We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad”
Review of Hallam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallam Hotel
Ranked #1,011 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Keflavik, Iceland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here july 2014, booked and paid for room for 3 with one big bed and one small, but what I got was a lame exscuse, one big bed and a matress. Floors where dirty, no air condition and the room was hot and smelly. broken tiles in the bathroom, broken toilet and the shower was hanging on a small piece of wire. great location but spend a little more and get yourself a decent hotel room somwhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olof987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    66
    48
    162
See reviews for
31
61
58
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Doesn't feel clean, grey towels, nothing works, hair dryers dangerous, shower didn't work, little cold water! ......only hot!
Would never stay here again waste of money. Standard of decoration poor, places on the ceiling where water has come through in the past.
The bath is stained brown and the taps don't work properly.

Room Tip: Don't bother avoid the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boxerxij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here earlier this week ... What can I say ... Dirty carpets throughout, my bed sheets appeared not to have been changed and certain staff members were just miserable ... Not worth the money ... Sleeping rough would have been a better experience !!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Booked to stay here while at a conference, the only positive is the central location. The hotel itself is dirty, noisy and run by a confrontational little man. Was put in room 1 which must be the over spill room as it's beyond the emergency exit door; room was hot and smelly so opened the window to let air in to be greeted by a pile of rubbish, carpets dirty and sticky (don't go bare foot), turned down the sheets to be greeted with stained bedding and hair and to top it off the room vibrated because of the tube. Went to complain and was told that the sheets would be changed, went out for an hour and the change did not happen - clearly assumed I probably wouldn't be staying the night after all. When I queried the man on reception about the sheets not being changed he was rude and confrontational. The whole hotel did not feel safe especially as the steps to the basement and the back door weren't locked and various people could enter the property who were not staying there. Cheap price definitely meant hideous service in this case. It was so bad I checked out and stayed somewhere else as didn't want to have to go and buy clean bedding and towels.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, room one especially bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellena2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The worst hotel I've stayed at, and I've slummed it in Bangkok and Ghana. The overwhelming stench of curry and old dog should have been an initial indication that the accommodation would be poor, however I overlooked this.

When I was shown the room/dungeon the cleanliness ressbled a place that had just hosted hobos house party. The sticky carpet, stained sheets (very suppisous light yellow stains, hopefully this was some sort if ectoplasm from the supernatural activities and not what I believed it to be) and damp infested walls were well below the standard I expected for £120 per night. I perceiverd despite this as I had arrived late and was due to meet friends near by. I returned later in the night, and required assistance to open the B&Q style locking mechanism on the flimsy door.

The night worsened from here. The constant high powered light focused on the window coupled with the ongoing train activity which seemed to be in top of the room made sleep difficult, but when the kitchen started up at 4:30 am it was impossible. The smell and noise from the the toilet they passed off as a kitchen remaind continuous until I eventually gave up and demanded they cancel my second night there.

I phoned round hotels within the area and asked for a room that I could immediately check into so I could at least manage an hour of sleep. For a only £40 the difference between the hotels was shocking, it was as I had moved slumming it in a dirty skip to checking into luxury. in all DO NOT STAY IN THIS SESS POOL OF A HOTEL, YOU'D BE BETTET OFF ASKING A HOMELESS CHAP TO SHARE HIS DOORWAY AND NEWSPAPER.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

For the price we were not expecting a 5* hotel but it wasn't even fit to sleep in.
On arrival I thought the service was very unfriendly and were then directed to a room downstairs, as you walked down there was a strong stench of wet dog. We got into our room and it stunk, and was very cramped, the bathroom was disgusting. On closer inspection the bed sheets had stains on, hairs in the bed. The carpet was sticky and covered in stains!!
There was a nearly empty toilet roll left in the bathroom and as I went to grab some there was blood stains on it!
The next morning when I woke up my hair stunk of the room it was that bad and strong, had no sleep as we were next to the kitchen and was very noisy. To top off our room didn't even lock!
We immediately asked for our money back the next morning and went to a different hotel. The worst place I have ever stayed!!!! AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank As251992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

me and a mate stopped here last night. It was the cheapest central hotel i could find anywhere.
Reception was clean and tidy. Room was basic but bed was clean and comfortable. Shower worked fine but bath was a bit tired looking. Didnt try breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank steve1667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#595 of 1,067 in London
663 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#741 of 1,067 in London
637 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#521 of 1,067 in London
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#863 of 1,067 in London
322 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#832 of 1,067 in London
44 reviews
Marylebone
Regency Hotel - Nottingham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallam Hotel

Property: Hallam Hotel
Address: 12 Hallam Street | Westminster, London W1W 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,011 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallam Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing