We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Leonard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Leonard Hotel
Ranked #315 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Positives- great location,very friendly staff,tea making facilities, real hairdryer.
Negatives- single room was so small that the toilet area and sleeping area were separated by just a beaded type of curtain not a door.The corridors were shabby.Price - £160 for one night in a single room was a bit steep
Would maybe use in future if there was a deal.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owl1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

I had 2 nights in a tiny single room which was very poor value at £92.50 per night without breakfast. The room was quite depressing and grubby. Breakfast would have set me back an extra £17 per day and wifi would have cost another £10 per day. Very poor value. I'm just glad I wasn't tempted to try the minibar (a 55g pack of Skittles is a whopping £2.50, so goodness knows what the drinks cost). Nice reception area; shame about the rooms!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank PeteNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here because of the excellent location, rather than the style. However, the style was quite charming. Parts of the hotel do look a bit run-down, but they are renovating it bit by bit. Our suite was very comfortable and a haven of rest in a busy couple of days. While it wasn't cheap, it seemed fair value for the money, as it was quite large and comfortably furnished. It was quiet, as well.
When the pelmet fell down, staff were quick to deal with it and were obliging at all times. We hadn't ordered breakfast with the package, but did decide to take it. The full English is well cooked and presented, in an atmospheric dining room.
We consumed a few items from the mini-bar, and the bill for the extras was accurate. My only qualm was the somewhat eye-watering prices for drinks in the hotel bar. However, as a whole, I would recommend this hotel for central London, and will stay here again when next in town.

Room Tip: If travelling as a small family, it is well worth booking a suite, as the superior space and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradfordBuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The Leonard Hotel has a great location, rooms are basic and comfortable and staff is typically friendly.

During my 10 day stay they were "sprucing up" and there was a constant smell of wet paint which I didn't appreciate. There were 2 days when housekeeping made up my room with only the comforter and I had to request sheets, but they were promptly brought.

The internet experience will leave alot to be desired for a business traveller, however the convienient access to Oxford street and every possible public transport system makes travelling around easy.

I did not appreciate that you have to pay in advance if staying for an extended period, and I am not used to being charged in advance for services and being reimbursed if not used. Usually my card is held but not charged till the end of my stay and so points off for that Leonard.

I did not have a good experience with hotel dining. While it smelt good the few meals I ordered came undercooked or overcooked and I am less forgiving when left hungry. Luckily there are a variety of dining options within a short walking distance. Hotel recption did not have plug adapters on sale or for rent for the foreign guests (which I found odd), so be sure to bring your own.

Overall the location can't be beat, but the hotel experience is neither horrible nor pleasing. If you need a place to sleep in the mix of it all and do not require heavy internet usage, this is a fair bet.

Room Tip: The extra 18 pounds to upgrade a double room to a deluxe double is worth it. You get almost twice th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVIGamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A good deal through Last Minute for a suite at this hotel. An old-fashioned hotel, friendly enough, but slightly dated and a little scruffy round the edges. A delightfully vague receptionist, a lift that issued minor electric shocks - perhaps it was just me - but, most importantly, a suite that was very comfortable. The most impressive point was that things worked - a proper iron and ironing board, a shower that was simple and easy to use, a TV that just switched on, provided a good picture and didn't want to give me unwelcome welcome messages to navigate past. A comfortable bed. Brilliant in that respect. And a day's wi-fi for £5. Take note, Le Meridien, Crowne Plaza, etc. The downsides, to the extent that there really were any? A tiny lift (licensed to carry six - that would be entertaining) which was ponderously slow and narrow corridors with various steps along the way to trip up the unwary. The point was it did what a hotel is required to do - comfortable, easy to live in and pleasant staff. The acid test - would I go back? No hesitation. Its not pretentious, just very very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my parents and we all were blasted away. It was very comfy and quiet. The receptionist was very friendly and the staff as well. All in all I think this Hotel earns it's famous name.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Leonard hotel seems to have it all! Traditional English style with fireplaces all around and a warm friendly atmosphere.

Rooms & cleaness : Both excellent , we chose the apartment option in order to have more space and we did not regret it a bit!

Location: next to the high street! shopping paradise! topshop, shelfridges, urban outfitters next to your feet.

plenty of restaurant options within minutes! St. Christopher place has all the option you need from Lebanese to Italian!

Service: people smiling and happy faces all around! Special thanx to Danny for all his recommendations!

Food: the restaurant was really nice and on top of that you get 24 hour room service!
Breakfast which We had included in the room rate was a correct choice as it was amazingly fresh!
one day I choose eggs benedict which where delicious!

All in all me and my friend had an amazing week at London! Totally recommend the Leonard!

Room Tip: apartments on Seymoor street, apartment 5 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#163 of 1,075 in London
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#89 of 1,075 in London
1,750 reviews
Marylebone
The Zetter Townhouse, Marylebone
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#194 of 1,075 in London
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leonard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leonard Hotel

Address: 15 Seymour Street, London W1H 7JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#111 Business Hotel in London
#228 Luxury Hotel in London
#305 Family Hotel in London
#324 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £143 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Leonard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leonard Hotel is a 4-star boutique hotel located in Marble Arch. Its excellent location is an advantage as most major department stores and restaurants are within short walking distance. All rooms and suites are individually decorated in timeless English decor. Seymours restaurant at The Leonard offers a variety of traditional English dishes to choose from, in a truly English environment with open half fireplaces and works of art adorning the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leonard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonard Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing