We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No good at all”
Review of Shakespeare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shakespeare Hotel
Ranked #660 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Dirty hotel, the cleaning services were no good at all. The bathroom (through the sewage) was constantly smelling terrible. Breakfast no good. Breakfast time only 7:15-9:15 (not suitable for vacation time). Too noisy. the floors from above along with the water tubes were making too much noise. Check-out at 10:40 (first time I experienced this). Internet only with charge (we new that before we chose the hotel). It was cheap but I WOULD NEVER RECOMMENDED IT, even to my enemies. We had chosen it because it is only 3 minutes walk from the Paddington Station.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
3  Thank Stelios E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (900)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 900 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

The Hotel is absolutely useless. We had to carry out bags (5 nos.) to the second floor as there are no lifts and no help. Then when we asked for a tea kettle in the room the receptionist said none are provided with one and we would have to come down to take hot water and tea bags from the receptionist. Then as the tv did not work we asked the receptionist and he informed us that we needed to pay 10 pounts deposit for the remote control. The breakfast was terrible. English breakfast is promised but unfortunately we got boiled eggs and muffins for breakfast.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We've ordered a family room almost 2 (two!) months ahead, to be sure , we also emailed the hotel and got assurance and confirmation to our reservation. As this hotel doesn't have lift and it has 4 (four) floors - we wanted to make sure we get a room in the first floor. When we got there, the receptionist informed us "they gave OUR room to another family..so sorry for you" and also added "we'll help you find another room in another hotel in the area .." . After we frightened them we'll take them to the court and make them out of business, they suddenly found two rooms for us.Apparently, good location is not worth such surprises , it's waste of money to pay for breakfast as you can eat better, rich and tasty breakfast for only 7 GBP just around the corner. So save your money and if you must stay near Paddington - choose the dolphin hotel - it's the same chain- but nicer rooms and nicer stuff.

Room Tip: Save money and don't order breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avmr F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Helpful staff who sorted queries with good humor. Good basic room although hot water ran out in shower at night and had we had to wait till later for system to reheat itself. Breakfast was well organised and plentiful. Would go back as fully meet requirements to be near Paddington Station.

Room Tip: Take your shower in the morning as tended to run out a bit of hot water at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Good location across from Paddington Station. Rooms clean. But no lifts to upper floors whilst stairs are many and steep need to pay deposit for the tv remote, wifi is extra cost. Toilet is tiniest I've seen and layout a little awkward.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azlina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Room had towels but no face cloths. Could make coffee and tea in the room, but no decaf provided and only powdered milk which is awful in tea. Biscuits would have been nice. £10 deposit asked for remote control if you wanted the television. Was only offered continental breakfast and there was not much choice. The room was very small. WiFi was available, but priced by the hour - nowadays, all hotels should be providing free WiFi.

On the positive side, it was clean and in a quiet street with a pleasant park at the front, and very convenient for Paddington Station.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quantock48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Nice hotel at good place(bus line 159 and metro station two minutes walk). Hotel stuff are mostly non-english speakers so sometimes i can be hard to explain to them what do you need. Room was ok, clean and neat, but cold. Breakfast is excelent. So, if you want cheat but decent hotel for a short stay, i sincerely recommand this one. P.s. There is no free Wi-Fi and that's my biggest remark.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickynicky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#607 of 1,081 in London
614 reviews
0 mi away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#664 of 1,081 in London
614 reviews
0 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#862 of 1,081 in London
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#557 of 1,081 in London
806 reviews
0 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#642 of 1,081 in London
444 reviews
0 mi away
Chrysos Hotel
Chrysos Hotel
#687 of 1,081 in London
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Hotel

Address: 22-28 Norfolk Square, London W2 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #660 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £59 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place to stay during your visit in London. Very nice neighborhood, a personal favourite, with nice cafes and restaurants. A very nice walk to Hyde Park is recommended or to Oxford Street for those shopping lovers, both are walking distance away. Rooms have been upgraded and there is always someone to help. The price is very low, for what you get, so be sure to check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shakespeare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn London
Shakespeare Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing