We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Rip Off.”
Review of Coronation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coronation Hotel
Ranked #305 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Sydney
2 reviews
“Complete Rip Off.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Complete rip off!!

The ibis down the road offer much better rooms for half the price.

Room was terrible. We were meant to stay for the week but got a refund and only stayed for one night as we had paid already.

I am not a fussy person but we booked a twin room and it barely fit the tiny mattresses in there they had. We were told there was room under the bed to store our bags as there is literally no floor space.

Bathroom had a broken sink with weird things coming up from the drain. Shower had no pressure at all.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielwato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    104
    97
    37
    33
See reviews for
61
58
54
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

So I booked this hotel for one night via Booking.com. Despite already paying online, and already being charged, when I checked-in, the hotel charged me again! After a massive dispute in which I was on the phone to Booking.com for an hour, I ordered that I MUST stay another night there as they've already charged me for two nights instead of one, and due to this, I had no money left in my bank account! The hotel staff didn't speak English which is why I think it took so long to agree to letting me stay another night. One member of staff gave me an invoice to take to the bank, and said that the bank would give me the money back (which they wouldn't of anyway), but it was a Sunday! For goodness sake, some people just don't have any sense! So after hours and hours of shouting over the phone, they then agreed to let me stay on the Sunday night too. So, after all this, I should of really been receiving some compensation by upgrading my room or something. But no, they now put me in a single room which was the size of a wardrobe. There was no lift, so I had to drag my luggage up the stairs. I didn't eat the breakfast so I can't comment, but it was probably crap anyway. On the Sunday night, I got a takeaway delivered to the front door, and when I was carrying it upstairs the staff member who was on duty gave me a right funny look. Wifi is good, and I think that's the only positive I can think of. Location is also good, with only being five minutes walk from Earls Court tube station, and not far from Kensington. I definitely won't recommend this hotel after being charged twice for one night. The hotel isn't much to rave about anyway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank xtinalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed for a few nights in this hotel and I find the place quiet and with good facilities although it is not easy to climb up in the entrance if you have a heavy luggage to drag inside. The stairs is not comfortable if you have a bad back as there is no one to help you, I guess at that time no one is available. The staff in the reception are friendly and easy to deal with especially when I arrive earlier and they easily accommodated my request for an early check-in.

There is a free breakfast and wifi not many hotels in the area offers the same and normally they charge for the internet. I would say this is a good place to stay for a couple of days in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
264 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staff is very friendly. Location is great. You can walk 5 minutes to a 24 hour food store and coffee at McDonald's at 5am. Rooms are quite small but normal for London. Free WiFi is reliable and fast. Rooms do not have refrigerators or desks. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalPete2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I take students to London every year on a study abroad program and we stayed here last year and am going back this week. I booked here again as I loved the location; about a 7 minute walk from Earl's Court tube station. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the rooms were clean. Rooms are small, but you will find that all over Europe. Rooms are efficient and functional versus enlarged. Breakfast is the same thing every morning so that can get tiresome. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and the proof is my return this summer with another bunch of college students.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Coronation Hotel is part of the Capilon Group of Hotels whose prices realy do go up and down so shop around. A nicely presented hotel in typical London Square only 5 minutes from Earls Court Tube. Well presented hotel is good order but as with their other hotels the walls are very thin. Breakfast is Continental as much as you want and the staff are very pleasant. I would stay again but will return when the price is right!!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor which was very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honestdog63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#853 of 1,067 in London
717 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#544 of 1,067 in London
994 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#733 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#388 of 1,067 in London
163 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington Court Hotel
Kensington Court Hotel
#770 of 1,067 in London
409 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#693 of 1,067 in London
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coronation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronation Hotel

Property: Coronation Hotel
Address: 59 Nevern Square | Earls Court, London SW5 9PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coronation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Earls Court Underground Station and Exhibition Centre, the Coronation Hotel, offers modern, comfortable and stylish rooms at very keen prices.The hotel occupies a classic London townhouse on Nevern Square, an elegant Georgian square overlooking gated gardens. The gardens are an oasis of tranquillity in the heart of London.The Coronation Hotel offers 29 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, satellite television, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 57GBP per night and up to three people from 127GBP per night, inclusive of a generous continental breakfast and all taxes.Situated in the heart of London, with excellent transport links, the Coronation Hotel provides the ideal location from which to explore London's historic sights, museums, theatres, restaurants and shops. Rail/Underground services can transport you to Heathrow and Gatwick airports in under an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coronation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing