We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West End Birthday Trip!”
Review of Ascott Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascott Mayfair
Ranked #684 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great location close to Hyde Park and short walk or tube ride to West End shows. Spacious comfortable suite with all facilities you would expect of a 5* hotel. Fresh flowers a nice touch. Checked in early at no additional cost. Found staff courteous and helpful, and check in and out was a breeze. Shame we were only there for 1 night as would have made a great base for further sight seeing!

Room Tip: Higher floor the better as away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Although a fantastic location in one of the most beautiful areas of London, this hotel fell so far short of expectations that it wasn't funny. At almost $1000 US per night we were charged a full day extra to check in early as our flight arrived in the morning after a long haul trip from Australia. We arrived at close to 11am and was frustrated that it took almost an hour to check in and that as we hadn't arrived the night before, (they HAD been informed of this), our room wasn't ready for us. Once settled into our room, (with no assurance with luggage etc), we found that the suite, (although initially attractive), was very poorly finished. Of the almost endless list of things wrong with it the most annoying was 1/ washer/dryer didn't work, 2/fridge didn't work, 3/ heating didn't work, 4/ door handle to my daughter room was broken thus locking her in, 5/ taps in bathroom were broken 6/ microwave didnt work, 6/ tv was faulty 7/ safe didnt work etc etc. Of course we complained and were met with complete apathy from the reception staff. In the end, under sufferance, they said that they'd get someone to fix the problem. After returning from a day out, nothing had been fixed and in fact the reception staff had no idea if it had been even looked at. She just said.."you go up and tell me if it hasn't!" Later we were told that they wouldn't be able to get anything seen to til the next day. We requested that they at least see to getting our clothes washed which they did very reluctantly and although we gave them to them at 7pm they delivered, (tossed a bag of unfolded clothes at us), at 12:55am!!! The next day nothing was fixed again and we had to push them to put us in another suite...this was almost as bad. Under circumstances would I ever recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timbosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Arriving at The Ascott Mayfair, although in a great location, it was disappointing to find no air conditioning, with hot stuffy rooms, despite a 5 star rating. Even one of our toilets was Malfunctioning.The staff were inexperienced and had a poor command of English . They offered no solutions, but when pushed sent a single old-fashioned fan. Despite its expensive cost it failed to deliver on all levels. I would avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fred g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, the description of the hotel did not meet expectations. There was no air conditioning during our stay, so the place was unbearably hot. Along with the loud construction outside the widow, it was almost impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aag5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is hotel is in a wonderful location and might be okay in the winter but has no functioning air conditioning. Add to that the towel heater in our bathroom was on and dangerously hot, our room felt like a sauna. Several complaints to the hotel staff were met with a shrug and a story of how "repair people" were called. The location could not make up for the lack of sleep caused by the heat and I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neurocaredoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMayfairRM, General Manager at Ascott Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your review, all feedback from our guests is appreciated.

I would like to appologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay with us. The cooling system was not working last week due to a system error. We regret that it was not able to be repaired immediately. We did our best to try to assist our guests by providing alternative options of cooling such as fans. The problem has now been resolved, I sincerly appologise for the discomfort you and our other guests felt.

The towel rails are a centralised system and unfortunately cannot be controlled in the individual apartments. Again my sincere appologies if you felt that this was another items which made your stay unpleasant.

I hope that if you decide to return to London that you give us the oppurtunity to change your opinion of our residence.

Yours Faithfully
Dyanne Camille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had to transfer to the Ascott because of a muckup with our accommodation. The hotel was rated as 5 star and I was very disappointed with it. The rooms were shabby and the air conditioning didn't work which was hopeless in 30 degree heat. For the amount that we paid I would have expected a true 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merryn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMayfairRM, General Manager at Ascott Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Madam/Sir

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our residence. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not a pleasant one. Unfortunately we were having issues with our chiller. Those issues have now been resolved, I appologise for the inconvenience caused.

The residence will be having a small refresh later on this year which will be dealing with the issues you mentioned. I hope that you would consider staying with us again if your return to London so that we can improve your impression of our Residence.

Yours Faithfully
Dyanne Camille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My family stayed in a 2 bedroom executive suite. I would not recommend this Hotel to any one staying in the Mayfair area as there are several other Hotels that are clean and better appointed. The room was dirty, the carpets stained and even the parquet floor tiles in the hall way were unglued and would move around as you walked. The beds were tired and badly in need of updating. The Couch in the family room resembled something from the 1970's. Oh, and there is no air conditioning in the rooms. When you complain, they bring you a fan. Clearly, this Hotel is due for a major renovation, so save your money and head to another Hotel. Preferrably one that is not a 15 minute walk to the tube.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveler3200304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMayfairRM, General Manager at Ascott Mayfair, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. We appreciate all feedback from our residents.

I am sorry to see that that your expectations were not met whilst with us. We try our best to ensure that all our guests have a pleasant stay.

Our residence will be having a small refresh before the end of the year. Hopefully some of the issues you mentioned will be resolved and improvements will be noticeable.

The cooling is a centralised system, Unfortunately it does not enable each room to be individually controlled.

We seldom have negative feedback regarding the cleansliness of the apartments, I am not sure from your review if this was mentioned during your stay so that we could have tried to deal with this immediately. I appologise for any discomfort or inconvenience caused.

Yours Faithfully
Dyanne Camille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Mayfair
Mayfair House
Mayfair House
#698 of 1,077 in London
57 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#121 of 1,077 in London
1,861 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#37 of 1,077 in London
2,330 reviews
Mayfair
Grosvenor House Suites by Jumeirah Living
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Mayfair

Address: 49 Hill Street, London W1J 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#306 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £126 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ascott Mayfair 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operated by the world's leading serviced residence company - The Ascott Limited - experience luxury and ultimate service while residing in Mayfair, London's most exclusive district. Surrounded by museums, stylish restaurants and grand theatres, you can relax and enjoy the sophistication of these boutique accommodations while on business travel or a weekend retreat. The 1920s Art Deco building combines all the comforts and amenities of home with an extensive range of facilities and personalised services. Enjoy the best of London while indulging in the spacious comfort of a luxury London serviced apartment. Choice of Serviced Residence Designed and furnished to reflect the sophistication of the Art Deco period, the apartment sizes range from studios residences to expansive three-bedroom suites. Each apartment has a fully-equipped kitchen and optional separate living area. They are ideal for those who desire spacious comfort when on business trips and leisure vacations. Ideal Location: Guests staying at the Ascott’s London serviced apartments are within walking distance or a short journey from many of the most popular attractions and shopping areas. The rich vibrancy of the city, highlighted through the various museums, opera and dining locations, are just at our doorsteps. Spacious Comfort & Personalised Service: Experience the exceptional services you desire and the benefits of exclusive luxury accommodation in London. Breakfast leisurely in The Terrace while viewing the gardens and unwind with cocktails at The Club Lounge. You can relax in the comfort and security of your own private apartment. 24-Hour reception, Board room, Broadband Internet access, 6-day maid service (excluding Sundays), Fitness centre, Grocery shopping services, Laundry & dry cleaning services, Room service from external restaurants, Steam & sauna room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ascott Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Mayfair London
Ascott Mayfair Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing