We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pelham hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Ranked #158 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

always a pleasure to stay at the pelham as the staff are very helpful and always polite. the rooms are all different and are all lovely, there are a few that are quite small and can be a bit of a challenge if you have ordered room service
the location couldn't be better, very easy to get almost anywhere as it is a central location and right across from the so. kensington tube stop

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Meryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

We loved the style combined with a fabulous location. Jamie, concierge extraordinaire, helped us plan the perfect holiday in London, and all the staff were professional and helpful. Our feature room was beautiful!


  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I've been staying at the Pelham Hotel every year for 21 years and thought it was time for me to share my experiences at this hotel with other travellers.

I visit twice a year and love each and every one of my stays here. Why? Because this wonderful boutique hotel makes me feel like I am staying at my home away from home. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly in every section of the hotel, from the people who operate behind the reception desk, to the people who service your room. They are all professional and friendly.

The rooms are all appointed to a very high standard and the beds are also extremely comfortable.
One small thing to note is that some rooms on the lower floors may experience noise from people walking on the floorboards above. Best to select a room on the 4th (top) floor if this is a problem for you.

Every person over the past 21 years who has filled the head Concierge role has been outstanding, as has been their team. The current head Concierge is no exception and is one of the best. Jamie and his staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and to help you with any needs or wants you might have.

I have never in all my years staying at the Pelham, had any reason to complain about any staff members service or attitude. Sure, sometimes something small does goes wrong and whatever it was on the odd occasion that may have been problematic, it was fixed before it actually could become a real problem.

Also, in addition to the above, the location of the hotel is brilliant. It is right across the road from the South Kensington tube station. This station has three lines going through it, the Circle, District and the Piccadilly lines. This means that you can get to most parts of London and it's major tourist attractions with minimal if any tube line changes. The area around the tube station underwent a very extensive upgrade about 12 - 18 months ago in time for the Olympics. There are also many excellent cafes and places to eat within a few minutes walk from the hotel. You are also literally 2 minutes away from The Natural History and the Victoria & Albert Museums and about 10 minutes walk from Harrods.

Over the past 7 years my partner has been able to join me on my business trips to London. She loves staying at the hotel as much as I do for all the above reasons. My partner also says how great our stay has been after each visit and how comfortable and welcomed she is made to feel by the staff.

My partner and I do a lot of travel together, both for work and pleasure and we have stayed at many lovely hotels around the world. The Pelham, as a small, luxury hotel is unquestionably one of the best. That's why we keep coming back and we will be in about 5 weeks time.

Room Tip: Some rooms may experience noise from people walking on the floorboards above. Best to select a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOSH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was my second trip to The Pelham Hotel, and as echoed by others its in a very good location. Lovely to stroll along to the Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park. I booked a Superior Room, just one category below the top suite rooms. The layout and functionality of the room was excellent, very comfortable large bed (two 4ft single mattresses) with a table for paper work and a dressing table also, very well thought through. The view from the room which was located on the fourth floor was towards the London Eye which was a treat. The minor (depending upon your view) downside to the room was that fact that the underground was adjacent so you could hear the rumblings when the tubes were running, this may or may not bother some guests.

The welcome from the hotel concierge and service was very good, especially the night time concierge, a wonderful welcome when you arrived back to the hotel after a long day.

The one disappointing aspect of this stay was the service in the hotel restaurant, we had breakfast on two mornings and an afternoon tea and cake on arrival. The breakfast service was slow, inattentive and frustrating. It took an awfully long time for the tea and toast to arrive and minor things like the cooked breakfast arriving and then not being able to locate a waiter to request sauces. Cup and saucer not being on the table then when the tea finally arrived. No butter on the table. It genuinely felt like the staff had not been trained and that there were not enough staff to run a restaurant of this size. It is frustrating when you are in a restaurant and there are no staff and you can't even ring a bell to call for someone to help.

One day we requested a jug of water - again this took an age to arrive and we were not offered the option of food or snacks or further drinks, we would willingly have paid for this, in the end we decided to go out for a snack.

On check out I did raise the issues as I wanted to offer the feedback as I have always loved The Pelham but this dining/breakfast aspect was disappointing. In fairness the receptionist listened and offered to take the breakfast charge off which was a surprise but very welcome and I appreciated the fact that she had taken my comments seriously. So well handled from a customer service perspective.

I'm sure the hotel will be addressing this issue as I over heard other guests reporting issues to the concierge whilst I was checking out, so please do not let this put you off visiting.

Room Tip: I would always book a luxury or a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just adored this boutique very English hotel.
From the minute we got there the staff were fantastic. At the end of the day the hotel can be luxurious but your stay is only brilliant if the staff are genuinely wonderful.
Our room was lovely-well appointed, although I do hate shower over the bath!!
The breakfast was very good- highly recommend.
The reception area, library and sitting room were like being in a private home. Guests are encouraged to help themselves at the honesty bar and just relax. A wonderful concept in such a busy city.
Location-wonderful, literally opposite the South Kensington Tube station. South Kensington area has had a transformation now with some nice restaurants and wine bar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 511sallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

All our needs and queries were dealt or answered quickly and all the staff were so welcoming and always greeted us with their nice and warm smiles. It felt like being at home, not to mentioned the location was superb!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CYH_Liang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Lovely place, clean rooms, friendly staff, excellent food, very convenient location, across the street from the underground station, walking distance to many attractions. Free Wi-fi is always a plus. Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Amal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#51 of 1,081 in London
3,574 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#31 of 1,081 in London
3,112 reviews
South Kensington
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#144 of 1,081 in London
915 reviews
South Kensington
The Bentley London
The Bentley London
#235 of 1,081 in London
842 reviews
South Kensington
Number Sixteen
Number Sixteen
#253 of 1,081 in London
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione

Address: 15 Cromwell Place, London SW7 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#96 Business Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
#199 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £166 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pelham is a unique, stylish boutique hotel in the very heart of South Kensington. Each and every room has been individually designed by Kit Kemp, blending the enchantment of English style with modern colours and flair, The Pelham has been described as one of London's finest townhouse hotels. Our guests have the privilege of exclusive use of the wood paneled drawing room and library both with open fireplaces, business centre as well as our 24-hour fitness room. Kensington is awash with boutiques, bars and bistros not to mention our La Trattoria by Alfredo Russo that brings traditional, homely and honest Italian food. The Chef Alfredo Russo brings his zestful, inquisitive approach to life with his cuisine based on traditional Italian recipes, with an easy and casual ambience. Our stylish Event Suites can be transformed from a corporate meeting area into a glamorous space for private dining, drinks receptions, baby showers and afternoon teas. Minutes from the Victoria & Albert and Natural History Museums, Harrods, Hyde Park and The Royal Albert Hall, The Pelham really is the perfect foundation for your sophisticated stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing