We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good”
Review of Queens Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queens Park Hotel
Ranked #933 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“not good”
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

service was barley ok.
but the place is a dump. they have tried to fix a few things, but there are others that are horrendous. the carpet is grimy. and the toilets a bit icky.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank woolgatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenspark_Manager, Manager at Queens Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us of your recent stay.
I am of course extremely distressed after having read through your brief review of the Queens Park Hotel.
You state that the service was "barely ok".
In regards to good customer service, we regularly train our employees in order to deliver exceptional customer service. Our aim is to exceed all customer expectations and we deeply apologise if we failed to meet or even exceed those expectations. We shall be reviewing all staff customer service in order to rectify what you had unfortunately experienced.
Please note however, that this is cerainly never the case at the Queens Park Hotel, as we are usually renowned for exceptrional customer service.
As with all Hotels that run 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and 365 days a year; we have a miantanance team at hand for any thing that needs attention, like replacing a light bulb, repainting the walls etc..
The Hotel is subject to wear and tear, and although you state that the carpet was "grimy", I would l ike to inform you and all readers of Trip Advisor that new carpets in all rooms have been fitted less than a year ago.
Perhaps you came accross a recent stain, to which we will of course attend to.
As according to your review, the toilets were not up to the standard. Again, we regularly train our staff to conduct their duties effeciently and effectively, and I shall certainly be raising this point in our next meeting, as we would like to exceed all customer expectations and gain 100% satisfaction from our customers.
We thank you for your review and we will look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon, in order to appreciate what many other guests have come to appreciate, time and time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    345
    561
    328
    418
See reviews for
354
638
122
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I have stayed at the Queens Park Hotel and the last 2 times there have been bed bugs in the room. They were on the pillows and in the bed and we took photos and complained. Me and my wife have been bitten all over and have been to the doctors.
The rooms are not very clean and the drainage in the bathrooms really smell bad. I would not recommend this hotel a hostel would be better!!!

Room Tip: Make sure it is clean and hygientic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenspark_Manager, Manager at Queens Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Apologies that you claim that bedbugs were found in the room you occupied during your stay.
Firstly, We have received any complaints of bedbugs and if what you claim is true, I am surprised that you did not take this matter to the Manager of the Hotel.
All our staff are well trained to take any complaint and report directly to the Managers, however, we have not received this complaint.
I would be very grateful if you could send through your booking details directly to the Hotel in order to investigate your claimed case further.
In the meantime, many thanks for taking the time to review us of your recent stay, and once again apologies for any convenience you suffered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife and myself have just completed a trip to England and various other countries in Europe.
We selected this hotel off the internet as it looked quite nice and in a very centralised location for our needs. Unfortunately what we found was nothing short of disappointment in this hotel.
The room we were allocated was about the size of a shoe box. The noise that filtered through the whole establishment was astounding. It actually turned out to be something like a backpackers hotel, with the majority of guests staying one or two nights at the most. The breakfast was very basis and very Humdrum every morning, As we stayed a total of three nights.
There was one staff member who was helpful for certain information we required about the local area and travel services.
Not recommended for a stay.

Room Tip: Do not bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenspark_Manager, Manager at Queens Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Queens Park hotel.
I would like to explain a little about the circumstances involved of your recent stay.
You state that the room allocated was the "size of a shoe box", Please note that, With regards to the room size, London is a very highly populated area, and due to this, room sizes are somewhat smaller than their counterpart in Europe. This is particularly so in Central London.
Also, the "size of a shoe box" is an exxageration to say the least, admittedly they are not huge, but nevertheless, extremely large enough to accomodate 2 persons in a double, for instance.
The walls are not thin, however, during the time you had stayed, there was a group of more than 15 people celebrating stag party. Admittedly, they were making a lot of noise, however, our staff did ask them to keep noise levels to a minimum. They later apologised and did state that it was as a result of their excitement for the special occasion.
We too, apologise on their behalf, but would like to reassure you that this is certainly not the norm at the Queens Park hotel.
The Breakfast has recently been upgraded and we apologise that this did not meet your expecations.
We would have thought that a choice of scrambled eggs, sausages, baked beans, mushrooms, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, 4 types of cereal, freshly baked croissants, bread rolls, toast and jam preserves, tea/coffee/a selection of 3 different types of juice, would be a sufficient variety of choice for our guests who all receive a free breakfast with their room rate.
On the contrary, recent reviews do in fact praise us for our wide variety of breakfast at no extra cost!
I do hope that this explanation (which should not be misconstructed as an excuse) has shed some light, and that you will accept our deep regrets and apologies for any unpleasantness you had suffered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2012

There was some remodeling going on so it was a bit noisy. I have never seen such small lifts as in this hotel. One feels claustrophobic in there.The room was too small. One could hardly move about. The bathroom was very smelly and the smell was coming from the shower drain. This was cleaned twice and we were given an air fresher to use. In this day and age free Internet is a major plus for any hotel. The location is very good with easy transportation by bus or tube. The staff was quite friendly. Breakfast was better than I thought it would be.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Imran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenspark_Manager, Manager at Queens Park Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Imran K,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Queens Park Hotel following your recent stay with us.
The elevators are indeed small, but due to the Hotel being a non purpose built Hotel, elevators were fitted as according to the existing building. We regularly service and maintain the elevators and can confidently say that although tey do appear small, they run extremely effeciently.
We are negotiating with several elevator Companies to try to fit another elevator in the building and I must say that we may have found a solution to this and may be installing a bigger lift in the very near future.
Apologies that you found the bathroom smelly, I have looked into this and have called drain experts to sort and rid the problem. They have been working on the affected room and am pleased to inform you that the problem has been resolved and no longer exists.
We do charge for WiFi, however we only charge a very small fee which we compare ourselves extremely competative in relation to other Hotels and internet cafe's nearby.
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our breakfast. We have recently upgraded our breakfast menu to give our guests a wider variety, as we do believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day!
We hope you consider coming back in the near future, and thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, and had no issues during our stay, and only a few complaints. Everything was clean, and the hotel staff were friendly. The room had its own bathroom with WC/Shower, which was a big plus. Deduction has to be made for no working channels on the television in our room, and the fact that there was a huge scaffolding outside our window. Breakfast was good (Egg, beans, bread, sausage, etc.). The room, elevators, and halls were small, but as we expected in London. Although there are areas the hotel could improve upon, they give good value for the price, and a great choice for a budget long-weekend in London.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RikuSora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed here in June 2011, after the refurb had taken place and it was a fantastic hotel. Excellent value for money and a great location. We was given the biggest room in the hotel and it was awesome. The refurb had been done to a high standard and in my opinion and we felt that by paying £80.00 per night, we got a great deal!
I assume the majority of negative comments were written before the refurb, as we really couldn't find anything to moan about !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I brought a USA HS student group to this hotel; it was arranged for us via a travel company. First, the pros: the front desk people were nice, helpful and accommodating, taking care of our luggage b/c we came in early. The breakfast was fine and ample, though nothing to write home about (eggs, sausage, cereal, coffee, juice, toast, etc). Overall, the room was somewhat clean. I was lucky to have a window that looked out on the street and therefore there was good air circulation. The showers were always hot. The internet worked well in the lobby (a must for me b/c I needed to work during the trip). The neighborhood felt safe enough - kind of like Allston/Brighton for those in the Boston area. The Queensbury tube stop was less than a 5 minute walk, which served us well. The location, next to Hyde Park was really a bonus.

The cons: We asked specifically for renovated rooms, since it seems those got the best reviews and were the cleanest. Um, renovated Hotel Queens Park? I'd ask for your money back from the workers because if those rooms were renovated they did a CRAP job. The carpet was stained and poorly laid and the walls/sink/shower were scuffed and worn. The elevators were scary small.

The hotel served its purpose, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMariePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Central Park Hotel
#861 of 1,068 in London
2,636 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#819 of 1,068 in London
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Byron Hotel
The Byron Hotel
#531 of 1,068 in London
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Park Hotel

Property: Queens Park Hotel
Address: 48 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #933 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed in a building dating from the 1800s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queens Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Queens Park
Queens Park London
Queens Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing