We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very average hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hallam Hotel
Ranked #1,024 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, very average hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Guess you should question why a hotel in such a good location is so cheap, the answer is because it isn't very nice inside! Bedding appeared clean, room was generally ok although pretty small but there is something about the place that makes you not want to go back! We came for the weekend to go to theatre one night and complete the Monopoly Bar Crawl the other so we're not really planning on spending much time there and as a place to lay your head is not that bad.

Down side was my boyfriend contacted the hotel before we arrived and asked if they could arrange a bottle of bubbles for the room as it was my birthday, he got quite a shirt reply saying no, however when we arrived there was a bar, not sure why they couldn't have made that small effort.

The breakfast was not good as it's in the basement and feels kinda unclean. Needed to use the toilet downstairs during breakfast and toilet was completely blocked right next to kitchen, couldn't eat after that and we skipped the next mornings altogether.

Couldn't imagine it's a place to stay more than a couple of nights but if your working at bbc for a couple of nights it's perfect. As long as you don't mind sleeping with the window open as it's too warm and you like your showers hot!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    63
    47
    156
See reviews for
30
56
58
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel was obviously once grander than it is now. I booked as I needed to be near a venue and my first choice was full. I thought it looked jaded, but thought ok as it is cheap, but I need a clean comfortable bed. Reviewed trip advisor and saw numerous bad reviews. Tried to view the cancellation policy, but it was unavailable, emailed 3 weeks before stay asking for the policy, but no reply.

Went along, was put into a double room instead of my single, thought it was an upgrade, wrong! Reception not overly welcome, I had heavy conference equipment but no offer of help. I was in the basement, it smelt dreadful and the carpet was filthy. My room was old, but my bed sheets were clean as was the old shower room. My towel was thread bare with holes in but clean.

I went out to eat but felt quite sick from the smell, I decided not to have breakfast. I suppose it would be ok if you just needed to get your head down but I will not be booking there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Booked in here for a week. After 1 night got the hell out of there! Location is great not far from Oxford St. That's the only positive. Room was filthy. Bathroom sink in bedroom. Environmental health warning on the door of breakfast room. No bar. Receptionist doesn't give a damn about anything seemingly. Couldn't wait to get out of there!

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Disappointed with what could be a very good hotel. Needs extensive renovation. Carpets require replacement or cleaning at least. Good Breakfast was the saviour. Smelt musty. Bathroom not the best. Sink in the room !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsop England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel as booked by work (NHS) Booked in on sunday pm and informed the staff had no hot water no hairdryer or kettle - kettle arrived sunday -hairdryer monday -after asking a few times was told they dont put hairdryers in small rooms - and hot water tuesday evening which only happened after my manager had called to complain as I had only cold showers - when complaining about the water situation my manager was told not true, yes it was i have goosebumps to prove it, room had dirty skirting boards and was really tiny for a single room, had to walk sideways to get into bed - shower dirty and bedding and towels marked -
Staff not so friendly - dont seem bothered as they had already been paid. Lift didnt work the entire time i was there. give it a miss

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandiedee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel was in a good location, and right next to the BBC. You have to ask why there are cheap deals available when it is in this spot.

Room was functionality okay, but decidedly tired. A badly stained towel didnt make me want to dry my face on it. Bathroom okay but had seen better days. But at the price (£85) for the location, what do you expect?

Came to checkout and it looked as though there was noone there, but the reception person was asleep behind the desk.

Room Tip: You`ll be lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KPee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

On arriving we were not welcomed at al and asked to pay up front for our room . When we came back to hotel in evening we were told we couldn't have the twin room we had paid for and would have to have a double and a single room on separate floors due to an electrical fault . We decided to both sleep in double room . Room was boiling hot very rundown and the shower was nothing more then a trickle ! The electric shorted out several times .
The breakfast the next morning was fine not a lot of choice .
On leaving the hotel no one asked us if we enjoyed our stay or even said goodbye
In all honesty if we had to stay more then one night we wouldn't have and we would not return there again .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Che5287643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#574 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#522 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#873 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#478 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#727 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallam Hotel

Property: Hallam Hotel
Address: 12 Hallam Street | Westminster, London W1N 5LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,024 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hallam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallam Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing