We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Spacious Room”
Review of The Leonard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leonard Hotel
Ranked #301 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location & Spacious Room”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Actually, I'm not the visitor but I'm a travel agent who booked this hotel for one of my top VIP customers who are a family of 3 ladies. The feedback I got from my customers upon arriving at the hotel was extremely favorable. The location from Oxford street is excellent and the room they stayed in (one bedroom apartment suite) was very spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: The one-bedroom apartment suite is the ideal choice for family stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    247
    84
    34
    22
See reviews for
199
166
49
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had a royal afternoon tea at the Leonard using a Wowcher on Sunday 18th August 2013. This is a litlte gem , tucked away just behind Marble Arch tube station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The tea itself was really lovely and plentiful. A good selection of sandwiches, plenty of petit fours, and a deliciuos scone with clotted cream amnd fresh strawberries. One of the best afternoon teas we have had . Very filling and very delicious !! If wowcher or travelzoo do anothe offer, we will definelty do this again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Poor condition for the whole building not just only for the broken wall paper, fade-out painting decoration and the nearly broken folding bed and sofa, but also for the hotel main entrance and lobby. Absolutely this hotel needs a thorough refurbishment as soon as possible ! The housekeeping is poor as you can find very dusty furniture and decoration elsewhere. The convenient location and the quite atmosphere may be the only two things that I felt happy. The service is not so sincere and efficient at all. As a conclusion, it is not value for what you paid !

Room Tip: No free wifi and no lift for rooms on the 5th floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoTy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We went to the Leonard Hotel for an afternoon tea - as we managed to get some vouchers. The service was really nice and friendly. The atmosphere is really cosy and intimate.
We had a traditional afternoon tea: the quantities were good, and the sweets were nicely prepared.
The only minus was maybe the filling of some sandwiches that a bit "thin" to my eyes.
A good experience overall, will recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauriSlno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

First time to London & stayed here for 3 nights. On our second day while we were out sight seeing money was stolen from our room.
Whoever it was helped themselves to $300 out of our travel wallet that was in the safe. The staff were not very helpful & police couldn't do anything about it, very disappointing start to our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stay in London on business fairly regularly and my hotels are usually selected for me by a travel management company used by my client. On a Monday night in July, the usual hotels that I stay in were full and the Leonard Hotel was selected for me because it was close to my meeting venue and it had a single room available, albeit at a fairly high rate.

Having read the Tripadvisor reviews of the single rooms in the hotel, I was fearing a very small and poor quality room.

On arrival I was sceptical. My view did not change when I was told that wifi access was only available at a charge. I was allocated room 20 on the second floor. Arriving on the second floor I did not initially like the position of the room, which was right next to the lift, which in my experience usually means a noisy and disturbed night.

The room was small, and the decoration was tired - especially in the minute en suite shower room which had flaking paint on the walls.

However, there the negative points end. Had I not been staying at the hotel on business I might have been more bothered about the small slightly shabby room. But as it turned out, my stay was pretty good. The biggest plus point of the room was that it had a very good air conditioning cassette which cooled the room well on a hot evening, and I had no rooms adjoining mine. The location of the hotel is excellent - I enjoyed jogging in nearby Hyde Park early evening and again the following morning. The room at the back of the hotel was quiet and I was not at all bothered by the lift outside my door - it was quiet and I did not really hear it. As a consequence, I had a good un-disturbed sleep.

At this point I might have given the hotel an average "3" mark. In the morning, the breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. I dislike buffet style breakfasts so it made a welcome change to have a freshly cooked breakfast with good quality ingredients served at my table, with fresh orange juice and good coffee. So overall I give the Leonard Hotel a "4" based on my comfortable one night stay on a hot busy Monday night in July.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was our first visit to London and we enjoyed the very authentic (according to my notions)of typical English atmosphere.The staff were very efficient in helping us find our way thru the busy schedule we had drawn.We were very pleased by the very friendly attitude of all the employees,not only of the reception,but from the bar tenders and waiters too.Well done to all those youths.Keep it up!We'll definitely will be looking to come back once again.
Mr Teo Kuyumdzhiev

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teo517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Zetter Townhouse, Marylebone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#75 of 1,068 in London
1,609 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#157 of 1,068 in London
1,406 reviews
Marylebone
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#406 of 1,068 in London
6,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leonard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leonard Hotel

Property: The Leonard Hotel
Address: 15 Seymour Street, London W1H 7JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in London
#222 Luxury Hotel in London
#305 Family Hotel in London
#324 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leonard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonard Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel located in Marble Arch. Its excellent location is an advantage as most major department stores and restaurants are within short walking distance. All rooms and suites are individually decorated in timeless English decor. Seymours restaurant at The Leonard offers a variety of traditional English dishes to choose from, in a truly English environment with open half fireplaces and works of art adorning the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Leonard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonard Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing