We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, reasonable service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Ranked #432 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, reasonable service”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here many times over the past few years. The location is excellent. Centrally located right on Grosvenor square.

Service is good, staff reasonably attentive. The rooms are usually good. I've had smallish rooms but also roomy suites. Rates not cheap but reasonable for London fir hotels of similar quality.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Istrian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    702
    329
    139
    94
See reviews for
333
602
87
533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at the Millennium Mayfair on a recent business trip to London. The main reason for the choice was that the hotel was close to the office. Although I had not stayed in such a posh part of London, I was generally happy with the location. After a overnight flight, I checked into the hotel exhausted after a turbulent flight that was not conducive to much needed sleep. The service at the front desk was efficient but not overly courteous.

Once I got off the elevator, the decor and the carpeting were more reminiscent of a hotel that you would visit for a conference and were a bit faded and dingy from years of use. The foreshadowing of the hallway was confirmed when I opened the door to my room. I was surprised to see a small room that even to my diminished mental accuity seemed anything but posh. I was immediately shocked by the mirrored sliding closet doors (I thought the only place to still find these was in suburban track homes). There also was a wooden "door" next to the closet, which when opened revealed pipes and mechanical service rather than some secret hiding place of poshness (no hidden gems or secret gardens here). The furniture was antique only in the sense that the finishes were worn and the outdated (think 1970s rather than 1600s). The only part of the room that appeared to be updated was the bathroom, and this update was done poorly. Gaps, uncovered nail holes and general lack of detail abounded even if the materials were nice in principle.

As the week went on and I began to look more closely at the room, I realized that almost every aspect of my room had some damage. The reproduction Chinese vase that formed the base of the lamp had a large crescent shape piece that was missing. Also each inspection of the furniture revealed some new blemish or lack of care.

One a positive note, the bedding was new and clean. At least the most used piece of furniture, the bed was in good shape and offered adequate comfort for my exhausted body at the end of each day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plepiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We also visited the Millenium with an Amazon Local voucher for afternoon tea.
We took our paper voucher and had no problems
The staff were all pleasant and courteous and the tea began with
a glass of champagne.
There was then quite a wait for the tea and food to arrive.
There is a selection of finger sandwiches, scones with clotted cream, jam and
lemon curd, pastries, Eton mess and creme brûlée.
Everything tasted acceptable but the tea was lukewarm
Further helpings of sandwiches were offered but still took ages to arrive
All in all not bad but have had better teas at other establishments and probably
would not return to the Millenium

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKScrabbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The Millenium Mayfair is my favourite hotel to stay in, when in London. This trip however was not as good previous stays. We normally book a club room - because of all the extras that come with it. However this time we booked a standard king sized room as we knew we would be spending very little time in the room.
This was a mistake as the room was shabby & hadnt been cleaned very well, (half used courtesy pencil on the floor by the bed & a hair band - so hadnt been vaccuumed),stains on the carpet, noisest shower in London. There was only one tea cup so had to call room service for another. Wifi was not included in the price - it was an additional £10!!
The location is fantastic & both hotel bars are good. The pianist in the Pine bar finished early on saturday night too.
It's still my favourite hotel in London, but next time i will make sure i book a Club room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bl0ndie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenTurner, Executive Assistant at Millennium Hotel London Mayfair, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at our Hotel.

We are terribly sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet both your expectations and our usual high standards of service and product, and we hope you will accept our sincere apologies for this. Your comments have been forwarded to our Executive Housekeeper and will be used for re-training purposes, since basic Housekeeping standards must be achieved throughout the Hotel, regardless of room type.

Do please contact us direct via: customerrelations.mayfair@millenniumhotels.co.uk when you have made a booking for your next stay and we will do our best to restore your faith in our abilities.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Millennium Mayfair again soon.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed here on the 21/5/14 with my husband who was on business. The Hotel is very nice with good service. Rooms are good and Breakfast was excellent.The location is great...a short walk to Oxford St and one of my favourite shops Selfridges where you can get a great Salt Beef Sandwich with a pickle at the Brass Rail in the Food Hall. There are restaurants everywhere and a lovely park opposite. We had a room overlooking an internal square or small car park and it was quiet. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenTurner, Executive Assistant at Millennium Hotel London Mayfair, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our Hotel.

We are delighted you and your husband enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for your favourite London haunts.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Millennium Mayfair again soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked afternoon tea on sunday1st of june for 10 people as works day out , booked as a 2-4-1 offer, staff and mamanagement greeted us on arrival and sat us at our perfectly laid table with beautiful wedgewood china. Prossecco was promptly served to us by extremely friendly staff where nothing was too much trouble. Then the most beautiful array of sandwiches and cakes were presented to us one word Wow !! Only to then be told when I had booked this, weeks earlier, the extremely nice manager explained we had not had the best offer so he honoured a previous offer !!! Working in customer sevice ourselves the whole experience really could not be faulted. Best afternoon tea by far.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank millyg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Millennium Mayfair is a classic old lady who may be fraying a little around the edges but for the location I would definitely return.
We stayed for six nights in a club room, which was huge. The most disappointing aspect of the room was the ugly view over the portico roof of the air conditioning units. I could've paid less and got a beautiful view of the park.
Breakfast in the club lounge was handy, but it was probably easy enough to grab a bite to eat from the shops nearby.
The location was simply the best, with an easy walk in any direction taking you to a place you would like to be.
The cocktail bar was very pleasant and a great place for a drink or two with friends.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Moretravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenTurner, Executive Assistant at Millennium Hotel London Mayfair, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for posting a review of your last stay at the Millennium Mayfair.

It was good to read that, overall, you enjoyed your stay, and found our location to be convenient for your needs. The layout of our building is such that, unfortunately, not all rooms have a view of the Grosvenor Square garden and of course, these are very popular. Ahead of any future visit, do please contact us via: customerrelations.mayfair@millenniumhotels.co.uk with your request and we will do our best to allocate you a room overlooking the square.

We are aware that the appearance of the hotel can, in some areas, appear a little tired and in need of updating. We are working hard to address these issues and are confident you will see an improvement on a future visit to the Hotel. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#478 of 1,067 in London
1,056 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#378 of 1,067 in London
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#574 of 1,067 in London
2,222 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#167 of 1,067 in London
1,644 reviews
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel London Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel London Mayfair

Property: Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Address: 44 Grosvenor Square | Mayfair, London W1K 2HP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#268 Family Hotel in London
#295 Luxury Hotel in London
#339 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Hotel London Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Georgian-style Hotel situated in city center, overlooking Grosvenor Square & adjacent to American Embassy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel London Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Mayfair London
Hotel Millennium Mayfair

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing