We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Chelsea”
Review of Sydney House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sydney House
Ranked #219 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Chelsea”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Booked this hotel to stay for it's location, as this used to be my old stomping ground when I first lived in London, with my oldest school friend. This was far better then the photographs I viewed on the booking site. When I arrived my friend was already on the roof terrace, sitting in the sun & sipping chilled Sauvignon Blanc. The terrace had fantastic views towards the 'Brompton Oratory' and beyond. It didn't matter that the hotel did not have an in-house restaurant as it's situated in the centre of some fantastic restaurants. One of the things that really struck me was just how helpful and smiley the hotel staff were. I would highly recommend this as a fantastic London bolt-hole.

Room Tip: The room at the top of the hotel which has the roof terrace, is by far the best room in this small b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be so helpful and smiley.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

The Sydney House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    137
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
57
183
49
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I stayed at Sydney House in London and found it to offer very good value for money. It offers limited services in terms of dining (and does not have a gym), but if you are looking for a well located hotel, pleasantly decorated, with professional staff, Sydney House ticks the boxes.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGuruMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Sydney House Chelsea.
Unfortunately we do not have restaurant and gym facilities. However, we offer 24 hours room service and we are located only a few minutes walk from great restaurants and the closest gym.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

With kind regards,

The Sydney House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here a couple of nights. I wouldn't say it's a boutique hotel but definitely nice. Rooms are VERY small also for European standards with VERY small bathroom. Everything is clean and people are friendly. 10 min walk to Kensington South Tube station. Convenient but not super close. It's a beautiful area though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pistache1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to reflect on your recent stay at the Sydney House Chelsea. We are pleased that your stay was comfortable and you were happy with the reception and hospitality you received from our staff.
Our hotel is situated in two residential buildings and those are characteristic and reflective of the area of Chelsea and Kensington. All are equipped with very comfortable double or king size beds.
We will be more than glad to take you on the tour of the building on your next visit.

With kind regards,

V. Mandic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel due to proximity to Royal Marsden Hospital. The deluxe room was ok with a little space to move around. Bathroom was nice and modern. The elevator was unbelievably small - big enough for 1 adult to fit at a time! Staff were friendly and accommodating. The rate was clearly for the location only - GBP200+ per night for a single on room only!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at the Sydney House. We are pleased that you were happy with the accommodation and service. We are a Chelsea townhouse and despite the residential character of the property we feature all double or king size bedrooms.
Our pricing structure very much reflects the quality of the establishment, amenities and services we offer and it is also determined by its position and seasonal demands. We hope you will visit us again soon.


Many thanks for your thoughts and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

V. Mandic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very comfortable hotel with customer focused staff and good location, although it is the most compact hotel I have ever stayed in. The tiny room was stylish, extremely comfortable and spotless.
No tea/coffee making facility in the room, so a drink on waking was extra plus a further charge for room service! Breakfast was extra, plus further charge for each drink of coffee/tea (which I felt was a bit OTT) making it in all an expensive but basic extra! The standard of the breakfast was
however excellent.

Despite the rather claustrophobic feel of the hotel and the extras, the overall excellent service, good location, charm, stylish and comfortable rooms, I would stay here again and the staff are a real credit to this little hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bensonbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. It is a great pleasure to learn that your stay at the hotel was comfortable with satisfactory service and welcoming staff. Sydney House Chelsea is a townhouse hotel and the feel and the ambiance is that of a residential building. We pride ourselves on the quality of our offerings and produce we use and I am glad you found our breakfast to be excellent.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sydney House and please do not hesitate to contact us should you have a particular requirement.
Kind regards

V. Mandic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our room was clean and comfortable and very nice. The elevator is tiny and the lobby is the same but we had a good breakfast ( not included) and found the staff very friendly. Lots of good restaurants nearby but PJ's at the end of the street was a top notch find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bayard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sydney House Chelsea for your recent stay and for writing such a lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Sydney House Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

i booked Sydney House for a trip to London via Londontown. such a great little gem in Chelsea. Welcoming staff, great location. unfortunately i didn't have the time to enjoy the breakfast due to work commitments and i did get up a little later then planned. will us again next time i am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Office Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. We were all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully, next time you will find a moment to try our breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

Sydney House Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#506 of 1,067 in London
596 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#78 of 1,067 in London
776 reviews
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#529 of 1,067 in London
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#29 of 1,067 in London
644 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#150 of 1,067 in London
845 reviews
Chelsea
The Franklin
The Franklin
#572 of 1,067 in London
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney House

Property: Sydney House
Address: 9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#131 Romantic Hotel in London
#165 Luxury Hotel in London
#168 Business Hotel in London
#298 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney House 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney House is a contemporary townhouse hotel, only a few minutes walk from King‘s road and Knightsbridge.Sitting in a quiet Chelsea street, the capital’s most fashionable shops and restaurants are on its doorstep.Sydney House is conveniently located for Westminster and the City of London. It has direct road and rail links for London’s’ airport and Eurostar terminals.Behind the exterior of a listed Georgian building, lies a 21st Century hotel. Each of the 21 bedrooms is dedicated to comfort, air conditioned throughout, goose down quilts and sleek, glass bathrooms. Individually designed, all rooms have discreet technology. DVDs, flat screen TVs, and WIFI are provided. Sydney house has a fully equipped boardroom, available for smaller meetings/receptions. 24-hour room service and “a la carte” breakfast make Sydney House Chelsea, a “Private home in the City”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney House Hotel London
Sydney Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing