We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal hotel for Kensington/Knightsbridge area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sydney House
Ranked #230 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel for Kensington/Knightsbridge area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed there because we needed to get to an appointment early the following morning, in a nearby location. The accommodation was booked on the Saturday and we arrived on the Sunday evening. The room was beautifully decorated with a comfortable bed, and a modern stylish en-suite bathroom.
The hotel provided a Freeview tv which also had facilities to watch your own dvd if you so wished. Free wifi was available to guests, and a helpful and friendly staff welcomed us.
Although there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, the hotel would provide drinks on request at cost. I would certainly stay there again. It is located about five minutes walk from South Kensington tube station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leatherhead_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are very happy you found the hotel enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sydney House.

Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    134
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
178
46
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Me and my partner stayed here on New Year's Eve, nicest hotel I've stayed in! It was clean, modern, and amazing value.. Since we decided at 1pm on New Year's Eve we were going to London we were so happy with the price :) the area is beautiful and I would stay here every time I'm in London, thank you!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amamamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Sydney House Chelsea.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

With kind regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed only one night but that was enough to get me hooked! This small, excellently located hotel offers all one would want/need while shopping, sightseeing, going to a play/opera! The rooms are small but clean, new, with wifi! The staff could not be friendlier. The breakfast choices are sufficient, delicious and such a value. I paid for a very generous 'continental breakfast' one/fifth..yes 20% of what I paid X years ago at Claridge's.. Yes, one of the reasons that I now find myself trying smaller, less expensive but clean, very functional hotels, with personable and helpful staff! I was impressed to find the Mgr working right along the others on a Saturday morning. A great way to motivate the team!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1954WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to Sydney House Chelsea in the near future.

Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

I loved staying at Sydney House Chelsea. Obviously one cannot compare it to any 5 star hotel but at the end of the day, it made me feel like I was going home to my own bedroom. The hotel is located in a quiet and quite posh neighborhood that is a 5 minute walk from South Kensington tube station and King's Road. The staff was very polite, friendly and accommodating. I am not sure though about the size of the other rooms. I was fortunate enough to stay in a room that faced the street. And for some reason, I made a mistake getting a double room all for myself.


I would stay in Sydney House again should I have another opportunity to visit London again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Booked this on recomendation from a friend who rated it
For the location its great near to the cheksea Kensington gnightsbridege areas bus route access is good tube near
Rooms are small but will specified modern clean
Vi spring beds are great
Staff polite and helpful
Common areas not large at all it is a small boutique hotel but there an infinite number of acolytes around
I will return

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Sydney House Chelsea in the near future.

Best regards,

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

The first thing you need to know is that the location is perfect - between the Kings Road and Fulham Road, 5 mins walk from South Kensington Tube, 10 minutes walk from Knightsbridge, and well surrounded with restaurants. It is 2 converted town houses, so is tall and thin, and features the worlds smallest lift (2 people only if you are related, or 1 person and 1 case)
The rooms are similarly small, so are the bathrooms, but the money has wisely been spent on the beds and bedding.
It seems to be run by 3 or 4 friendly and helpful young eastern europeans, (that's all we saw in 2 days) and the facilities are basic, with a breakfast room in the basement, but the service was good. My only grumble would be the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but if that is not important to you then this hotel is definitely worth considering.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor - weird noises coming from the air-con plant above sounded like planes taking of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

The Sydney House is a town house hotel and the size of bedrooms does not allow for a tea/coffee facilities. However, we are more than happy to oblige to a request and provide kettle, cups, tea/coffee and milk. Please do not hesitate to approach a member of staff on your next visit.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Sydney House Chelsea again.

With kind regards,

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed 1 night. Location is convenient for South Kensington / Chelsea. Although room (14) wasn't big, it was more than sufficient, being very comfortable & well furnished with quality bedding. It was at the back of the hotel so was very quiet.

Bathroom modern & pleasant though small - personally I would have preferred a "walk in shower" arrangement rather than bath.

Reception staff was very friendly & helpful providing pleasant service.

Got a good "last minute" deal on rate so cost reasonable. Published "rack" rate would be far too high.

Didn't have breakfast in hotel so unable to comment.

Would certainly stay again if needed hotel in that part of London.

Room Tip: Had room 14 at back of hotel - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Cliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Sydney House Chelsea in the near future.

Best regards,

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#439 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#102 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#27 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#509 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#161 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Belgravia
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#172 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Property: Sydney House
Address: 9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#131 Romantic Hotel in London
#168 Business Hotel in London
#173 Luxury Hotel in London
#298 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney House 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney House is a contemporary townhouse hotel, only a few minutes walk from King‘s road and Knightsbridge.Sitting in a quiet Chelsea street, the capital’s most fashionable shops and restaurants are on its doorstep.Sydney House is conveniently located for Westminster and the City of London. It has direct road and rail links for London’s’ airport and Eurostar terminals.Behind the exterior of a listed Georgian building, lies a 21st Century hotel. Each of the 21 bedrooms is dedicated to comfort, air conditioned throughout, goose down quilts and sleek, glass bathrooms. Individually designed, all rooms have discreet technology. DVDs, flat screen TVs, and WIFI are provided. Sydney house has a fully equipped boardroom, available for smaller meetings/receptions. 24-hour room service and “a la carte” breakfast make Sydney House Chelsea, a “Private home in the City”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney House Hotel London
Sydney Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing