We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean tiny rooms, lack of descretion”
Review of Coronation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coronation Hotel
Ranked #305 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Rhodes Town, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean tiny rooms, lack of descretion”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The rooms are very clean but very tiny too, even for London standards.
The keys have a massive portcles (almost half a meter) so that you leave it at reception everytime you go out of the hotel. Nothing wrong with that. But an evening I decided to get out, however, I met the receptionist on the stairs and he started asking me questions whether I am going out, which room I am and so and so forth. And he reminded me twice to leave the key at reception. It would be a much more enjoyable stay if I was not treated like somebody that would sneak out of the hotel taking a massive -otherwise useless- key with me. [NB the room was paid at check in already.]
I might overcome this feeling like 'staying at your mum's house' that I had during my stay if I wasn't shocked after I checked out: one of the receptionists added me on facebook. (They actually require guests to give an ID at check in,of which they also make a copy). Discretion is definetely not one of the assets of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    104
    97
    37
    33
See reviews for
61
58
54
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Ok, I'm a realist and paying £44 for a hotel room in London made me slightly apprehensive. However, the price meant that I was very pleasantly surprised.

I was staying over night for an early morning business meeting in the area. All I needed was a clean room with a comfy bed, a tv, a restaurant nearby and clean shower and bathroom.

I got all of these and with helpful, friendly service and free wi-fi included. It really was exactly what I wanted and I would recommend it. No frills but clean, friendly and in a great location. The breakfast is included in the cost and is a cheap continental so don't expect much from the cheese and ham but the croissant was better than I've had and there was as much toast as you could eat.

Thanks to the staff for being friendly and I will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Did a late booking through booking.com and this was closet to venue I had a exhibition in I booked. The hotel was tiredd, it had no lift and I was on the 3rd floor. Room was tiny and smelled. To top it off the breakfast was a very cheap poor quality continental affair. For the price paid I should have got 5*s quality and service, in fact this hotel in one of the worst I have ever stayed at, and one of the most expensive. Keep away unless you are paying a very small amount for a room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5901234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark0brien, General Manager at Coronation Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your experience at our hotel. Our hotel is situated only a few minutes’ walk from the exhibition centre making it ideal for attending exhibitions. The hotel is listed by Kensington and Chelsea Council and therefore we cannot install a lift. The hotel is well maintained by our in house maintenance team. With regards to a ‘smell room’ my Housekeeper has checked all the rooms and reported no smell.
The price you paid reflected the market demand at the time which is now standard practise in most hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here for an event at Earls Court due to the location. I wish I hadn't bothered! The hotel was horrifically overpriced (inflated due to the event no doubt) for the narrowest, smallest rooms I've ever seen, a tiny single bed, and a shower room I could barely move in. The room was less than 6 foot wide, there were wires hanging down the pillow end of the bed, the TV didn't work and the walls were so thin, I got to know my colleague far more than I wanted next door!
The room was clean though.
We were on the third floor, up very narrow stairs with suitcases and no lift. Not ideal for older people or if you have trouble with stairs.
Staff were quite abrupt and not pleasant at all.
Breakfast was a tiny, cold croissant with 2 slices of plastic cheese and value ham and some toast. In the tightest, most uncomfortable breakfast room imaginable.
The staff were quite rude
The location is very close to Earls Court station but I would never bother with this hotel again and would much rather get up at 4.30am to get to an event!

Room Tip: Don't overlook the busy road which is a stones throw from Earls Court road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark0brien, General Manager at Coronation Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you ‘Charlotte T’ for reviewing our hotel. You rightly point out that the hotel is situated very close to Earls Court Exhibition Centre making it ideal for anyone like yourself who is attending an exhibition there. As reviewed by other travellers our rooms are compact but they are very clean and well appointed.
As the hotel is listed we are not allowed to install a lift so we don’t advertise one.
My staff work very hard to ensure all guests have a pleasant stay as can be seen by the many positive reviews so I am not too sure where you are coming from with this.
The breakfast is a simple continental style and consists of freshly baked croissants, toast, cereals, juices, tea and coffee, ham and cheeses etc. All guests are welcome to ask for more if they wish.
The price you paid reflected the high demand in the area at the time of your stay which is standard practise in most hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Single room which is probably the smallest room I ever stayed in. The bathroom was also small with the toilet right up against the wall!!

That said, location very good in a square and just minutes from Earls Court tube station.

Staff very friendly and rooms very clean

Good value but don't expect much room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel is handy for Earls Court tube station and a number of restaurants/pubs.
Staff are friendly and helpful, but here's the thing.
The rooms are very small.
You would NOT want to stay here much more than 2 nights (whatever the price), unless you have a thing for living under the stairs.
The room was clean and the shower/toilet again although tiny, was also clean.
I paid (I think) over the odds.
If you can bag it for under £100, then it's worth a punt.

Room Tip: I have bumped up the room to average based on the cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColiniNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,067 in London
717 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#544 of 1,067 in London
994 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#733 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#388 of 1,067 in London
163 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington Court Hotel
Kensington Court Hotel
#770 of 1,067 in London
409 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#693 of 1,067 in London
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Hotel

Property: Coronation Hotel
Address: 59 Nevern Square | Earls Court, London SW5 9PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Earls Court Underground Station and Exhibition Centre, the Coronation Hotel, offers modern, comfortable and stylish rooms at very keen prices.The hotel occupies a classic London townhouse on Nevern Square, an elegant Georgian square overlooking gated gardens. The gardens are an oasis of tranquillity in the heart of London.The Coronation Hotel offers 29 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, satellite television, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 57GBP per night and up to three people from 127GBP per night, inclusive of a generous continental breakfast and all taxes.Situated in the heart of London, with excellent transport links, the Coronation Hotel provides the ideal location from which to explore London's historic sights, museums, theatres, restaurants and shops. Rail/Underground services can transport you to Heathrow and Gatwick airports in under an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coronation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing