We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$91
View deal
Expedia.com
US$91
View deal
Agoda.com
US$78
View deal
Hotels.comUS$91
PricelineUS$90
Trip.comUS$95
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,056)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveller rating
143
342
296
127
148
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
143
342
296
127
148
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 1,056 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2019 via mobile

Terrible tiny room with no room for a case or even to dry yourself. Awful bed and not even milk for tea and coffee. Disgusting cost for a room that was really only a cupboard. No lift and narrow stairs. Would not recommend this place at all and hotels should not be allowed to exploit people by providing something that is so sub standard.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Chriscml
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonHotels, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Hi Chriscml,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We will make a note on your comments and see how we can improve our business. Unfortunately, some of our rooms are smaller than others and for that we are advertising them as economy single rooms; please spare a few minutes to check the website through which you booked, we understand floor area is clearly stated and you will see we have no intention to mislead. No lift is mentioned in our facilities either. Instead of milk portions we include powder creamer in our tea/coffee facilities, if you asked our staff they would have offered you fresh milk as well.

We are running a respectable business for over 20 years and it is truly a shame to speak about exploitation. Please next time have a closer read on the amenities before you book your hotel, so your expectations are met.

Shakespeare Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019

Easy to reserve Stasher storage on-line -- everything is done prior to arrival, including payment. Easy check-in and the guy at check-in was helpful and friendly. However, on pickup, the woman at reception seemed frazzled, which was ok, but then she would not call us a black cab. She said our 2 bags were too large (standard large suitcases) and we'd have to use an executive car which would charge 32 GBP to go to our next destination. She said if I wanted a cab, I'd need to go down the street. So my daughter and I lugged our suitcases down their stairs and down the street and found a black cab that charged 11 GBP across town. Not the service I expected - I had been prepared to tip for her help, but instead she dampened our day.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank EllyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonHotels, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Dear EllyTexas,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad our staff helped you with your luggage storage and you were happy with this part of our service. We respect all our customers, either they are hotel guests or Stasher customers and we generally offer services when we can. Transfers is not our main service, in fact we have a list of local minicab companies that we ring when needed and we quote our guests whatever they quote; if the minicab company quoted 32GBP and executive car we have no reason to doubt or alter that. We understand your frustration but we feel you are blaming the wrong person.

We make sure we train our staff to be as helpful as possible, and according to other reviews on here we are receiving good feedback. Nevertheless, we do apologise we were not able to offer you what you were expecting and we hope to see you again some time.

Regards
Shakespeare Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019 via mobile

The price is not for what you get.
Rooms are small, services are poor, housekeeping is bad.
In summer the room was like an oven, semi blocked windows and no aid conditioning units or vents and no fans.

Do not reccomend at all.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Trek07117068542
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonHotels, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Dear Ebrahim,

Thank you for sharing your experience on here, your feedback is welcome and will be used for further improvements on the way we operate. We do apologise for the poor service you felt you experienced while staying here, normally our staff is willing to do the extra mile for our guests, we have received several very good comments about them and it is surprising and disappointing to read your words. With regards to housekeeping we are keen to maintain very high standards and I am kindly asking you to share more detail with us by emailing at: customer-service@shakespearehotel.co.uk in order to investigate and rectify what went wrong. Unfortunately we do not have air-conditioning and we make sure we publish correct information online; we do have fans available at reception though.
We would love to welcome you again at the Shakespeare and we are looking forward to receiving your comments.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019 via mobile

We were booked in the sister hotel as a group of 5, but were offered a room of 5 single beds in the Shakespeare. Our room was on 4th floor but we are used to staying in similar in that area. Room was clean with comfy beds and tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom small but clean with lovely shower. We booked in for breakfast but was up and out early both days. Staff polite & courteous. Would stay here again for the location, ideal for Paddington and the Hyde Park Shows.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank jugz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonHotels, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2019

Dear Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us! At Shakespeare, we always try to provide a clean and welcoming environment so that every guest leaves satisfied with their stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in your next trip to London.

All the best,
Shakespeare Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2019

Poor tired rundown room. Musty Smell. No sleep due to school parties running around like they are on the playground at gone midnight. No real responsibility or action taken after multiple complaints. Still charge you for 3 nights even when you check out first thing after night 2 due to their apathy and unapologetic attitude. Just avoid at all costs. A shame as it undoubtedly detracts from the other nearby hotels and has put me off ever staying anywhere in paddington again.

Date of stay: July 2019
2  Thank TheTravellingTechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaddingtonHotels, Manager at Shakespeare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Dear TheTravellingTechie,

Thank you for your feedback. I want to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the students staying in the hotel during your stay. We want our guests to enjoy a good night's sleep and we generally manage to keep noise levels low even when with groups in the house. It is disheartening to read your comments about apathy or no action taken or unapologetic attitude. I have personally spoken to our staff and I have been informed that our night receptionist spoke to the group leader in front of you right at the time you complained. Furthermore, during your check out after the second night spent in the hotel you wouldn't listen tour morning staff's apologies or attempt to offer you a solution. Your 1 star rating is at least unfair for a hotel like the Shakespeare, especially when judged exclusively based on a factor like noise caused by other guests. Should you have given us an opportunity we would have offered you alternatives and possibly improved your stay here. Regarding the refund, since you booked through an agent there is a standard procedure you need to follow and we cannot authorise it as simple as that.

Regards
Nondas
Shakespeare Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews