We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resting on its laurels....?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel
Ranked #108 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Resting on its laurels....?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Just returned from my third stay at the Royal Park Hotel and I have got to wonder if there's been a change of hands in the property management or if the hotel is just resting on its (previously) well-earned laurels. I've been a repeat customer of this establishment for all the reasons described in the 400+ reviews on Tripadvisor. It's an intimate hotel with charming interiors and spotless presentation; excellent staff and service (for the most part); great location near Paddington and Hyde Park; and reasonable rates for an exorbitantly priced city. So I was looking forward to my short stay in London last week. Sadly, the experience fell far short of my earlier visits.

Check-in as usual was brisk and went without a glitch. The front desk and staff were, as always, courteous, helpful and warm, from the bellhop to the lady who brought me coffee. Room was, from first appearances, pristine and well kept. All, in other words, was as it was -- and as it should be.

Early next morning, however, I woke to the sound of running water -- as if a tap had been turned on full blast. I went into the bathroom to discover a sizable leak had sprung above the shower; closer inspection revealed the ceiling was swollen and deteriorating due to condensation. When I reported the leak downstairs, the gentleman at the front desk was solicitous and offered to have me change rooms. None were ready at the moment, however, so he suggested that I pack my luggage to be moved subsequently. I asked if there was any way to be compensated for the inconvenience of having to repack and move (it should go without saying that a room change would be obligatory, especially since maintenance was not available that day). In particular I requested that I might be comped for breakfast. He replied that this was not possible since the rate was already locked in the "system." I thought this was a slightly odd response but didn't feel like pressing it. (Note: I hate complaining about service in any situation and felt I had already used up my "diva" chips.)

Later that afternoon my bags were moved and I ended up in an identical room upstairs, which was fine. The next morning, though, proved even more inconvenient than the first. I had requested breakfast service at 8:30-8:45 with the intention of leaving for Heathrow around 9:30. When breakfast did not show up by 8:50, I called room service to check on its status. The rather harried person who answered said it would be up very shortly. A few minutes before 9, with no breakfast, I called again. This, time, though, the same person effectively barked at me "I KNOW..IT'S COMING." He then admitted there was a problem in the kitchen and apologized. I was, to say the least, taken back by this extremely brusque (and completely unacceptable) response.

And then: When the breakfast finally DID arrive a few minutes later, the food was undercooked and inedible. At this point I had no choice to call the front desk to complain. A gentleman (I think his name is Thomas) was very helpful on the phone. He said he would have a word with the manager who would be back in touch shortly.

A couple minutes later Laurent (the manager) rang, politely listened to my concerns, and was exceptionally gracious in taking responsibility for this litany of missteps. He told me that there would be some compensation when I checked out that morning, not the least of which was I would not be charged for breakfast. Sure enough, check-out a half hour later was seamless and I was appropriately compensated for these various problems. Were it not for his intervention and the help of the other front desk person (Thomas?) the stay would have been a complete wash.

For this reason, Royal Park Hotel earns a rating between "Poor" and "average" elevated by the deft handling of Laurent and his colleague at the front desk. My sincere hope is that this was just a series of unpleasant coincidences (that all happened to be visited on one traveler); and that issues around both the physical plant (a crumbling ceiling above the shower) and room service are shortly addressed. I really would like to return to this establishment as one of the two hotels I use regularly in London but management needs a record of this rather surprising dip in performance.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank itinerantCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor.
Once again, please accept my deepest apologies for the poor level of service you received upon your last stay with us at the Royal Park.
Rest assured that the issues you commented on have been addressed and that it is now a priority for us to improve on these point and to win your confidence back.

As discussed on the phone before you departed the hotel, please contact me directly when you next chose to stay with us as I would like to personally handle your reservation.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Park Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Laurent Boutonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    344
    88
    35
    17
See reviews for
225
519
82
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

This converted terrace hotel is very conveniently located to Paddington station. It was cosy and our room had a sitting area and was very large for London standards. The furnishings were beautiful in an older English style and we even had a four poster high bed.
Staff were attentive and polite.
We would definitely come back to this hotel.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments,
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Park soon,

Kind regards,

Laurent Boutonne
General Manager
lboutonne@theroyalpark.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

Sleep is my most basic requirement, and this is not an option at this hotel. It sounds like a herd of cattle above us, which started late last night, and returned at 5:45 this morning. Our "executive king" room is the size of my closet, and our luggage doesn't even fit comfortably, much less us being able to move around. We have been traveling for two weeks, and this hotel is the absolute worst.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tex118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent B, General Manager at The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to review The Royal Park Hotel on Trip Advisor.

It is a great help for me who has recently started working here at the Royal Park.

I would like to express my deepest apologies for us not to reach your expectations during your recent stay with us.

I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly and give me more information about your stay, such as where was your room located in the hotel, was no alternative offered by the reception team, etc.

I look forward to hearing from you soon,

Warm regards,

Laurent Boutonne
General Manager
lboutonne@theroyalpark.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Lovely little hotel close to Paddington station (which makes getting to Heathrow a breeze) and convenient to tube stations. However, not quite a 5 star. The floors are old and made of wood so if you are unfortunate to have an upstairs neighbor who walks around a lot, forget trying to get a good night's sleep. The family above us must have been training for the Olympics in their room.... Also, the standard room is very small. If you have two open suitcases on the floor, it is impossible to walk around the room. Also odd, the hair dryer plug is over the desk, but there is no mirror. Staff is great, small lounge area near front desk is pleasant. Overall a good hotel, but not 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talltrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
del mar, ca
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I really didn't know how to rate this hotel. I would never return because it was impossible to sleep because of the clomping heels up above us. But the rooms were very nice and roomy. But our room was on the basement floor and we could hear loud foot traffic on a hard floor until about 2am and then again starting at around 5am. It was impossible to sleep while this was going on.

Otherwise, the location was very good and the room was extremely nice. My only other complaint was that there was no electrical outlet for a blow dryer near a mirror. The only mirror was in the bathroom and the only outlet in the bathroom was specifically only fopr a shaver. Pretty weird, I thought.

Room Tip: top floor would be safe, I think.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dsnolan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

After reading many reviews, picked this hotel for it’s closeness to Paddington Station. Arrived early, our room was ready, staff was very friendly and accommodating. Perfect tucked in quiet location in the hustle bustle of London, had deluxe room that was spacious with big bathroom on lower level where there was an outside garden to enjoy the good weather and a glass of wine. No coffee/teas in room, but room service was reasonable priced, delivered very quickly.
Couple block walk to Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park, which are beautiful and all the pubs and restaurants you could want. Prior to our arrival the staff had per our request made arrangements for travel to sites that we wanted to see and for our transportation back to Heathrow airport, this was done quickly and via emails that were answered immediately.
So glad we picked this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaN514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel as we liked it so much the first time and we were not disappointed.
This is a beatiful hotel with lovely decor in the rooms. We had a deluxe room (room 307) which was a nice size overlooking a mews so it was very quiet.
The staff are friendly and helpful and we were offered a complimentary tea or coffee in the lounge on arrival which was appreciated after our flight from Italy.
The hotel is within walking distance of Paddington station and the Heathrow express and has many restaurants in the vicinity.
The hotel is faultless appart from the cost of the continetal breakfast for what you get. We went to the cafes around the corner where you can get an orange juice 2 pieces of toast full English breakfast and a mug of tea for about 6 pounds

Room Tip: rooms on third floor or above overlooking the mews are quiet and you can wacth what goes on in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#193 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#170 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#200 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#302 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel

Property: The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel
Address: - a Roseate House Hotel Lancaster Gate, Hyde 3 Westbourne Terrace, London W2 3UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
#178 Family Hotel in London
#178 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classical in its 19th-century elegance, The Royal Park is like a grand hotel in miniature. The hotel is ideally located for the visitor wishing to combine the cultural and commercial destinations of the big city with a tranquil and welcoming London residence. The Royal Park is centrally located in the quiet tree-lined area of Westbourne Terrace, bordering Hyde Park and Marble Arch. Hyde Park is to its south and Piccadilly lies east of the hotel. Heathrow airport is a 45 minute car journey, or 15 minutes by train to Paddington, also very The Royal Park is close to the property. Gatwick operates from Victoria station a 10-minute taxi drive away. Great for access to Central and West London. 15 minutes from Heathrow airport on the Heathrow Express. Nearest London underground stations: Lancaster Gate (Central Line) and Paddington Station (Circle, District and Hammersmith and City Lines), both 5 minutes walk.High speed internet access available, 24 hour room service and Concierge, DVD/CD player, two dual line telephones with voice mail, UK and US shaver outlets, LCD TV, Satellite channels, Italian cotton linen sheets, Hair dryer, Electronic safe, Mini bar, Luxury bathroom amenities, Individually controlled air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park London
Hotel Royal Park
Royal Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing