We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Room, Great View of Square, Delayed Check-In”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Ranked #369 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Great View of Square, Delayed Check-In”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Everything was of very high quality, and the location is great, so close to shoppping and many fine restaurants. To be fair, we arrived on the afternoon of New Year's Eve, but we were dismayed that at 3pm our room was not ready. The front desk pointed out that they were not required to have it available until 4, but this is the first time as a Gold level member that a property has not had a room ready. We were offered the lounge to wait in. We waited past 4, and finally they room was ready at around 4:15. Still, wasted time for our trip.

Really everything else was excellent about the stay, but this colored our experience somewhat.

Room Tip: View of Grosvenor square is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SofiaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear SofiaJoe

I would like to take this oppertunity to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor.
I would like to apologise for the delay in getting checked in, we have a guaranteed check in time of 4pm and will always strive to have our rooms ready before this but on occassion there can be a slight delay.

I was very glad to read you you enjoyed your room and felt everything was of a very high quality. We do hope we will have the oppertunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    502
    231
    83
    56
See reviews for
343
438
69
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This has been my go to hotel in London ever since Marriott sold the Renaissance Chancery Court a few years ago. The location of the hotel places you within easy walking distance of everything from Hyde Park through Piccadilly/Leicester Square, and the front door is only 2 blocks from the Bond St. Underground station. My most recent room was an upgraded room which provided additional space, which was appreciated as I was there for 8 nights on vacation. If staying over a weekend or for business, the standard size rooms are small, but still comfortable. The Luggage Room is a recent addition - I highly recommend it for a drink or light snack before/after a night at the theater. The Executive Lounge is in the basement, with chairs/tables for eating, as well as more comfortable seating areas if you are hanging around for a while. The breakfast and afternoon snacks are excellent in this lounge. All of the employees that I interacted with were wonderful. Another addition within the last year or so was placing a desk in the lobby that Guest Services handles that is away from the registration area - sometimes you don't need the concierge just information, and this frees up the folks at registration.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDugganv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear JDugganv

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experince on TripAdvisor.

I was very glad to read you had an enjoyable stay and also that you enjoyed our fabulous new addition the Luggage Room.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to both in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Hotel is in a great location. Being a member of the Marriott Hotel Chain we had access to the Executive Lounge which was very comfortable. There were light snacks, cakes and beverages available anytime which was very convenient. The room was clean and the staff were polite and helpful. The hotel less than a minute walk to London's famous Oxford Street so its a great location for those who love to shop.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear anty77

Thank you very mch for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad to hear you had an good stay and found all the facilities and staff you encountered to your satisfacion.

We do hope you return to stay with us very soon.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

the hotel is located in a very central area of the city of London, 2 min walk from bond underground station (the red line). the hotel is very clean, the staff are really nice and helpful. they have a very comfortable lounge for business people with nice beverage and some light food. the room is quite large and spacious. the only thing i was a little bit disappointed is the fact that using the TV cost.
in addition i continued using their facilities even after my check out due to a late flight and they were very helpful and kind to me.i truly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room next to the elevator, some of the rooms are quite far away from it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gioraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear gioraba

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.

We are very glad you had a wonderful stay with us and that you found the staff nice and helpful and enjoyed the facilities the hotel had to offer.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

lovely hotel, great staff, great restaurants and bars. room a little disappointing, quite small, overlooking the interior courtyard of the hotel which is very unattractive. beautifully appointed though and bed very comfortable and quiet. great location, best in london, and the tube is 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: pay for park view and join points program
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Alan F

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

I was very glad to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. Being a former Town House some of our rooms are a little small but please do reach out to us on your next visit and we would be more than happy to update your profile with your room requests.

I do hope we will have the oppertunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

A good offering for a business stay, maybe for a couple although rooms are really on the small size and would be a bit cramped for two people. The Club lounge is adequate with a reasonable selection, though also small. The location is superb; close to Hyde Park for a run or simply relaxing and the best retail is very close, all this on a quiet square. As for staff, when notified that one of the two elevators had stopped running, the front desk was responsive and the situation was resolved in very short order. Well done!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBGlobal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear JBGlobal2

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Thank you so much for your comments regarding the responsivness of staff I will ensure your comment is shared with the team as they do appreciate being recognised.

Thank you as well for your feedback regarding the room you stayed in, being a former town house some of our rooms are slightly smaller but please do reach out to us prior to your next London stay and we would of couse endeavour t allocate you a more spacious room.

We do hope you return to sty with us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Marriott in Grosvenor Square . Good location near Oxford Street excellent for shopping! Very near to tube station. Very nice and helpful staff, good breakfast. Very spacious nice room ! Definitely recommend !!

Room Tip: Room 340 was nice and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, General Manager at London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear J S

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor.

I was very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you as well for your coments regarding our staff and the breakfast, I will ensure your review is shared with the team.

I dop hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Ian Pask
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Marylebone
London Marriott Hotel Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Millennium Hotel London Mayfair
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square

Property: London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square
Address: Grosvenor Square, London W1K 6JP, England (Formerly Marriott London Grosvenor Square Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#232 Romantic Hotel in London
#260 Luxury Hotel in London
#270 Family Hotel in London
#314 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Mayfair neighbourhood, the London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square offers a timeless blend of elegance and comfort. First built as a stately townhouse, it has evolved into an exclusive hotel that infuses contemporary chic with classic luxury and exceptional personal service. Indulge in Gordon Ramsay's Michelin Star 'Maze' restaurant, host inspired events and enjoy our hotel's ideal access to Hyde Park and the West End. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing