We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel With Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel
Ranked #96 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel With Great Location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My family of 4 just recently stayed 8 nights at the Royal Park Hotel (first trip to London). I chose the Royal Park Hotel based on the glowing reviews, the beautiful look of the hotel and my preference for a smaller boutique hotel. I wanted us to have a very English experience and chose to avoid the larger hotels. We had a lovely stay here. The hotel is small but very nice. The staff was super friendly and helpful whenever we needed assistance. We had two suites on the 3rd floor (rooms 303 and 304). So glad I decided to book suites, as I don't think the regular rooms would have been comfortable for an 8 night stay. Beds and pillows were very comfy and bathrooms nicely appointed. Loved the views from our windows looking over the trees and at a beautiful church across the street. Hotel is very conveniently located on a quiet street only 5 minutes walk from Paddington Station and a few minutes to Lancaster Gate Tube Station. We were very happy about almost everything at the Royal Park Hotel. There were a couple of things that were overlooked, however. The first thing my husband and I noticed when we entered the first of our booked suites, was that there were several obvious spots on the carpet in the sitting area (room 304). For the amount of money we spent for staying 8 nights, I would have thought the staff would have made sure the rooms were spotless. Room 303 had some soiled areas on the carpet also, but not as obvious as our other room. Another issue, that is quite minor, is the complimentary cookies stopped coming the last 2 or 3 days of our stay in my husband's room. Not sure what happened there. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay at the Royal Park Hotel and would for sure stay there again, despite the few issues we had. I was sad leaving the hotel after our 8 night stay, which says a lot! I recommend the Royal Park Hotel to travelers who would appreciate an English experience in a beautiful smaller boutique hotel (restored mid-19th century townhouses).

Room Tip: Upper floors quieter. Rooms in the front of the hotel have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    348
    89
    37
    17
See reviews for
234
542
83
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

From the moment Chris the concierge greeted me on arrival, the service at this small boutique hotel was impeccable. The staff are true professionals and their attention to detail is excellent. The hotel has been created by joining three elegant townhouses to create a single property. Furnishings reflect the sophistication of a bygone era of understated refinement. Bedrooms are very small (typical of so many London hotels). Breakfast consists of a selection of continental choices plus the fresh cooked hot dish of your choice. The hotel is only six minutes walk from Paddington station and five minutes walk from the entrance to Kensington Gardens.

Room Tip: Some restaurants near Paddington station are tourist traps offering poor value for money. Use TripAd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I recently went on a European tour with 16 family members. Our first stop was London and we stayed at the Royal Park Hotel. As 17 exhausted travelers wheeled our suitcases from Paddington Station to the front door of the Royal Park Hotel, we were immediately greeted by hotel staff members that made us feel like our arrival was a celebration. We were checked in quickly and were on our way to tour the city. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. They were stocked with typical hotel supplies, towels, and other necessities. The rooms were quiet and the beds were comfortable. Each day, we came back to our room and found fresh cookies in the cookie jar and complimentary bottles of water for each family member. There was a mini bar in the room, which was expensive, as is typical. There is a small dining room/restaurant near the main entrance. (This can also be reserved for a private family event, which we did.) A couple of reminders for American travelers: There is not an iron in the room. You must request one to be sent up each day, which we did with no problem. If you want cafe Americana (American-style coffee), you will need to order room service (expensive) or go to a different location to get it. Bring plenty of outlet converters and hair appliances that are dual voltage. If I return to London, I will stay at the Royal Park. Throughout our 11 days in Europe, no other hotel staff compared to our experience here. I can't emphasize this enough.

Room Tip: The typical room comfortably accommodates two people. They have other room configurations for addit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWHS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Have visited the hotel only for their afternoon tea but I'm sure we will be back.
Great selection of teas plus beautiful sweets amazing wet caramel, fluffy scones. I can go on and on complimenting on the whole experience but I won't. Go and experience yourself.
Thanks for looking after us!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozsef_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The Royal Park is nestled in a quieter, tree lined street conveniently only 5 mins walk from Paddington. The reception area is much like the rest of the hotel, nicely decorated but rather small. The lady on reception greeted us warmly and we were shown to our room by a characterful chap who looked after us and delivered drinks and ironing board etc to our room. The room was again nicely presented, but rather small and cramped. The bed however was very comfortable with lovely pillows. The ensuite was fine and the shower nice and strong. There is a garden area outside, again very pleasant but you do have to put up with noise from the surrounding houses. Overall a very enjoyable stay at a small, unassuming boutique hotel. I would happily return to stay here again, the location is perfect and the staff helpful and attentive

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at the Royal Park for one night recently, after finding the hotel through Tripadvisor, and was not disappointed. This boutique hotel is a little gem, with lovely quiet rooms, in an excellent location, and near to both Paddington station (good for the Heathrow Express) and Lancaster Gate tube for quick access to the rest of London. It's also right around the corner from the myriad buses that can run you to Picadilly, Oxford Street, Regent Street, etc... Not to mention that it is minutes from Hyde Park (great for runners, and families with kids).
Staff was friendly and competent, the room appointments were quite lush - love the Penhaligon line of toiletries - and the hotel is on a quiet sidestreet, so no need to worry too much about what sort of room you get. My was ground floor in the back, not my favourite, but it was perfect. They have a basket of brollies in case of rain, much appreciated.
I didn't eat in the resto, but the hotel is in easy walking distance to both Marks and Sparks, and Waitrose if so inclined! Would definitely stay again. As for value, hard to measure in London as prices are annoyingly high, but I certainly would return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEDWARDRAZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel, as others have mentioned, is in an excellent location - close to Paddington station and a few steps from Hyde Park as well as public transport. After being shown to a basement room which we found dark and claustrophobic we requested a change to a higher floor and were immediately accommodated (it was a bit more expensive). The room was fine with a sitting area as well and the bathroom more than adequate with a good shower. Furniture and bed were a little worn; spotty WiFi is available but you have to keep logging in each time with the password. The best thing is the staff - very friendly and happy to help with any request. Due to flight issues, we got early and late checkout. The bellman helped us all the way to the station? Breakfast is good in a pleasant front room.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank addy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#114 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darlington Hyde Park
#207 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#202 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#184 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel

Property: The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel
Address: - a Roseate House Hotel Lancaster Gate, Hyde 3 Westbourne Terrace, London W2 3UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
#178 Family Hotel in London
#178 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classical in its 19th-century elegance, The Royal Park is like a grand hotel in miniature. The hotel is ideally located for the visitor wishing to combine the cultural and commercial destinations of the big city with a tranquil and welcoming London residence. The Royal Park is centrally located in the quiet tree-lined area of Westbourne Terrace, bordering Hyde Park and Marble Arch. Hyde Park is to its south and Piccadilly lies east of the hotel. Heathrow airport is a 45 minute car journey, or 15 minutes by train to Paddington, also very The Royal Park is close to the property. Gatwick operates from Victoria station a 10-minute taxi drive away. Great for access to Central and West London. 15 minutes from Heathrow airport on the Heathrow Express. Nearest London underground stations: Lancaster Gate (Central Line) and Paddington Station (Circle, District and Hammersmith and City Lines), both 5 minutes walk.High speed internet access available, 24 hour room service and Concierge, DVD/CD player, two dual line telephones with voice mail, UK and US shaver outlets, LCD TV, Satellite channels, Italian cotton linen sheets, Hair dryer, Electronic safe, Mini bar, Luxury bathroom amenities, Individually controlled air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Preferred Hotels, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Park - A Roseate House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park London
Hotel Royal Park
Royal Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing