We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware - they are stealing money from credit cards”
Review of Henry VIII Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Henry VIII Hotel
Ranked #879 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I’ve stayed in this hotel in May 2014. The location of the hotel is very good, easy transportation and access. Room is good. Breakfast is very poor – there is no choice at all. I was booking this hotel through Booking.com and was paying in the hotel using my Credit Card. Exactly two weeks after my stay – I received a call from my bank that the unauthorized withdrawal happened from my Credit Card. My assumptions that money were stolen through the staff of this hotel are based on the fact that this Credit Card was used to pay very rarely and in a period of the last 8 months (I’ve checked all transactions I’ve made by this Card in the Internet banking) it was not hold by anyone’s hands and during the period of 8 months I’ve made only few purchases through internet where I was entering additional pin-codes. In total I’m missing 429.48 euro, which is quite a serious amount of money I could spend somewhere else. Only on the Reception Desk of this hotel, while doing the payment for my stay – one of the receptionists was holding my card in his hands for some time, this is the only time ( for the last 8 months) that someone was holding my Card in his hands. I’m not recommending paying in this hotel by your Credit Card, only if you are ready for losing your money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is rated 4 star. The rooms are the biggest let down. Apart from being very small just enough to fit a double bed, there were no 4 star luxuries. Linen was what u would expect at a 1 star. It is also important to know that almost every 5 minutes the underground metro comes past right outside your window. The one thing that I have to compliment them on is the service of the staff. The staff in general especially at reception were extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Sotiri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

4* rating but is shabby. Room was dreary/cramped/scruffy & depressing!

Noisy aircon/train station = poor sleep

Taxi ride from Paddington needed if you have bags.

Top tip; pay more for better & cleaner

Room Tip: Best tip - avoid it and pay slightly more for better, cleaner accommodation. My rooms was near a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Babsiebear882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Satisfied with location and staff. Clean, but small rooms. Some noise in our room from the Undergrond. Very good breakfest buffet. Pubs and resturants nearby.We recomend the greek restaurant "Halipi".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjorn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

is a small hotel good for family and have a beautiful pool i feel a queen in london and the best breakfast english.the garden is beatifull,with small flowers ,goods acesss and location excellent i adore

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana Bela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A good location just 10 minute walk from Paddington and 5mins to 2tube stations, and very friendly staff and very good for Spanish speakers as reception staff are fluent. After that it was all downhill. The room was a very odd shape. Shower not clean enough, cold difficult to turn on and without the cold you would burn. I tiny soap for a family room and it broke into pieces immediately the wrapper was opened. Tv too small. Bed not very comfortable. Towels had seen better days. We were with friends who thought their rooms very small. Breakfast - scrambled egg that had never seen an eggshell, baked beans and bacon was the full extent of the cooked breakfast. The fresh fruit kept running out and they took too much time to replace it. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: If you dislike bars on the windows do not have a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

If your looking for large bedrooms this isn't the hotel for you, but there again unless you pay from £300 p/n your not going to get large rooms in London. The hotel is comfortable, clean, enjoyed the pool and sauna, breakfast was included you get part of a full English but not the whole thing, but plenty on offer to set you up for the day. Had a very pleasant 3 day stay. Would definitely book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwendolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#560 of 1,081 in London
806 reviews
Clayton Crown Hotel
#449 of 1,081 in London
1,392 reviews
Hotel The Caesar
#285 of 1,081 in London
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#441 of 1,081 in London
2,253 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#117 of 1,081 in London
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henry VIII Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henry VIII Hotel

Address: 23 Leinster Gardens, London W2 3AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #879 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £69 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Henry VIII Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel in quiet location, a few yards from Hyde Park, convenient to Bayswater & Queensway tube stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Eurostars, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Henry VIII Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Viii London
Hotel Henry Viii
Henry Viii Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing