We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hallam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallam Hotel
Ranked #1,019 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shocking.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Booked in here for a week. After 1 night got the hell out of there! Location is great not far from Oxford St. That's the only positive. Room was filthy. Bathroom sink in bedroom. Environmental health warning on the door of breakfast room. No bar. Receptionist doesn't give a damn about anything seemingly. Couldn't wait to get out of there!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    64
    47
    157
See reviews for
30
57
58
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Disappointed with what could be a very good hotel. Needs extensive renovation. Carpets require replacement or cleaning at least. Good Breakfast was the saviour. Smelt musty. Bathroom not the best. Sink in the room !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsop England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel as booked by work (NHS) Booked in on sunday pm and informed the staff had no hot water no hairdryer or kettle - kettle arrived sunday -hairdryer monday -after asking a few times was told they dont put hairdryers in small rooms - and hot water tuesday evening which only happened after my manager had called to complain as I had only cold showers - when complaining about the water situation my manager was told not true, yes it was i have goosebumps to prove it, room had dirty skirting boards and was really tiny for a single room, had to walk sideways to get into bed - shower dirty and bedding and towels marked -
Staff not so friendly - dont seem bothered as they had already been paid. Lift didnt work the entire time i was there. give it a miss

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandiedee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel was in a good location, and right next to the BBC. You have to ask why there are cheap deals available when it is in this spot.

Room was functionality okay, but decidedly tired. A badly stained towel didnt make me want to dry my face on it. Bathroom okay but had seen better days. But at the price (£85) for the location, what do you expect?

Came to checkout and it looked as though there was noone there, but the reception person was asleep behind the desk.

Room Tip: You`ll be lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

On arriving we were not welcomed at al and asked to pay up front for our room . When we came back to hotel in evening we were told we couldn't have the twin room we had paid for and would have to have a double and a single room on separate floors due to an electrical fault . We decided to both sleep in double room . Room was boiling hot very rundown and the shower was nothing more then a trickle ! The electric shorted out several times .
The breakfast the next morning was fine not a lot of choice .
On leaving the hotel no one asked us if we enjoyed our stay or even said goodbye
In all honesty if we had to stay more then one night we wouldn't have and we would not return there again .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Che5287643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Very dirty, stinky, worst hotel ever!!! Unfriendly staf.. Did not Wash the breakfast tables, cups.... A nigth mare!!! Not gonna stay there again!!! Glad we Did not have smal kids..!!! Dont stay here... The staf look like they hater They job

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The location was great, only 5 minutes walk from Oxford street and from a subway station.

The hotel it self was not so good. The service was all right. One staff member were great and was ready to help us with everything, he even got us ride from the airport. Another staff member was pretty rude, he could not put up smile once.

But overall, the hotel was a good choice. Got it for a good value and the location was the only thing that mattered for me in this trip, cause the time I had was not so much.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daviddavidavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#583 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#521 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#716 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#867 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#497 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#756 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallam Hotel

Property: Hallam Hotel
Address: 12 Hallam Street | Westminster, London W1N 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,019 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallam Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing