We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, noisy and old”
Review of Brunel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brunel Hotel
Ranked #751 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Rooms are very small. Wall paper peeling off, Bath rooms simply disgusting! I sleep in hotels all over the world every week and I don't complain quickly but this was really terrible. WIll never stay in this hotel again. Accross the street there is a hotel named '27 Paddington': that is MUCH better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc from Holla... v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabrizioScalia, Guest Relations Manager at Brunel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Marc,
thank you indeed for the feedback provided.

I apologize on the behalf of the Hotel management if the room assigned and our service were unable to meet your expectations this time.
We are currently refurbishing some spaces and rooms and for this reason we would like to invite you again for your next stay in the city to showcase our improvements.

Thank you once more for choosing The Brunel Hotel.
Kind Regards,

Fabrizio Scalia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

We checked in on the hop. What a great surprise. We had room 104, a great bay windowed room. The hotel was nice and warm. Well situated and appointed. The shower was good and the room facilitites were excellent (1 x double and 1 x single in ours). A good price and the breakfast in a clean well appointed restaurant was really good.

Room Tip: 104 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolPete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel has mixed reviews so I hesitated before booking it. The reviews are mostly correct in that the rooms are tiny, the bathroom not much bigger than a shoe box, no water pressure in the shower and the place feeling a little tired in places. However - it is clean, the staff are friendly, it's warm, breakfast perfectly OK, great location and it's cheap! So overall I think it offers good value for money.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Jon_Starkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My stay was in 1999, so wifi wasn't an issue. But this was my first trip abroad, and I have great memories of the Brunel. You always fondly remember your first ;)

I liked that there wasn't a triple room available so I got one to myself! That was a great experience for me. I didn't miss the minifridge, and I wouldn't much care now. People who are up in arms about this: GO OUT AND EAT! YOU'RE IN THE GREATEST CITY ON EARTH! GO EAT FOOD! if you get a room in London and then want to eat garbage from the store, there is something seriously wrong with you.

The bathroom wasn't huge, but it's not like I have to live there. We stayed I think 12 nights and I was only in the room to shower and sleep most of the time.
The breakfast (there was breakfast then, I haven't read anything in the recent reviews about it, maybe it's discontinued) was free, and really that's about the best thing about it, but free is free.

The staff were very kind (even though myself and my friend had to be told not to play on the lift (we were fourteen!) I didn't feel slighted or like they were unprofessional at all) and I was pleased with how well they handled some of the silly american questions we asked (Only one of us had been out of the country before...).

Room Tip: My room was on the cross street side (up and around the corner from the front door) and while I coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keviefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for a long weekend, hotel was lovely, rooms bit small but we didn't stay in them much, staff very helpful and friendly, very clean rooms, close to paddington station two min walk away and some lovely restaurants also close by.

Room Tip: We had asked for double rooms, they we're clean and tidy but very small, this was ok for us as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank t0r0nt0girl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel is in a very good location, 10 minute walk from Paddington Stn for rail link to Heathrow, and a brisk 30 minute walk into main shopping streets - Regent St, Oxford St etc. Hotel itself is fine; room was very small but adequate for a short city break. Clean. Lovely towels. Wi-Fi was a bit hit & miss and this was frustrating at times. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fine, with good quality coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

First time staying here and would book again if I were to return to London.

Good
Very friendly staff, lovely man on reception couldn't have been more kind and helpful in getting me a taxi to the station when the tubes where on strike, even waiting after his shift ended to ensure it came.
Rooms where clean, comfy beds, good shower and telly.
Great location

Not so good
Rooms weren't massive and neither where the bathrooms but they where fine for a few nights stay.

Thanks, I'll be back and will recommend you to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank london22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#535 of 1,077 in London
318 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#819 of 1,077 in London
1,114 reviews
Duke of Leinster Hotel
#761 of 1,077 in London
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff Hotel
#652 of 1,077 in London
770 reviews
Notting Hill
Reem Hotel
Reem Hotel
#597 of 1,077 in London
735 reviews
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#687 of 1,077 in London
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunel Hotel

Address: 79-81 Gloucester Terrace | Paddington, London W2 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #751 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £66 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brunel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brunel is centrally located just 5 minutes walk from Paddington Station, the terminal for the Heathrow Express.The hotel is within walking distance of Bayswater and Oxford Street with their world famous shops and restaurants, and just a minute or two from the tranquil green spaces of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Brunel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing