in 2001. It became the second hotel in their collection, seven years after the purchase of The Bath Priory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sydney House Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney House Hotel London
Sydney Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing